We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
300 Kimbolton Road, Bedford MK41 8YR, England
01234-40-93-01
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 199: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am a frequent visitor and have been for a few years both under the old management and now the new.I have had many family celebrations here and even my Fathers funeral tea was arranged there and we were treated very well. The food is always fresh and tasty even though I often have the pensioners menu it is always... More 

Helpful?
Thank peterhammond10
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely food and service. Nice to see Fiona and her daughter clarrisa after all these years. Need to cath up probably some time. Would recommend to friends and family

Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
purplebambi, Manager at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear customer Thank you for your review we hope to see you and the family again soon More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

What has happened to this pub. Frequent visitors for food under previous owners but never again. Landlord understanding and apologetic when he heard my complaint unlike the rude curt lady , whom I can only assume is the landlady, who made us feel very uncomfortable. Such a shame I never complain usually, I have to say it used to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
purplebambi, Manager at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear customer again !! I note your the same customer as below just using a different account. I as the landlord I was not in agreement with you regards your visit to us at all, and your complaint did not exsist And you did not speak with the landlady on your visit as you may note that she in fact... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked a family meal after trying to call 5 times the woman couldnt hear me? And was very rude, almost my fault that she couldnt hear! I sounded like an inconvenience!! Arrived and put our 1 year old in a dirty high chair then decided to put her in buggy, got told wasnt allowed buggy in the restaurant area? Even... More 

Helpful?
Thank rubynrih
purplebambi, Owner at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear customer Thank you for taking the time to review our public house However I'd like to make clear that we do not accept your review as honest or reliable The policy for the past 10 years here has been no buggies it is clearly advertised as you walk in with a 3 foot sign outside. This is for health... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Been popping in regularly over past 5/6 years, not been for about 6 months as the menu has not been altered in that time and been through it all!!! New owners taken over so at last hoped for a change in menu, went yesterday still the same menu!!! 😩 Food itself was okay, but please after 5 years can we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Molliemoomin
purplebambi, Manager at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear customer Thank you for taking the time to review our pub I'm sorry your not happy with the menu as you will have noted there was a notice up advising customers that we are infact changing our menu next month. There was also a suggestion box for you to give your feedback Hopefully you'll like the new menu but... More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just moved to bedford, we've had a few meals out nd about, this was the best yet. 1st time visiting, myself nd my partner with 3 children were all content, absolutely lovely all round, waited a little longer than normal for our meal but no complaints, staff were very helpful, food was spot on considering it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edward D
purplebambi, Manager at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear customer Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you visit us and we got to see you again soon More 

London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took a while for anyone to acknowledge us at the bar but once we were sat at our table things got better. We had a pizza and the seafood grill and they were both really good. We did the quiz and all in all it was a lovely evening out.

Helpful?
Thank Diveva
purplebambi, Manager at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear customer Thank you for your review. I understand you visited us on a very busy night in the bar. It's always a good idea to book in the restrurant area to ensure you get table service you can book by phone on 01234 409301 Hopefully you'll be back to see us soon More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been a local in the Pheasant for around five years but had never really ate in there due to the fact I normally eat at home. Recently my structure of hours for working and training had changed so I decided to visit there last night ( Tuesday 7th ) as by the time I has cooked something for... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulcraven2017
purplebambi, Owner at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear customer Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you visit us and we hope to see you again soon. Please look out for for up coming events on Facebook More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visit The Pheasant every Thursday night and have done for the past 3 years for dinner and the quiz. I love this place for the excellent food (I have worked my way through the menu and have never had a bad meal)service and atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff or for Nigel and Fiona. This is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just celebrated my sisters 50th Birthday here this Sunday gone and wanted to complement on the fantastic food we had. All 16 of us were so pleased with our food. And the service we received was great. Nothing was too much for them. They even brought out the cake I made with Birthday music and cut it and serviced... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Renhold, Bedford
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 300 Kimbolton Road, Bedford MK41 8YR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bedford
  • Phone Number: 01234-40-93-01

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Pheasant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?