We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pentonbridge Inn

££ - £££, British,
Penton, Carlisle CA6 5QB, England
+44 1228 586636
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good9%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (24 reviews)
“herdwick lamb” (3 reviews)
“petit fours” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Penton, Carlisle CA6 5QB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner had booked this as a birthday surprise - he got a call 2 hours before our reservation to say all the chefs had walked out and we couldn’t go ! Shocking customer service , would have expected a better apology and an offer...More

Date of visit: November 2018
4  Thank louiseswift
AbbieRDeeb, Guest Relations Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Louise Swift, Thank you for your review highlighting the cancellation of your dinner reservation. We unreservedly apologise for the disappointment you suffered on your birthday. Whilst we do appreciate your frustration at the short notice of the cancellation, it was totally out with our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called today for lunch at Pentonbridge Inn and it was superb !!, Lovely cozy atmosphere with a roaring fire and very welcoming and friendly staff and the food was excellent, this is the third time we have had lunch here and it never disappoints and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Audrey B
AbbieRDeeb, Guest Relations Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Audrey, Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you had a lovely Friday afternoon at Pentonbridge Inn. A warm roasting fire does wonders when it’s raining and windy outside! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our third trip to Pentonbridge and we were hoping they had got their act together at last. We had pre booked lunch in the conservatory as Uncle has some mobility problems and would struggle with the steps to the restaurant so we were...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank bevnew
AbbieRDeeb, Guest Relations Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Bevnew, Thank you for taking the time to get in touch and let us know about your visit. We are extremely disappointed to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. We are looking into a communication error with the booking and hope...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Currently the Pentonbridge inn is offering a Bed , Breakfast and Tasting menu deal at £199 …..For 2 guests... How could I turn that down ? Food – I`m getting really picky in my middle years and always manage to find something to whinge about...More

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank Cumbriafoodie
Ken R, Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Cumbriafoodie Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you found your eating experience faultless; and thank you for your encouraging advice. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb. A real welcome by incredibly friendly staff, beautiful accommodation, excellent food especially the taster menu. Surrounding countryside just has to be explored from this "remote, quiet" situation. Will definitely be back. Give the place a whirl as has to be experienced

Date of visit: November 2018
5  Thank magsthebirches
Ken R, General Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear magsthebirches Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived for lunch on a cold wet November Monday at Penton Bridge Inn. We were greeted by charming staff into a wonderful renovation of an old border inn which I used to frequent in earlier days, (for that, read youth!). With our drinks we...More

Date of visit: November 2018
7  Thank rodneypotts
Ken R, General Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear rodneypotts Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again when you return for an evening.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been to the previous incarnation a number of times it was a nice country pub serving good home cooking. We had been meaning to visit since we had heard it had changed hands and been fully refurbished last year (oh how time flies)...More

Date of visit: October 2018
7  Thank tarric
Ken R, General Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear tarric Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It is always lovely to hear from people who knew the former ‘Bridge Inn’ and have appreciated the changes. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Simply, superb. Have been before and, yesterday, had my 1st visit to experience products of new chef. Food was of the highest order (including 1st course dish of smoked eels. Yup, eels. Imaginitive and a delightful dish) and of similar quality to Michelin starred establishments...More

Date of visit: November 2018
5  Thank Johntheparticular
Ken R, Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Johntheparticular Thank you for taking the time to write a review; and for your encouraging words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to welcome you again on another occasion.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well what can I say, having never tried a tasting menu before I was a little sceptical when I saw the menu but it was incredible. Ever dish was perfectly executed, I can honestly say this is probably one of the best restaurant experiences I...More

Date of visit: November 2018
6  Thank halliday79Lockerbie
Ken R, Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear halliday79Lockerbie Thank you for such kind words. We are certainly receiving a lot of positive feedback about our Tasting Menu, and like you say, it is certainly something to experience.

Reviewed 9 November 2018

Well what a find! This place is perfect for a short getaway. My husband and I stayed at the Pentonbridge Inn at the end of October as a treat for our 18th Wedding Anniversary and we had such a wonderful experience. The staff were brilliant...More

Date of visit: October 2018
8  Thank THEKirroyale
Ken R, Manager at Pentonbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear THEKirroyale Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything about your stay at Pentonbridge Inn, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Carlisle
March Bank Hotel
92 reviews
3.88 miles away
Graham Arms Hotel
172 reviews
6.16 miles away
Zara Continental Hotel
23 reviews
6.69 miles away
The Douglas Hotel
86 reviews
6.70 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Hidden River Cafe
139 reviews
4.17 miles away
Whitshiels Cafe
91 reviews
7.11 miles away
Copshaw kitchen
210 reviews
7.47 miles away
Hazeldene restaurant
47 reviews
8.63 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Gilnockie Tower
7 reviews
3.74 miles away
Julie Dumbarton Fine Art Painter
28 reviews
6.69 miles away
7stanes - Newcastleton
34 reviews
8.33 miles away
Famous Blacksmiths Shop
1,184 reviews
8.82 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
dimi55
28 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from cathyb857 | Reviewed this property |
It is dog friendly in the bar not the restaurant
1
Vote
bluejayaaa
28 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Alexandra J | Reviewed this property |
I presume so, I would ring and ask if it’s not on their website or Facebook page.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$3 - US$69
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer
Good for
Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Penton, Carlisle CA6 5QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Carlisle
  • Phone Number: +44 1228 586636
  • E-mail
Description
When it comes to dining we like to offer guests the best of both worlds with refined, modern dining in our restaurant and pub favourites in the bar. Both menus have been created by our chefs using locally sourced ingredients, where possible, and produce from our Victorian walled kitchen garden at nearby Netherby Hall.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing