We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gurkha Oven

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Nepalese
FEATURES
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Street Parking, Wine and Beer
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
252
113
38
25
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
252
113
38
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry poppadoms lamb shank fish cakes rice prawns nepalese dishes indian food main course best indian saturday evening lovely food booked a table everest momo karahi takeaway
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Fabulous Having booked on the recommendation of a friend we were hopeful The Gurkha would live up to our expectation. Well it Did. Four of us dined and the staff were friendly and efficient. We were shown to our table and once settled our drinks...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Julie L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent quality food and service from very friendly, accommodating staff - thoroughly recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Relax44542051796
GurkhaOvenstamford, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer , Thank you for your kind review and feedback.We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Paul sharma

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our Second visit to this restaurant and we loved it, very tasty food and attentive service, the restaurant was full, can’t believe for a Wednesday night looks like the restaurant is doing very well, although we had to wait little extra for our main course...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Indiancurrylove
GurkhaOvenstamford, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer, Thank you for liking our food and service.We aim to provide the highest level of fresh produce and excellent customer service.We look forward to welcoming you again soon.Thank you. Kind regards Paul Sharma

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous food was served to us today. Our Waitor was very polite and was happy to engage in conversation with us. The food was beautiful and we left very impressed (and full). Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Lucie L
GurkhaOvenstamford, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lucie Thank you for recommending us .We always aim to provide our customers with the best of food and service .We would like to see you again and again in our restaurant. Thank you. Kind regards Paul Sharma

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have previously reviewed this restaurant and recommended it. However, a delay of 100 minutes for the main course was unacceptable. Yes, it is very popular but they shouldn’t accept reservations if they can’t deliver acceptable service.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank PaulHampshire
GurkhaOvenstamford, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Paul Thank you for your kind feedback and your recommendation.We are sincerely sorry on this occasion that we could not live up to your expectation .Yes,definitely there were many bookings last night so the kitchen went a bit busy beyond their capacity resulting the...More

Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

Great service and atmosphere. Went for dinner on a Friday night. Lots of choice from special menu and classics. Portion sizes were humongous!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank HK-8932
GurkhaOvenstamford, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear HK Thank you for your kind review for us.Just to let you know we also do special brunch menu for Friday ,Saturday and Sunday opening from 1pm until 11pm. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Paul Sharma

Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

We Booked a table of 4 at 8pm as there were no tables available early, the decor is nice and lovely, the ambience and staff made us feel welcomed. Very nice food and service, enjoyed throughly. We will be definitely back again soonMore

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Pathfinder551878
GurkhaOvenstamford, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer Thank you for your kind feedback .We get very busy during the weekends so we always recommend to book your tables a week in advance before so that you can get a nice table .We always aim to serve at the highest quality...More

Reviewed 11 February 2019

Yet again the Gurkha Oven has surpassed itself. My wife & I love this restaurant & it's one of our favourite places to eat out. It just keeps getting better & better if that is at all possible. STAFF- So friendly & welcoming they just...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Seymour055
GurkhaOvenstamford, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Seymour It has always been a pleasure to welcome you to our establishment and your feedback has been a great help and support for us in many positive ways.We are really delighted to see you from day 1 when we opened our first establishment...More

Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

Visited last night, following a good review from friends who had been mid-week and who had a very nice meal. Ours was not like there’s in fact it was very poor, the service was slow and the quality/taste of the food was below average. The...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Honest_Joe2014
GurkhaOvenstamford, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Dear Customer, Thank you for your biased review. First of all we are sorry for the experience you have had to go through. We normally do not have any tables available other then the booking on the weekends and you did not have a reservation...More

Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Hi went early on a Friday night. Spices were different for the pompadoms. Grated carrot with spice?. The main course I had mixed grill. The breast of chicken was dry. The spring lamb chop was off a big lamb. It was tough and I could...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank 521philipv
GurkhaOvenstamford, Owner at Gurkha Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Dear Philip Thank you for your feedback.After reading your feedback I spoke to the chef about the quality of the food you were served and the chef has send you his apologies and said it was a one of those evenings where one off things...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
The Crown Hotel Stamford
636 reviews
.14 miles away
The George Of Stamford
1,497 reviews
.27 miles away
Candlesticks
136 reviews
.38 miles away
The Bull & Swan
413 reviews
.38 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 127 nearby restaurants
The Kings Head
400 reviews
.08 miles away
Il Vicolo
422 reviews
.10 miles away
Tatums
70 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 47 nearby attractions
Stamford Arts Centre
117 reviews
.14 miles away
Stamford Corn Exchange Theatre
78 reviews
.02 miles away
All Saints Church
34 reviews
.15 miles away
Stamford Library Heritage Display
40 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jackielutkin
6 August 2018|
Answer
Response from GurkhaOvenstamford | Property representative |
Hello Jackie, It does
0
Votes
U5904DMstevenw
28 July 2018|
Answer
Response from GurkhaOvenstamford | Property representative |
Dear Sir, We can only allow guide dogs in the restaurant, but if it is a pet dog we are unable to have a table for you. Sorry for any inconvenience. Kind regards The 8848 Team
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing