E'Lupo's

E'Lupo's

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1709 362279+ Add website
Hours
Tue
18:00 - 23:00
Wed
18:00 - 23:00
Thu
18:00 - 23:00
Fri
18:00 - 23:00
Sat
18:00 - 23:00
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
features
Does this restaurant serve Sicilian food?
CUISINES
Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles581 reviews
Excellent
455
Very good
77
Average
30
Poor
11
Terrible
8
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

KEyre95
Rotherham7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 couples
This lovely restaurant has been a favourite in the family for years as it is so near where we live but also very affordable. Myself and my partner decided to go for a meal out for the first time since lockdown began and we were not disappointed. We were made very at ease when we entered into the restaurant with the checks (temperature etc) that were made and were seated immediately. The service was very quick and efficient but didn’t feel rushed and the food was beautiful. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine with our food and were even often a taste of the wine before selecting one. I couldn’t have had a nicer evening.
Written 11 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

r0sb123
Elsecar4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
We visited this restaurant for my grandsons birthday - the food and service is beyond compare. We have been going to E’Lupos for many years and it just seems to get better and better. I had fillet steak with potatoes and vegetables - the steak was cooked to perfection and seasoned just right. What marks out this venue though is the service. There were a few parties in while we were there, but nothing was too much trouble and all done with a smile. Can’t wait for our next visit!
Written 19 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nick J
Doncaster6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 couples
We were recommended this place by a friend and we’re so glad we did! Went with my wife midweek (booking is ESSENTIAL) and were served by Andrew, who couldn’t have been more gracious, friendly or helpful. We shared a starter, my wife had a perfectly cooked steak and I had possibly the best calzone of my adult life. What impressed us most, besides how unbelievable the food is, was the service. A huge group turned up just after we’d been seated, but despite this and the strain it puts on restaurant staff we weren’t forgotten about or neglected. The team did a fantastic job, and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it. We’re already planning a return visit with my Father in law!
Written 13 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Shamrock60
Rotherham44 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 family
We have been to this restaurant numerous times and always enjoyed the food. However on our recent visit we were left very disappointed and won’t be returning again. Most of us had pizza which were small, thick and very stodgy. Not the large, thin and crispy pizzas we’d had on previous visits. One of our party had salmon which for £20 was poorly served with a tiny salad (a few mixed leaves) and tasteless frozen chips. On the whole very disappointing.
Written 6 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David James Lister
Hello, We appreciate your feedback. We have been using the same pizza trays (10”) for over 20 years. We do not, nor have we ever, served thin and crispy pizzas and our pizza chef and his dough recipe has not changed since 2002. We just wanted to make that clear, in case you had confused us with another restaurant. We do serve Salmon fillet and if a side salad wasn’t as large as you would have liked, we sincerely apologise. We will always be happy to offer our diners additional sides or extra greens, if they ask. We are very sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit on this occasion. Thank you very much. E’Lupo’s.
Written 7 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LGBT-Joseph
112 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 couples
Firstly to mention the staff were absolutely wonderful, accommodating, and great hosts. Additionally, they had a wonderful singer performing for the meal which made a great atmosphere. Unfortunately however, the food and drink I experienced wasn’t good at all, and that’s 80% of what a restaurant is. The calamari starter was very bland, with no obvious seasoning in the batter. I asked for chillis or spice in my mains, but they didn’t do this, although I will say the tomato sauce tasted homemade and delicious. The paprika sprinkled on added no flavour. They didn’t have the wine on the menu, but had an alternative that wasn’t pleasant at all. It was a basic cash and carry wine that was sharp, cheap, and unenjoyable. There were no veg with the mains, so if you order a lasagne - you get a plate only with lasagne, no garnish/salad/veg etc. Finally, the table clothes were wipeable white plastic sheeting. I appreciate that probably saves a lot of money, but it wasn’t even wiped when we sat down so wasn’t nice. I’d come again as everyone was lovely, but this wouldn’t be my regular choice of Italian.
Written 30 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David James Lister
Hello Joseph. First, thank you for saying that you had a lovely evening with us, that our staff were wonderful (we agree!) and that we were great hosts. We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your wine. Whilst it definitely isn’t from a cash and carry, we do acknowledge that wine is very much to one’s personal taste and having a wide selection available is important. Our Italian suppliers are struggling to source certain lines due to Brexit, and so we do have a reduced offering which is sadly beyond our control. We used to serve a side salad with our homemade Lasagne, but given how large our portions are, it simply did not get eaten and we were conscious of excess waste and over-facing our diners. Our main courses, Steak, Chicken and dishes do all come with a choice of chips and salad or roast potatoes and vegetables. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. Thank you very much. E’Lupo’s.
Written 1 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

YorkshireMamma
16 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 none
I have been visiting this restaurant for over 30 years and visited once again last night as a small group. The food, as always was excellent and I have never had a bad meal here. Since Vito and his family have moved on, the restaurant seems to have lost its personal touch and there is no longer the ambience it once had. We were seated promptly and given menus but after 15 minutes had to ask if we could order our food. Found it very difficult to have a conversation with the rest of the group due to the level of music, it was excessively loud and even the staff had to ask us to repeat what we asked for. All front of house staff were very young and frequently congregated at the serving area. There didn't appear to be anyone in charge/supervising. The food will keep us coming back, but only as a couple so we can hear our conversation, A little disappointed when spending almost £300 for a night out.
Written 6 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Michael C
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 couples
Was extremely disappointed with our visit having not been for a while was looking forward to it but as soon as we sat down I could tell it had gone downhill. The tablecloth was dirty with ring marks and stains but we were looking forward to the food. The garlic bread was nice but the main meals were very poor the chicken was grey looking and dry and the chips were tasteless and full of brown spots. I wanted veg with my meal but I was told it was salad that was served with chips and the veg was aubergine and courgette with peppers and no other option available when I’ve read reviews about people getting green beans instead. Considering the restaurant was empty when we ordered I thought maybe the staff could have been more attentive and accommodating but one member looked totally bored yawning and then nearly brought us someone else’s food when we were nearly leaving. My partner is not as keen on Italian food as I am so is pleased that we won’t be going back as I could have spent money on far better food elsewhere.
Written 17 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tiamaria 321
17 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 family
Came in last weekend for a family members birthday staff were lovely and polite but very young and inexperienced they had a singer on who was fab was not keen on the layout of the restaurant it seemed very cramped with way too many tables and chairs sqeezed in it was difficult to get up to use the toilet. Meals were absolutely beautiful I had a stuffed pancake but the disappointing part was the fact that's all I got just a oval dish with the pancake in not even a bit of salad or garlic bread on the side .we had to pre order our meals and it wasn't mentioned we had to pay extra if we wanted so I felt a bit ripped off tbf .my husband had a steak which to me looked like a child's portion definitely not worth the price we paid its a shame because the meals were absolutely delicious. So disappointing.
Written 19 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

