We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£6 - £12
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (1,144)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveller rating
796
241
53
25
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
796
241
53
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noodles prawn toast spring rolls duck ribs fast service asian food side dishes amazing food served quickly specials board takeaway
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely awful experience I was sent raw prawns (pink and chewy) and after confronting the manager he proceeds to tell me its impossible and his food is perfect!

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came for my other half’s birthday back in March. Booking was easy to do online and we were able to get availability for the time and day we wanted. It was busy in there for a Wednesday evening but they still had some tables...available but we would recommend booking so you don’t miss out. When we went in we were seated upstairs having not been for a while since they’ve done the extension it was refreshing to see how well they have renovated the place. We were slightly early but they were still able to seat us. We were seated on the first 2 person table on the right hand side as you go upstairs. One slight warning would be the low hanging lighting they have in this area it’s placed slightly awkwardly so we had to be slightly careful not to bump our heads when getting up or down. We ordered drinks first sparkling water and Coke Zero, the drinks came out quickly. Then our starter came out next which was 5 vegetable spring rolls to share which came with dipping sauce. The spring rolls were fresh and hot and tasted good. Next came out our mains we had a main of chicken satay noodles, with chicken satay skewers and egg fried rice which are classed as small plates. The noodles with chicken and veg is a huge portion and had great flavour. The skewers were nutty and had a good amount of sauce and there were 5 altogether, the rice is a huge portion for a small plate and was sticky rice with egg. The total meal for both of us was £35 including drinks which was amazing value for money. The staff are very friendly and super helpful. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Best place to eat in Colchester!.....Food consistently good! well......'Fabulous' actually!!!Staff always welcoming and helpful & efficient but not obtrusive, atmosphere buzzy...I have been eating here for 20 years and this place just gets better and better...I have no problem spending my money here because it...is always 'Top' quality on all fronts!...If you haven't tried this 'Gorgeous' eaterie you definitely need to!!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our lunch at the noodle bar, as the food was really authentic. Both the presentation and taste were great and tasted just like we had when living in Macau. The service was both friendly and quick and the atmosphere was great, with...the restaurant been almost full, even on a Wednesday lunchtime.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible food. I have been here so many times and I was so disappointed on this visit. Ordered a pork and rice main dish and the meat tasted as if it had gone off. The waitress was excellent and immediately took it back. However I...was not offered even an apology for this. I then ordered a beef in black bean sauce which arrived very quickly - this was bland and not tasty at all. There was also someone sharpening lots pencils with a very noisy electric pencil sharpener throughout the meal which kind of ruins the ambience! (Not just one or two but about 20-30 pencils one after the other). The portion size of the squid starter has become much smaller despite the price going up. Don’t know what’s happened to the food though- this used to be my favourite restaurant but after this meal I won’t be returning again.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having read the reviews online and having recently moved to Colchester, I was keen to visit North Hill Noodles. I went there with my wife and baby daughter. We left there feeling very disappointed. First of the food. We had ordered Pork Dumplings for starter....I immediately noticed a funny smell to it. I didn't know if it was off and that was what it was meant to smell like. When the waitress delivered our main, I mentioned the bad smell for dumplings and to my amazement, she informed that she agreed that it had a bad smell and said she thinks it smells because of the way they cook it! And then delightfully told me not to order the the dumplings if I ever return. My wife ordered the North Hill Noodles. It was bland and had no flavour. My wife had to use the soya sauce and chilli oil that was available on the table to try and spice it up a bit. She was so disappointed. She told me that the chinese we normally get from our local chinese was more authentic and had so much more flavour. I ordered the Roast Duck. It was nice but no wow factor which I was expecting after reading several reviews. Again, I normally order Roast Duck from my local chinese takeaway and that cost me £6.50. My dish here tasted the same and cost me about £15! I ordered a Fanta and what I received was a glass of ice cold water with a touch of Fanta essence. For the price they charge for drinks, I was expecting Original Fanta from a bottle but what I got was Fanta from a machine. It was horrible. I gave it to the waitress to take back and she replied to me....this is always happening! So there is a problem with the drinks yet they continue with it! Unfortunately the waitress we had looking after offered really poor service. It took her an eternity to take our order, when I complained about the Dumplings, she didn't offer an alternative dish or not to charge me for it. There was another waitress and when you asked for something, she barely gave you eye contact. And then to add insult to injury, when I asked for the bill, the waitress forgot to get it and then when I reminded her, she brought a bill from another table for £120 when my bill should have been £45. And then when I did get the bill, she never removed the water downed Fanta so then we had to wait again for the bill. So overall, very disappointed and unsure whether we will visit again. Poor service and over priced food in my honest opinion.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christopher Andrews, Owner at North Hill Noodle Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the time you have taken to write such a detailed review. We pride ourselves for our friendly and efficient service and if you have not received that on your visit this time I sincerely apologise. I shall make the comments to the...More

Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

Have been told by many that this is the best place to eat in Colchester and they weren’t wrong. Food was delicious, really fresh and there was a huge range of choice. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Restaurant and decor was modern and inviting....Food and drink were really reasonably priced, I can’t wait to return!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024

We came to the restaurant without a booking early evening on Friday night, the man we spoke to was very friendly and said he would be able to accommodate us. Family of 4, one baby and one child, we all left the restaurant later, happy,...full and agreeing that we will definitely return. I don’t usually leave reviews but thought these guys deserve the recognition.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

Visited the restaurant for the first time since the expansion and was really impressed with how lovely the restaurant looked. Super clean, fresh and stylish. Two of us were eating and had starters and mains. The food was excellent, all the dishes were flawless and...excellent portion size. I had the new Siracha King Prawns which were so delicious. My only criticism of the whole evening is we felt very very rushed. It was a Monday evening and not a Saturday night. As soon as we finished the mains it was very clear they wanted us gone. As two Mums who don't get out much we ordered another drink to buy time but as soon as those were done and we said we didn't want anything else the waitress appeared with the bill and the card machine. We didn't even have time to check the bill before she was asking us how it was going to be split and paid. It just put a dampner on what was otherwise a lovely evening.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

After many years of promising ourselves we would visit we finally managed it. They have recently expanded the restaurant and they’ve done a lovely job. Such a nice environment. Since Covid, they have offered takeaways which are always delicious so the food didn’t disappoint. Big...bold flavours all beautifully prepared. The service is friendly and informal and despite one of our party (me) being very late we never felt rushed. A lovely restaurant to have nearby.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024

Amazing food yet again & for the quality, it’s a really good deal price wise! By far the best restaurant in Colchester for service and friendly atmosphere. And the new refurb has been well designed & tastefully (no pun intended) done.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2023 via mobile

Haven’t been here since the refurb and wanted to see what they’d done. Very nice airy new area to sit. Food quality amazing as usual. I had the beef pho soup which was delicious and my partner had the char kwey Tao. We will be...returning again! Quality is always amazing and full of flavour.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2023

First visit for a while and it was even better than we remembered. The refurbishment has been really tastefully done and we felt very comfortable with the surroundings on the first floor with good lighting and exposed brick work. The food was hot, fresh and...delicious. The prawn toast was so plump and juicy! We enjoyed all our starters and also our mains - we chose the North Hill Noodles... full of flavour and a very good size portion. Lovely staff.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2023

We have been going to the noodle bar for several years, and we were worried the recent 'upgrade' meant it might lose it cosy feel and service. Guys, you've smashed it. The new room is beautifully done, tasteful, yet contemporary, and the make-over of the...original space is super. Your staff are consistently friendly and oh so efficient. And lastly of course, the food is, frankly, some of the best I have ever tasted. Always piping hot, fresh and delivered in minutes. Thank you, and well done. My wife and I will continue to hold this special place to our hearts.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2023 via mobile

Came here with family to celebrate a milestone birthday. I hadn't been before so didn't quite know what to expect. The service was swift and the food arrived really quickly. We had a couple of small plates to start followed by our main course. Everything...was piping hot and beautifully cooked. Very generous portions and reasonably priced too. I really enjoyed my food (vegetable spring rolls and chicken satay with noodles) my family all said that their food was delicious too. My niece cannot eat shellfish her meal was made without prawns especially for her, no problem. This could be the new family favourite. I would highly reccomend a visit.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Colchester Boutique Hotel
452 reviews
.02 miles away
The North Hill Hotel
350 reviews
.05 miles away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
557 reviews
.19 miles away
The George Hotel
307 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Green Room
564 reviews
.05 miles away
Camulodunum
212 reviews
.06 miles away
Piccolo at 42 North Hill
97 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Colchester Arts Centre
213 reviews
.16 miles away
Dutch Quarter
86 reviews
.12 miles away
Colchester Town Hall
34 reviews
.07 miles away
Balkerne Gate
15 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BrianW3813
4 February 2019|
Answer
Response from CO1981 | Reviewed this property |
Best to book before as it is busy, although less so since wagmama opened
0
Votes
Ryan S
20 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from disvis | Reviewed this property |
no
0
Votes
Athaur R
24 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jessica B | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay - I'm not sure i'm afraid - it would best to contact them directly - they are very helpful :)
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

NORTH HILL NOODLE BAR, Colchester - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about North Hill Noodle Bar

Yes, North Hill Noodle Bar offers takeaway services.

North Hill Noodle Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5