We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie

) #8 of 396 Restaurants in Colchester ££ - £££ European, British,
75 East Street, Colchester CO1 2TS, England
+44 1206 973371
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“beef cheeks” (8 reviews)
“fish pie” (8 reviews)
Open Now
18:00 - 22:30All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
75 East Street, Colchester CO1 2TS, England
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The menu is very limited,if you like rabbit or other weird food ok ,but not really anything i liked,however they did make me a dish of the daytime menu but charged me nighttime priceswhich i found unbelievable,steaks Very Expensive

Thank Josie G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well..what a stunning venue packed with history. Decorated in a superb contemporary style that fits the history of the building this venue offers excellent service and superb food. The meals are just a tad over the standard prices one would pay for a good meal,...More

1  Thank Richard S
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, two friends and I have just been to the old siege house to celebrate our friends 6th wedding anniversary. The food was amazing from starter through to desserts. The atmosphere was relaxed and the service was great. We was greated as we entered...More

Thank samballard1981
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've recently moved to Colchester and are trying out some of the places that come highly recommended. We decided to come here on a Friday evening. We booked online using the easy to use system they have and were pleased to find a table for...More

1  Thank RA_20_07
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

RA, Many thanks for your lovely review of your visit to The Old Siege House and for taking the time to give feedback of your visit. i would like to apologise for your disappointing pork dish and will be speaking to the kitchen staff about...More

A TripAdvisor Member
105
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here and had one of the best meals we have ever eaten. Everything was so tasty and well cooked. Incredible value for money. Lovely historical setting but the food knocks the socks off anywhere else nearby and indeed all over. Staff very welcoming...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow, What a fantastic review and appreciation of our restaurant. Thank you very much for reviewing your visit and we are glad that you feel you got good value for money here. As an independent restaurant we are always keen to give great service and...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

We had our wedding meal at the Seige House last month, we had 40 people most having 3 courses, and the food was fantastic,! I found most party menus were mostly a glorified roast but we had choices of steak, lamb burgers, trout and much...More

1  Thank frankiemw12
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

frankie, Many thanks for posting such a nice positive review of your time here at The Old Siege House. It was a pleasure for us to cater for your wedding and we are so happy that your party all enjoyed the occasion and the food....More

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Went here last week amazing food good all round pub with food like ,rabbit and pigeon on the menu you know your in a proper English pub.staff are very friendly and the price isn't to bad but you get what you pay for .will definitely...More

2  Thank Lee T
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Lee, Thank you for posting your review of your visit to The Old Siege House, it is nice to see that our customers appreciate something different on the menu. We love to try something different and hopefully you will come back to try our new...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Having afternoon tea right now. Sooo good I just had to review. Beautiful sandwiches, lovely fresh bread of different flavours, very well filled. Sublime cakes and scones and so much clotted cream yum yum washed down with plenty of tea and coffee and the obligatory...More

1  Thank mummycool
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

mummycool, Thank you so much for reviewing your afternoon tea with us, even before you had finished! We are glad that you had a wonderful time and hopefully we will see you back again soon to try some more cocktails and gin! Don't forget we...More

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We were a large party but were still able to choose from the full menu which was a nice surprise. The food on the whole was good but the fish pie was mainly potato and one steak came out slightly under cooked but they soon...More

Thank 30guestc
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

30guestc, Firstly thank you for posting your review of your visit and we are glad that on the whole your experience was a positive one. I am sorry that your fish pie was not up to our usual standards and i will follow this up...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017

Me and my wife had one of the specials wish was fish pie. Both off us only had small bits of salmon in the pie. No other fish it had. A very hard top which had been put in micro wave to be very hot....More

Thank Carl S
Darren L, General Manager at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Carl s, We are very sorry that you did not feel you had a good experience when you came in to eat. I will be following up on the points that you have made to ensure it does not happen again. We hope you will...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
GreyFriars Colchester
378 reviews
.42 miles away
Thai1
428 reviews
.26 miles away
Naka Thai
360 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Castle Park
827 reviews
.54 miles away
Colchester Castle Museum
714 reviews
.54 miles away
Hollytrees Museum
151 reviews
.42 miles away
Colchester's Natural History Museum
73 reviews
.61 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
420rachel
My husband & son require a gluten,fairy & egg free options and my daughter has coeliac. Please can you advise if you cater for different dietary requirements? We are looking to book a family meal to celebrate our son's 18th birthday on Monday 13th Feb
9 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Darren L | Property representative |
420rachel, we can certainly provide you with a selection of dishes for your requirements. Unfortunately we are actually closed on Mondays! Please email us through the website if you would like any more information.
0
Votes
Michael F
we will be dinning at the above in a few weeks time what is the car parking available
31 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Darren L | Property representative |
We have parking for 17 cars on a first come basis. There is also parking close by depending on the time you are coming. You can park on east hill after 6pm I believe and also priory street parking is 50p after 6pm.
0
Votes
Sophiia89
Can you cater for a vegan diet? I like to take my other half some where special
5 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Darren L | Property representative |
Sophiia, yes we can cater for a vegan diet and can adjust dishes according to your requirements. If you contact us before hand we can discuss your likes.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$38
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 East Street, Colchester CO1 2TS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Colchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1206 973371
  • E-mail
Description
Here at The Old Siege House Bar and Brasserie we provide an a la carte dining experience in an ambient atmosphere at a very reasonable price. If you are looking for quality food, book your table today! Specials on Friday and Saturday evenings. Come and try our set lunch menus, £12.45 for two courses, £14.95 For three courses Tuesday-Saturday Lunch. £16.95 For two courses and £19.95 For three courses on Sunday lunch.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing