We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bakehouse

Claimed

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$19
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
109
92
55
54
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
109
92
55
54
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scampi pudding mixed grill bake house great carvery nice place to eat sunday carvery family meal food was lovely medium neil meats
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 392 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I ordered a aubergine butternut and pepper bake, and my daughter ordered the veggie burger surprise. After waiting over half am hour and asking employees, i received what looked like a pile of red mush in a dish. It was incredibly unappetizing, and didn't come...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Cruiser451303
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch ...well it wasn't quick...waited 40 min for burger. There is absolutely no waiting staff- looks like one guy is running around trying to look after the bar and get the food out... Dirty plates left all over. . Won't...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank carolineblue
TheBakehouseWGC, Manager at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Carolineblue, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, please accept my apologise that you felt the need to review us 1 star, I will be sure to pass this onto the duty manager.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yesterday me and my family booked a table for dinner time. When I had booked the lady on the phone was very stern, I can get over that. When we arrived we were greated - without a hello and a smile and seated quickly. We...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Hollie S
TheBakehouseWGC, Manager at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Hollie s, Thanks for writing a review, we have already replied to your initial letter of complaint. Again please accept our most sincere apologise,

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for a drink with friends and couldn't fault the service, price and quality. Friendly, fast and less expensive than most other places.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Richard V
TheBakehouseWGC, Manager at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Richard V, Thanks for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I took my parents here on 26th Jan for my mothers birthday. We had prawn cocktails. The prawns were white. Uncooked.The lettuce was limp.The manager said they are supposed to be like this. Like in a salad. Elderly people can catch listeria from eating them...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Tiggystar
TheBakehouseWGC, Manager at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As we tried to explain to you on the day that the prawns we use are cooked and ready to eat. But you were uninterested in why the prawns were pink and also our salad...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place is a favourite of my friend and myself, whenever we meet its our go to location, to say it’s perfect would be a lie as everywhere has flaws, but it’s pretty close to it (or at least while we have gone) I’d like...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Daniel C
TheBakehouseWGC, Manager at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Daniel C, Thanks for the review, ill be sure to let the ladies know you have mentioned them, and I agree with you about your choice of dessert, it is a good one, not sure if you have tried our melt in the middle,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well where do I start? Staff. very welcoming, efficient accommodating and friendly. Restaurant. Spacious warm and friendly atmosphere. Food. Haven’t tried the main menu but we have the carvery every time. The food is well presented, cooked to perfection, good selection of meats and vegetables....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank philip c
TheBakehouseWGC, Manager at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Phillip c, Thanks for such a lovely review, such a pleasant read after the last one. I’m glad you enjoy each visit you have with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I choose the Carvery option. The meat was dry, there was no gravy and kept being told it was "being made" Ran out of horseradish. Tables were left dirty and uncleared. Staff unhelpful and not interested. Will not return or recommend this restaurant.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Aslan6969
TheBakehouseWGC, Manager at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Aslan6969, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your views. sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit, But I cant understand how the staff were not interested and unhelpful as I remember speaking with you on your visit. and yes the gravy was...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff very friendly and great service and atmosphere, lots of room for large groups and large outdoor seating area

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank bilbo_1996
TheBakehouseWGC, General Manager at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bilbo_1996, thanks for the review, hopefully see you all again soon for more pink gin and beers

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service and good food.Highly recommended to friends and family. Would definitely go again.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Alan M
TheBakehouseWGC, Manager at The Bakehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alan M, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, ill be sure to pass this onto the team for you. we look forward to seeing you again soon

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
81 reviews
.33 miles away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
784 reviews
.85 miles away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
615 reviews
1.06 miles away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
699 reviews
1.53 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 81 nearby restaurants
Red Indian Restaurant
198 reviews
.38 miles away
Cafe Trio
168 reviews
.42 miles away
Bill’s Welwyn restaurant
684 reviews
.39 miles away
The Neem Tree
398 reviews
.36 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 21 nearby attractions
Tulip Clinic
58 reviews
.35 miles away
Campus West Entertainment
114 reviews
.51 miles away
Barn Theatre
63 reviews
.82 miles away
Recover
47 reviews
.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mick j
29 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Crystal S | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure. ..opening times might be on their website.
1
Vote
James L
7 February 2017|
Answer
Response from TheBakehouseWGC | Property representative |
Yes We Have FREE WIFI ... Simply click on the Marstons link :)
1
Vote
27johnboy
7 June 2016|
Answer
Response from kty910 | Reviewed this property |
not sure what the question was as it just appears to be the sample menu - if the question is does this change - the answer is yes I understand the menu changes on a daily basis according to whatever is best from their local... More
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing