We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£15 - £20
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (537)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
374
79
35
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
374
79
35
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry rice poppadoms king prawns best indian indian restaurant fantastic food takeaway
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

I finally visited The Don for my Dad’s birthday after only ever ordering take away, we were treated like royal family and the food was amazing. The staff were so lovely and were very patient with my Dad’s long chats! We’ll be back again.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2023

We have been visiting the don for a several years now. Amazing food and service. Loved my king prawn sagg. Definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2023

fantastic food full of flavours ,very friendly and helpful staff,we will definatly be returning. Rick and Tracy

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2023

After eating in several curry restaurants I can definitely say that the Don is the best in Welwyn Garden City!

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2023 via mobile

After waiting 1 and a half hours in a completely empty restaurant while paying £70 for a meal that was meager to say thr least food was bland and drinks warm we paid our £70 bill and left 6 days later a further charge of...£45 appeared from the same restaurant and police have been informed all I ca say is avoid avoid avoidMore

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rasel Khan, General Manager at The Don, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Having been established for almost 10 years there’s always someone out there who tries to tarnish our reputation. With only one review written to date shows the malicious intent behind your review. Our loyal customers will know to disregard your review and you have been...More

Reviewed 13 January 2023

Firstly the prices shown on the restaurant menu are higher than the prices shown on their website - starter and main were both £1 more than expected and rice and side were also more expensive. Food itself was pretty good although by no means the...best that I've ever had. Service was attentive without being over the top. By my calculations my bill should have been about £28 for starter, main, rice, side dish and pint of Bangra. The final bill was £33.40 which was about 20% more than expected - possibly a service charge? although I didn't notice it stated on the menu. I am not the sort of person who likes to make a scene but I do feel somewhat taken for a mug. If I go there again I will make a note of the exact price of everything ordered so that I can dispute the bill if they inflate it again. Shame really as without this it would have been an enjoyable experience.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2022 via mobile

Always good to find a great Indian takeaway and this certainly is one! Would highly recommend to anyone in the area! Not eaten in yet, but will definitely give that a go too.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2022 via mobile

Excellent food. Friendly service. Choice of Kingfisher or Bangla. Hot towels and chocolates with the bill. Nice environment and fully deserve 5 stars.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2022

Very poor service and sub-standard meals. Very disappointing compared to previous visits well over a year ago. We brought friends having advised them how good it was, such a mistake

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2022 via mobile

Have previously eaten at The Don a couple of times pre covid, so this was the first visit in a while, and sadly a very disappointing one. I called booked the table midweek for Saturday (their main number no one answered on many attemptes and...rings out to an EE mobile answerphone, second number answered on second attempt). When we arrived I was greeting my who I think is the manager who seemed very unwelcoming to me coming in. I really felt we were not wanted, he never asked if I had booked for our party of eight. The table was not ready or prepared and the restaurant had only a few tables in use but was busy with takeaways. He pushed some tables together and literally threw some extra cutlery onto the table with a crash as he started to set it up. At this point I already felt like walking out. As the tables space felt quite tight, we pushed them a couple of inches apart to give a little more elbow room. After a while they offered us poppadoms all the time seeming very disinterested. He asked for how many per table and they served one side bit we waited what felt like 5-10 minutes before the second plate arrived for the other side of the table... no apology. It then took a further 15 mins before they took our order and I had to convince some of our group to stay and not leave. It certainly appeared the priority in the restaurant was for takeaways and it seemed very chaotic. Food was to be honest a bit average, and a couple of dishes took a while to come. Positives came from those in our party who had the Don Special King Prawn, and the Shark dish. Potatoes in the Bombay aloo a little over cooked. Then it took ages to get our bill and pay, and the service felt so poor that this was the first time in a long time I felt aggrieved enough to not leave a tip. I'd leave one star, but some of the food was enjoyed so giving two. I won't be back, but I don't think the owners will care.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2022

As per a lot of other reviews I was also over charged by approx £9 on a takeaway order. I had 3 items I never ordered which obviously substituted the items I had ordered that were missing. From my initial call placing the order to...arriving and collecting the order I found the staff unwelcoming in comparison to other Indian restaurants and very dis interested. The menu and pricing suggests they should be OR try to indicate they are a upmarket superior establishment in comparison to other local establishments but this really is NOT the case. We are regular Indian cuisine diners and I can honestly say the food here is a complete let down. Although not completely bland the food at best is below what one would expect from a below average Indian takeaway. We would never return to this restaurant and it seems that the Don is slowly losing custom within the local community due to the same reasons - OVER CHARGING - TERRIBLE SERVICE AND DECLINING FOOD QUALITY. The reviews on here aside I know of at least 8 people who have now verbally suggested to others to avoid The Don in recent months. I for one do reserve judgment until I have a personal experience, unfortunately my suggestion now would to also avoid the restaurant. They should certainly go back to the drawing board and restructure across the 3 areas highlighted in this review that’s seem to be repetitive across a lot of other reviews.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2022

Was invited here with friends and have to say it is hands down the best Indian I’ve ever had. The onion chutney with the poppadoms was amazing and unlike any I’d had before - also the Duck Kerala was out of this world! Have yet...to see it in another Indian restaurant but it was cooked to perfection and the meat was so lean and tender. Would recommend 100%. Cannot wait until my next visit!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2022 via mobile

Food was superb. Best Saag Paneer I’ve ever had. Inside was nice & friendly staff Look forward to returning.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2022 via mobile

Best Indian restaurant ……ever! (And I’ve eaten in a lot! 🙈🤣) …. Delicious food at reasonable prices. All the staff are fab and so attentive. Can’t praise this place highly enough , love , love, love! ⭐️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2021 via mobile

I’ve been slightly generous with my score, it was probably a three and a half but I’ve gone up instead of down because my wife liked it a little more than I did. We went straight into mains as we prefer sides rather than starters,...we both had chicken and it was better than many curry houses, not over cooked and in the case of my wife’s dish, well spiced. Flavours were generally good and the onion bhajis had more onion than any other restaurant bhaji I’ve ever eaten (and there’s been hundreds). That would have made them the best ever except they inexplicably added sugar which made them a touch too sweet. Overall we liked the food and would return if in the area.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
762 reviews
.32 miles away
Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
683 reviews
.78 miles away
Tewinbury
1,496 reviews
1.88 miles away
Christmas Cottage
109 reviews
1.98 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Stanborough Beefeater
1,063 reviews
.61 miles away
Tikka Masala
157 reviews
.50 miles away
Pear Tree Inn
50 reviews
.37 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Barn Theatre
70 reviews
.97 miles away
Spa Experience Welwyn
59 reviews
.77 miles away
Gosling Sports Park
83 reviews
.77 miles away
Elley Spa
16 reviews
.78 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Vanesa M
10 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RBK83 | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Yes, we do have high chairs, subject to availability. We do have alternative options available. Please advise the waiter when ordering. For further information please call 01707 808 202.
0
Votes
Vanesa M
10 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from RBK83 | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Yes we cater for all.
0
Votes
Laura H
4 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 53raselk | Property representative |
Unfortunately, it is. However, we do make occasional exceptions if it is a large order. Please ring 01707 808 202 to enquire. Thank You.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE DON, Welwyn Garden City - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Don

Yes, The Don offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Don offers delivery services.

The Don is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5