We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bull and Swan

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
24A High Street, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
+44 1780 766412
Website
Today
18:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Wed 18:00 - 21:30
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 14:30
Fri 18:00 - 22:00
Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were staying here and so had dinner on our first evening. As an old coaching inn, the restaurant and bar merge into one which makes for a lively atmosphere, although we were sat in a slightly more secluded spot at the far end with a lovely wood burner for warmth. The menu is not vast but has enough choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

First and very important, the thing that they don't tell you when you book is that there is no car parking, you have to walk (admittedly a short distance) to the William Cecil to park and that car park is busy. Not great in the rain. The atmosphere is traditional English inn and none the worse for that.Rooms are adequate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aj8709
Peter B, General Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Firstly, I am grateful you have taken the time to leave your comments. I am disappointed that you were not informed that our car park is now closed while we undertake an exciting project to transform this into a kitchen garden for both of our properties. I will ensure that I address this with our Reception team to prevent any... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped into this pub on a frigid day as we were visiting Stamford, and what a warm welcome received. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is cozy, as it should be in any good pub. But it was the cream of tomato soup which stole the show. I've never had better. Also, sweet potato fries for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
Peter B, General Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I agree there is nothing better than a good bowl of soup by one of our roaring fires on a winters afternoon. We look forward to welcoming you back you very soon. More 

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The game pie was delicious creamed potatoes with mange' tout and baby silver skin onions a combination of flavours that was great, went well with the Australian Shiraz. Roast Grasmere lamb next day was equally delicious, didn't have room for dessert unfortunately as the choice looked good.

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
Peter B, General Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

I am so delighted you enjoyed your meal & wine with us. Such a shame you didn't manage to find space for desert - but a good excuse to visit us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've visited the Bull and Swan a number of times for lunch, they are happy with dogs coming into the pub which suits us fine. The last couple of occasions the service has been very very slow. On our most recent visit the pub was not busy, there only seemed to be ourselves and another couple who ordered food at... More 

Helpful?
Thank martynl7
Peter B, General Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent feedback. I am disappointed to hear that your recent visit fell short of expectations. I would love to invite you both back so we have the opportunity to restore your faith in the Bull and Swan. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly to discuss your points raised In the meantime I... More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for my birthday and I asked if it was in the restuarant - and was told YES..when we arrived the shock was there was no restuarant but tables in the pub!!! This was serious misrepresentation. How can these food outlets call themselves restaurants when really it is just a pub with no separate dining area - never... More 

Helpful?
Thank 36hamilton
Peter B, General Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry that you felt you had been misinformed as to where you would be enjoying your special occasion. We regularly receive wonderful feedback on the surroundings at The Bull & Swan and I am disappointed that you did not share this opinion on your visit. I understand... More 

Kirby Muxloe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This small beamed pub is staffed by warm friendly people and serves a good selection of draught ales. Their a la carte lunch menu is excellent and includes some good pub classics priced at only £8 on this visit. Excellent for a good lunch with friends. Have eaten here on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed with... More 

Helpful?
Thank RODDERSANDMODGE
Ashwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

It all started so well. I was taken out to lunch and we were allowed to take our doggies with us, perfect. Unfortunately it all went wrong as soon as we sat down: The place was cold, the waitress then told us we had to order our drinks first - as we were ordering our drinks - she was very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TheCakeCritic
Peter B, General Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was genuinely horrified to read such damning review of the pub. While I accept we, like all people make mistakes, your review is so inconsistent to feedback we receive from other guests. I'm disappointed that given the magnitude of issues you had with your experience that you did... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

We were staying overnight in Stamford and looking for a decent meal in a relaxed pub atmosphere and this turned out to be perfect. Both meals were excellent but my pan roasted venison was seriously one of the best meals I've had. The staff were friendly and attentive - sadly we're not local but would definitely eat there if we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Soozie1000
Peter B, General Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Boasting 2015/16 Game chef of the year as our head chef, we're really proud of the number of great game dishes we have on our menu, so I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your venison. I do hope you find yourself in the area again soon. More 

Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Met friends at this public house/ hotel last weekend for lunch. Because it was a reunion of friends from all over the country it was easy to find on the edge of Stamford. Staff were very friendly and food was delicious and plentiful. We all had different sandwiches with sweet potatoe fries and salad and everyone thought their meal was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jacq21
Peter B, General Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I was especially pleased to read your comments about the staff and will feed these back to the team. More 

Travellers who viewed Bull and Swan also viewed

 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Bull and Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$29
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24A High Street, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Stamford
  • Phone Number: +44 1780 766412
Description
The Bull & Swan has oodles of history which we hope we complement with fantastic food & drink. A plethora of great, well conditioned local ales, a diverse but unstuffy wine list and a dedicated, professional and yet relaxed team all add to what we hope will be a perfect visit to the pub! Using local suppliers is at the heart of the pub's ethos - it might be cockles from the Wash, cheese from Cote Hill or simply great fresh vegetables, venison, beef or game from the Burghley Estate. The team combines all these ingredients to create an original and sumptuous menu, with dishes to suit every palate.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bull and Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?