angela s
Rotherham31 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 none
Booked for a take away tonight. I was told they don’t normally do take away on Saturdays due to being their busy night but because we wanted one early for 6pm they would accommodate us. The meal was ready on time, piping hot and superb. We haven’t been to the restaurant for a few years but will definitely be going having now sampled their food again. Excellent menu and excellent quality food at very fair prices.
Written 31 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ralphwalker
Rotherham111 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
Unbelievably, it was 34 years since I last visited el Lupo's when we celebrated my wife's 40th birthday! This time we went as a family to celebrate my daughters 50 ish birthday and realised just what we have been missing all these years.... Right from trying to get a late booking of a table for six on a Friday night, the staff could not have been more helpful to accomodate us (Thank you Laura xx) and managed to fit us in even though this is one of their most popular nights. Great food, efficient service by friendly staff which was enjoyed by all. The female singer was very good and certainly added to the overall atmosphere. We will certainly not leave it another 34 years before returning!
Written 11 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MarkCaine-Grierson
Rotherham453 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 couples
Visited Elupos last night, first time back since the reopening from lockdown. Booked in 6 weeks ago as this continues to be a popular restaurant where its difficult to get in at short notice. Food was amazing as per usual, had smoked salmon and prawns for Starter and fillet Rossini for my main, a perfect fillet steak steak cooked medium rare, melted in the mouth. Service started well as I had forgotten my booking only realising 15 minutes before we had booked, one.phone call and luckily they were able to move my booking from 8pm to 9pm. Thanks for that. Would book again without a shadow of a doubt as this place continues to be to be finest Italian in Rotherham.
Written 26 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sam
10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 friends
Dined here this evening for the first time after reading good reviews. The starters were very nice. The main course should have been accompanied by Mediterranean veg according to the description on the menu but came with green beans. When we quired this,the assistant manager said the chef had changed the menu that's just how it was and offered us a round of drinks - this was not what we complained for so declined. The young guy who had taken our order should have said at the time of order there had been a change. The assistant manager was very dismissive and didn't think we had cause for complaint and walked away without actually finishing the conversation - she seemed to think the excuse she had given us and the offer of drinks should be sufficient. However she missed the point entirely. The fact that we didn't receive what we ordered/ stated on the menu represents mis-sellling. In view of this we won't be making a return visit.
Written 5 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David James Lister
Hello. Thank you for your feedback. Ordinary we take all feedback, good or bad, constructively. On this occasion we are finding it very difficult to reconcile a 1 star review with what appears to be a complaint about a side dish of roast potatoes, green beans and Parmesan instead of peppers and courgette. A genuine attempt to resolve the issue was made by offering complementary drinks. We have spoken with our staff who tell us that you were very rude, you (a grown man) put your hand in their face (a young woman) in an aggressive manner. Another table of diners later approached our assistant manager to tell them how awful they considered your behaviour to be, and to check they were okay. We are very fortunate that in over 30 years, we’re able to count on one hand the number of people that have been hostile towards our staff. We sincerely hope you will not treat other waiting staff as poorly as you did ours, in future.
Written 7 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Derek R
Rotherham7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 couples
Food amazing service great, BUT, when the bill arrived, there were drinks to a value of £5.50 which we had not ordered or indeed consumed. It turns out that at the same time the table behind us had the same trouble! At first I thought it ro be a genuine mistake but When I heard about the other couples issue I began to believe it may have been intentional. Although the food was so good, this left a bad taste in my mouth.
Written 16 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Fiona
Sheffield42 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 family
We have eaten at this restaurant a few times in the past and always enjoyed it. But, we were very disappointed on our most recent visit. The staff were very welcoming, and quickly served with drinks and talked through the specials. The specials starter, bruschetta trio was lovely. However, the mozzarella and tomato starter, although nice was very expensive for what it was. Most disappointing was the pizza - £10.95, and was tiny (8”). It was like a child’s portion, and the size did not appear to be included in the menu or would not have ordered as it did not suffice as a main meal. Overall, portions were extremely small for the price paid. However, the food was very tasty. The chocolate fudge cake was nice though! Overall, food was nice, but the portion sizes were extremely small for what was a £200 family meal.
Written 31 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ralph A
Scarborough5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 family
I ordered a pizza and couldn’t believe what came. Most Italian restaurants serve a 10” or 12” pizza but I couldn’t believe my eyes. It was about 6” at most (about the same size as one of those little frozen Chicago Town ones from the supermarket). The dough was stodgy and more bread like than pizza base. I honestly thought I’d ordered off the kids menu for a minute and wondered when the crayons and colouring sheet would arrive!! . This cost over £10. The rest of our party all ordered pasta dishes which looked normal adult size, and I was given “stick” from the others. A total disappointment which ruined a family meal to celebrate my mum-in-law’s birthday. This place use to be good but sadly no more.
Written 31 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 581
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Garrison Wickersley
££ - £££ · British
Goodfellas Italian Restaurant
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Sicilian, Southern-Italian
The Venus Restaurant
££ - £££ · British
The Yard Coffee Shop & Bistro
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
Leger Lakes Tearoom
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
Bay Tree Bar - Bistro
££ - £££ · Mediterranean, European, Greek
Paulos
££ - £££ · Italian, Mexican, Pizza
The Black Lion
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
W Italian Bar and Restaurant
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza
Elif Turkish Barbecue Restaurant
££ - £££ · Mediterranean, Barbecue, European, Turkish
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

E'LUPO'S, Rotherham - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Rotherham HotelsRotherham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Rotherham
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire