We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon

7 Sheep Market, Stamford PE9 2QZ, England
+44 1780 753832
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good36%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“rump steak” (4 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (5 reviews)
“burgers” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Sheep Market, Stamford PE9 2QZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This has got to be a poor excuse for a restaurant as I have had better meals in a lay-by cafe, can’t believe it’s still serving such poor standard food!! It may well be cheap but even cheap meals out can be and often are...More

Thank thedon23
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate here on two occasions when in Stamford. Meals are good value for money and weatherspoons do seem to have upped their game with regards to quality. Not overkeen on the decor of this place but that is a personal thing. Staff friendly and helpfull....More

Thank Kenneth M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For the 3rd consecutive time I gave up trying to get a drink and walked across the road to the London Inn. Can’t blame the staff, they are doing their best. Needs more staff. What will Mr Wetherspoon do when a labour shortage occurs as...More

Thank Haedwards
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not great, not bad either. Venue itself is like the food – not greta, not bad. Alright and nothing more. Popped in one Sunday for lunch – ordered two 14oz steaks. One was a whole steak, as you'd expect, the other was two steaklets. Would've...More

Thank STR159
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast for four. Always a good price and quality. We had had a range of coffee's and breakfast all were good. Would have been 5 star's but the plate's were cold. Turned into my Dad sorry.

Thank thompsons2005
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are a fan of Wetherspoons as i am, you might be disappointed with this one, i had to send my food back twice for being cold and staff attitude NOT THE GREATEST...GIVE IT A MISS...!!!!

Thank jesssooty
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s a Witherspoon’s, and a perfectly fine one. The staff are young and of varying levels of experience and skill. The beer is cheap, varied and good. The food is cheap and processed. The burger meat has no flavour, the chips tasted like reconstituted mash...More

Thank mikebkk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I go to the Stamford post regularly and drinks are always at a keen price and food is also very affordable. The quality of ingredients is better than pubs in a similar market. But the breakfast of which I've had a few vary in how...More

Thank Martin R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We use this establishment for large family gatherings as my parents live nearby. The good thing with Wetherspoons is they have a selection of foods for most needs, as there are a couple of vegans in our party. The food is usually on point, although...More

Thank Bruce G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited twice for breakfast, 16th & 17th September. On the first visit the food was so good we decided to return the following day. Would have been Five Stars apart from the fact on both days we had to well wait over 30 mins...More

Thank CBH-FBII
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cloisters
381 reviews
.07 miles away
The London Inn Pub
528 reviews
.03 miles away
The Cosy Club - Stamford
857 reviews
.05 miles away
No1 Kitchen
264 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Burghley Park
318 reviews
.93 miles away
Stamford Arts Centre
100 reviews
.17 miles away
Stamford Corn Exchange Theatre
61 reviews
.20 miles away
Stamford Library Heritage Display
36 reviews
.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
buckinghamgeezer
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from buckinghamgeezer | Reviewed this property |
The restaurant said to private message about my complaint but no option to do so
0
Votes
mary b
15 March 2017|
Answer
Response from StamfordPost | Property representative |
Hi there is a public pay and display car park to the rear of our location as well as various other car parks in and around the town centre. many thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$15
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Sheep Market, Stamford PE9 2QZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Stamford
  • Phone Number: +44 1780 753832
Description
The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon. Located in the old Stamford Mercury offices and named The Stamford Post in honour of Britain's oldest publication.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing