We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crooked Chimney

Cromer Hyde Lane | Lemsford, Welwyn Garden City AL8 7XE, England
+44 1707 397021
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (29 reviews)
“brocket hall” (11 reviews)
“chain pub” (7 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cromer Hyde Lane | Lemsford, Welwyn Garden City AL8 7XE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We booked online for Valentines Day and paid a £10 deposit. On arrival we waited by the bar and were ignored by three members of staff before we realised that unless we stood by the laptop on the bar no one was prepared to serve...More

4  Thank Lynn C
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. It is regrettable to hear that your experience was not enjoyable for which I apologise. There are no excuses to offer for receiving poor service and waiting excessively for food. Clearly these issues should be identified better and communicated much...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here during the Festive Season for mulled wine and quick bite, and came away impressed once again. Food is nicely presented, service is prompt, and the selection is as expected from a country pub.

Thank Grant H
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Grant, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're so pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us over the festive season and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards, Zoe

Reviewed 1 week ago

nice décor friendly staff good menu but slightly pricy as are the drinks but still nice to vast with good bar snax too

Thank skylane72
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!! We're pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed the food and drinks. The team will be thrilled with the feedback. Kind regards, Zoe

Reviewed 1 week ago

A disappointing and confusing experience....here goes, were told the restaurant was fully booked and we could try and find a table in the bar area (restaurant was empty, but more about that later) we crammed into a corner (our choice) to just eat and go...More

4  Thank craigpp03
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not deliver a great experience on the night and that we left you with more questions than answers. I do believe you have got in contact directly so we will look to get this...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We used together with friends in a cute corner by the fire place. Food was ok BUT during our last 3,5 hours visit on this table nobody cleaned the table through out our stay, which was covered in dirty plates , glasses, bottle, teapots ,...More

5  Thank Irina A
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We offer different styles of service throughout the business and depending where you are seated. We offer a full service dining area, as well as a bar area, which is more casual order at the bar. However, this does not...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once was the time when it was said that "you don't go to England for its food". Certainly, this is no longer the case, and there is no better example of eating an enjoyable quality meal outside of London then this fine establishment. The Crooked...More

Thank CCAandEBA
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ccaandeba, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Crooked Chimney. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you for taking the time out to pass on your kind comments. Thank you

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked online a table for four people for 7pm. I asked for a quiet location with no TV or music. We all arrived at 7pm and on being taken to our table I was pleasantly surprised to find it exactly what I had asked for....More

Thank Robert D
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Robert D, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Crooked Chimney. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited the Pub for a meeting and had a meal before hand, it was served quickly by friendly and helpful staffMore

Thank Julian C
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I'm so happy to hear the meal you had was served quickly by our team. I'm glad you found them friendly and helpful too. Hopefully it set you up well for your meeting! Please visit us again soon! Kind Regards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Speak as you find. We went for lunch on pie day wed and found the quality and quantity to be good! Service was also good . Food not cheap but overall it was a good trip no complaints here

Thank gamblermk2
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed both the quality and quantity of your pies. I'm glad the service was good for you too. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Jeremy

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Very poor quality of food, drinks order, wrong twice kept telling them no ice, but don't listen. Lamp kofter, poor presentation, salad out of a bag.More

2  Thank onelifeliveitnow
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you found the food quality poor and the presentation poor too. The lamb Kofte dish is one of our best selling starters and we do not get feedback like yours generally. However, we will be reviewing our...More

PreviousNext
12345664
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Brocket Hall
83 reviews
.50 miles away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
713 reviews
1.63 miles away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
311 reviews
2.03 miles away
Hangar Hotel Hatfield
24 reviews
2.17 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Auberge du Lac
636 reviews
.37 miles away
Bill’s Welwyn restaurant
601 reviews
1.75 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Welwyn Garden City
318 reviews
1.71 miles away
John Bunyan Pub
195 reviews
1.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stanborough Park
200 reviews
1.35 miles away
Elephant and Castle
75 reviews
2.68 miles away
Welwyn Roman Baths
89 reviews
2.68 miles away
Tulip Clinic
46 reviews
1.79 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amy H
5 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Rosanna H | Property representative |
Hi Amy, Yes we do allow dogs in the garden. And if the weather starts to turn typically British you can all come inside too!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cromer Hyde Lane | Lemsford, Welwyn Garden City AL8 7XE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn Garden City
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 397021
  • E-mail
Description
Serving the Lemsford community for more than 200 years, the building was originally a farmhouse called Hornbeam Hall. Its use as an inn dates back to 1756 when it was called The Chequers. In 1777 Searanckes Brewery of Hatfield acquired the building which remained as The Chequers until 1968 when it was renamed The Crooked Chimney after its distinctive crooked brick chimney. The Crooked Chimney in Welwyn Garden is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar. Book a table and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing