We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Earl Of Strafford

££ - £££, British,
11 Doncaster Road | Hooton Roberts, Rotherham S65 4PF, England
+44 1709 855861
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“braised beef” (10 reviews)
“guinness pie” (9 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
11 Doncaster Road | Hooton Roberts, Rotherham S65 4PF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 586 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

The food is amazing the staff are too specially supervisor..well done to the guys that took over .....

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Ryan G
Reviewed today via mobile

Fantastic Sunday roast, real mash & Yorkshire pudding, great value for money. only downside was I couldn’t finish it all. Came with the family who all said they really enjoyed it. Staff are really polite & helpful.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Scottydaviessss
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited Friday evening with my partner, Great food & service. Staff are really friendly. We both had the fish Friday offer. Biggest fish I’ve ever had in a pub, better then a chippy Will defiantly be back..

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gemma1986New
StraffordEarl1985, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Gemma, Thank you for for taking the time to leave your review. We hope you visit us again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

7 of us visited Thursday evening for dinner and drinks. Food fantastic. Service fantastic and an overall lovely evening out and a good old catch up. Wasn’t too busy which I suspect is the January blues. But throughly enjoyed my time. X

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Julesdoglover
StraffordEarl1985, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jules, Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review, So pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in with two generations of our family. A belated birthday treat. I even had some balloons put out for me which I thought was very attentive. Cajun chicken, fish and chips, chicken pie to name some of the meals served. All tasted great. Some...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Sylviamaywhite
StraffordEarl1985, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your review its very much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommend the food here. Visited again with my mum and daughter and we all enjoyed our time. Very nice food really friendly staff. Never have any issues can’t fault.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Suelou65
StraffordEarl1985, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sue, Thank you for your kind review hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We met up at the EOS, group of cyclists and families who met up for an introduction afternoon before a cycle from Lands End to John O'Groats... Superb menu and quality food in a lovely environment .... highly recommended

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Landsurfer74
StraffordEarl1985, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your kind review, I hope the cycle has gone as well as it could for you all and hope you call in again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow !!!! what can we say . Myself , my husband and our son visited The Earl of Strafford today for a New Years Day meal. Absolutely everything was beautiful from the moment we stepped through the door until we left . The staff ,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Judith W
StraffordEarl1985, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Judith. Thank you for your kind review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always went to the earl as it was a great place to eat, been there today (new years day) it was awful, not only did we have to wait for everything (appreciate its new years day) but when it arrived not one of the party...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Brent G
StraffordEarl1985, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We did apologise and offer you a fresh meal. You hadn’t even started to eat it. From a restaurant point of view offering a re cook was more than sufficient I’m sorry you feel...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We would like to say what a fantastic night we had yesterday. Our party of adults and children came to celebrate the new year with the Earl of Strafford and words can’t describe what a great night was had by all. You organised this event...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Neecey73
StraffordEarl1985, Owner at The Earl Of Strafford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your review its very much appreciated. Ive passed your comments onto Dave too (Our mini bus driver) he worked until gone 2am bless him. Hope to see you again soon

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Rotherham
Best Western PLUS Pastures Hotel
457 reviews
2.18 miles away
Stonecroft Hotel
31 reviews
2.81 miles away
Restover Lodge Hotel
140 reviews
3.00 miles away
Ibis Rotherham East
645 reviews
3.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Market Hall Wetherspoon
172 reviews
1.85 miles away
The Writing Desk Tea Room
7 reviews
1.88 miles away
Pettits Shoes and Coffee Shop
44 reviews
1.90 miles away
30 Mexborough
19 reviews
1.80 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Avago Karting
20 reviews
1.99 miles away
Conisbrough Castle
438 reviews
2.18 miles away
St Peter's Church
20 reviews
2.09 miles away
Wath Upon Dearne Leisure Centre
17 reviews
3.53 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
laura s
20 August 2018|
Answer
Response from StraffordEarl1985 | Property representative |
Hi Laura, yes we have a couple of vegan options available. We are also due to launch our brand new menu which has around 5 mains 2 starters and 2 desserts to choose from. If you book let us know there is a vegan in your... More
0
Votes
_katedotwilkinson
25 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from StraffordEarl1985 | Property representative |
Hello. We have seating at the front and at the back of the pub. With great views Kind regards
0
Votes
NigelBlade
2 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Danman C |
Yes, free WiFi is available.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Doncaster Road | Hooton Roberts, Rotherham S65 4PF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Rotherham
  • Phone Number: +44 1709 855861
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional home cooked food, bar, celebration venue for birthdays, wedding anniversaries, work meetings, weddings and funerals, live music, extensive drinks menu. Function room available
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing