We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern

Newmarket Road, Carlisle CA1 1JG, England
+44 1228 515367
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (14 reviews)
“pudding” (15 reviews)
“sands centre” (21 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Newmarket Road, Carlisle CA1 1JG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

On my way to visit my son, daughter in law and granddaughter with my nieces, we decide to stop off for a bit of lunch at the turf tavern, very prompt service and lovely waitress. Food was fab really enjoyed my Mac n cheese. Only...More

Thank Lizzi D
Simon D, General Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Hi Thank you for your feedback, l am delighted you enjoyed the service and food. However I will look into the chipped cups and poor quality drinks to ensure it doesn’t happen. Hopefully we’ll see you again soon Thanks Simon

Reviewed 21 November 2017

Had fantastic meal at a reasonable price great atmosphere choice of food and drinks was really good top notch service

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank richardsQ8360ZI
Simon D, General Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hi Thank you very much for your great feedback, myself and my team really appreciate it. If you want to book a table for over the festive period please give us a call on 01228 515367. Thanks again Simon

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Saturday deal of a 2 course meal for 8 pounds is superb value for money. The food is great quality. You will find it hard to beat this deal in Carlisle. The serving staff and waitresses were as usual super friendly and attentive. Often eat...More

Thank Andrew T
Simon D, General Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi What amazing feedback, I will pass on your comments to all the team who will really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Simon

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Attended and had a meal prior to going to an events at the sands centre carlisle... we ordered fish and chips but hey ... fish was tiny ... lots of batter bur no fish !!! not what u wud expect from an evening meal ......More

Thank Vilamendoo
Simon D, General Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi I would like to apologise for the poor food quality you received on your last visit, as you say being busy is no excuse so I will discuss with my kitchen team to ensure this doesn't happen again. If you wish to discuss this...More

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Popped in for some food after a busy day at work, we were greeted by Andy and made to feel right at home with excellent service and you cant go wrong with a burger and pint deal and i must say that its been a...More

Thank jim342015
Simon D, General Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi Wow what great feedback. Thanks for putting it on here, myself and the team really appreciate it. We looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Simon

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Awful food awful service dirty every where. Gone down hill so much clearly the chef and manager have changed and are now clueless

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Jesussonofgod
Simon D, General Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi I would like to apologise for the poor food and service you received on your last visit. If you wish to discuss the matter further please call me on 01228 515376. Thanks Simon

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Food was excellent, good quality food for price, many choices, service was excellent & staff very friendly & making sure we were happy with our meals, which came out very fast after we ordered. Would recommend to friends, we have booked to go back again...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank emmapQ7117PP
Simon D, General Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi Thanks very much for the excellent feedback, myself and the team really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon and if you want to book for Christmas anytime please give us a call on 01228 515367 Thanks Simon

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Called in for lunch when visiting Carlisle. The food was decent quality, good value and service was pleasant. Much better around than similar pub chains I've visited recently. Ideal pub for family meals when you want a little treat. Always consider this place when in...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank G6556TBgaryw
Simon D, General Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi Thanks very much for your great feedback, the team will really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Simon

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Went for a meal last night with friends. First off the tables were sticky, there were bits of food stuck to the menus and there was food on the floor. My friend ordered a diet coke and the barman offered her one he had "poured...More

1  Thank AMCwasP
Simon D, General Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi First of all let me apologise for the poor service you received on your last visit. Clearly we did not hit the high standards I expect us to deliver on this occasion. I would love to get you back in to prove what we...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017

this is our second vist while shopping in Carlisle, was quite busy as Carlisle match on tv, we found a seat away from main bar ,ordered food told 20min wait that was ok had only waited about 15mins had mini mixed grill each very nice...More

Thank Angela S
Andrew C, Manager at Hungry Horse - The Turf Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Angela Damn those blasted peas so close to getting it perfect for you lol. Sorry about that must have been a mix up in the kitchen, Im glad everything else was good for you tho and Ill make sure there are no peas next...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Carlisle
Crown & Mitre Hotel
1,068 reviews
.38 miles away
Cumbria Park Hotel
674 reviews
.43 miles away
Angus Hotel
186 reviews
.43 miles away
The Halston Aparthotel
267 reviews
.46 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bari Restaurant
507 reviews
.30 miles away
Romano Pizzeria
91 reviews
.28 miles away
The Creme Cafe
85 reviews
.28 miles away
Quarter Lounge
273 reviews
.31 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Carlisle Cathedral
1,146 reviews
.39 miles away
Tullie House
651 reviews
.41 miles away
Carlisle Castle
882 reviews
.39 miles away
Cumbria's Museum of Military Life
104 reviews
.42 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
1123493Emily
13 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Kirsty2013welsh | Reviewed this property |
Hi there, I wouldn't think so as it's a public house, but give them a ring and ask, hope that helps 😀
1
Vote
Andrew H
8 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Gumbee1969 | Reviewed this property |
Not always necessary to book a table but you can do so if you wish to.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$14
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newmarket Road, Carlisle CA1 1JG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Carlisle
  • Phone Number: +44 1228 515367
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing