We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Traditional Family run Inn situated in the village of Burniston, 4 miles north of Scarborough and 16 miles south of Whitby, Offering a well stocked bar with real ales, Homecooked Meals with special Boards, Open log Fire, Garden Seating, Undercover Smoking area, 6 En-suite bedrooms (bed and Breakfast),Free Wi-Fi and Free Parking.
PRICE RANGE
£5 - £20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (259)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
160
52
14
11
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
160
52
14
11
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews potatoes steak salmon sunday roast side salad ham garlic bread lovely veg lovely pub lovely meal home made chips tureen ales dog yorkshire homemade
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 April 2024

We randomly booked The Oak Wheel pub for Sunday Evening dinner for a party of 12. We were staying nearby and needed somewhere near. Looking at its reviews it was given great ones and we called in for a lunch one day and it was...great so we went ahead and booked the meal. Outstanding!!! We were all seated together, service was pleasantly delivered with speed. Nothing was too much for the hosts. The food was incredible!!! Delicious, huge portions of very well presented food. We had a mixed selection of meals. Starters on our table were prawn cocktail and fried halloumi. Roast pork, roast gammon, fish and chips, steak and ale pies, scampi and chickpea and sweet potato curry! All drew gasps on arrival. The sides that accompanied would have fed 24 not 12😂 cauliflower cheese, carrots, boiled cabbage, new potatoes, roast potatoes, chips, buckets of gravy. We couldn’t manage the amount of sides but approached the challenge like good Northerner’s! The total bill was £341 for 12 starters and mains and one round of drinks. £28 per head…, excellent value. Thoroughly recommend and when we are back again will be visiting again. Well done.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaun Hull, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon Thank you for taking your time to leave us this lovely review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your food with us last Sunday, this is much appreciated We look forward to welcoming you again Kind Regards Shaun & Kate Hull

Reviewed 8 March 2024

What a lovely find! Rang and booked 15 minutes before arriving to find the table set out for my partner and I and highchair for our 9 month old all set up. It's the first time we have been somewhere that has catered so well...for our little girl with plastic plate, cup and cutlery. We ordered the fishcake and pate starters which was a generous portion and delicious, compliments to the chef. We didn't feel rushed, had plenty of time to relax and enjoy the friendly atmosphere and what a comfortable setting which is what we always look for when dining with a child so young. The mains were equally delicious, generous portions and the staff so attentive to anything we may require. Would highly recommend to someone wanted a relaxed date night with a young child third wheeling. Thank you 😊More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2023

Went to Oak Wheel for Christmas Dinner with family. The food was truly delicious and the service and atmosphere was excellent. The staff were always helpful and attentive

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2023

Just enjoyed a quite superb Christmas Dinner, the food was beautiful, the service both bar and restaraunt were exemplary. Thankyou to all concerned. P C Bang

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2023

So ok rang at last minute on the Sunday morn for lunch.Was told ok, but not in main area/restaurant (fair enough) We were put in the back at a tiny round table next to an open door leading to beer garden.We were absolutely frozen,I had...to eat with my coat on,hence the food got cold very quickly.We did not enjoy the meal because of the cramped cold space we were put in,yet we were paying exactly the same as all the other diners!Got the impression that they just tried to get as many in as they could.Totally put us off! Yet we have eaten here before on a Sunday lunchtime and been really impressed. Our fault for not booking early enough? or theirs for cramming people in?More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Came in aftwr a long walk up the Cinder Track nice tea nice coffee but we were told to move mid drink due to the table we sat on being reserved despite no reservation sign being visable this in turn made us feel embarrassed and...very uncomfortable We will not be coming here again in the future the food also seemed quite expensive so kind of glad we didn't eat here.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2023 via mobile

We had a really lovely stay here last weekend. The bedroom, and En Suite were spotlessly clean. We had a meal in the evening which was cooked to perfection and we both had a full breakfast on our 1st day, and then an Eggs Benedict,...and different choices on our 2nd day, all cooked beautifully too. Lovely, friendly host who made us feel so welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend this and, it was superb value for money as well.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2023

Poor quality Sunday lunch served by a miserable waitress who gave us the impression that everything was too much trouble.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaun Hull, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear The_Daddy64, We feel disappointed to read your review with regards your comments, We serve over 150 Sunday lunches every week and have many returned customers, weekly due to us serving fresh quality food so we don't understand why you ddin't enjoy your lunch with...More

Reviewed 29 September 2023

Really delicious menu and beautifully cooked meal. I had the slow cooked belly pork which melted in my mouth, my hubby had the steak n ale pie. Friendly helpful staff and dog friendly too! Would highly recommendMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaun Hull, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Trudydent Thank you for your feedback from your meal you had with us, it means a lot to us and the staff, we take time in making all our dishes homecooked and enjoy to find all our ingredients locally We are happy that you...More

Reviewed 5 September 2023 via mobile

The food was delicious. We couldn’t fault it. The accommodation was cosy, but well laid out and very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Plenty of parking on site. Definitely the best place we’ve stayed, during our drive around Yorkshire. We’d definitely stay...here again.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaun Hull, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Steve Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and also enjoyed your stay in our accommodation, We take pride it making your stay with us and warm and welcoming...More

Reviewed 1 September 2023 via mobile

Our visit to "The Oak Wheel" proved to be a deeply unsatisfactory experience, meriting a mere 1/5 star rating. Regrettably, we cannot endorse this establishment, even for families seeking a dining venue. One glaring issue that we encountered was the limited menu selection, which left...much to be desired. Additionally, the overall ambiance and olfactory atmosphere within the restaurant were far from pleasant. These initial impressions set the tone for our dining experience. Although we were promptly served our beverages upon arrival, this was a rare positive aspect. We opted for a promotional burger offer, which promised a complimentary drink to accompany it. However, the staff overlooked providing us with our beverages, and we were forced to inquire, a process that took an inordinate amount of time. Unfortunately, our attempts to gain their attention with polite requests were met with indifference, a disconcerting display of customer service. Regarding the menu itself, its lack of variety and substance was conspicuous. Comprising only two pages, predominantly featuring similar items, it offered little to excite our culinary preferences. Furthermore, the presentation of the burger we ordered was subpar, failing to meet even basic visual standards of appeal. The culinary journey at "The Oak Wheel" left much to be desired. To compound our disappointment, we found the conduct of the staff to be markedly impolite, further tarnishing our dining experience. In light of these grievances, we cannot, in good conscience, recommend "The Oak Wheel" as a dining destination of choice.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaun Hull, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Tom Its is very disappointing to read your comments with regards your time with us and now for you to set behind a computer and not even give us the feedback when you where here with us and then we could have dealt with...More

Reviewed 31 August 2023

I had the chicken meal one night and the second night had the chicken burger meal. Both excellent. My partner had the beef pie one night and the scampi the next. Again both excellent. Good service with friendly staff. I wish we had tried it...at the start of our holiday in Burniston as there were other things on the menu that we would have liked to try.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaun Hull, Owner at The Oak Wheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Bill We are so happy to read your comments and that you enjoyed your time with us, and also where able to sample more than one of our homecooked dishes We are glad that you found your service good and we hope to welcome...More

Reviewed 29 August 2023

Nice looking pub from outside where do I start we arrived at 6 o'clock on Saturday night left Sunday morning sound like they were doing a favor price was 150 pounds one night no breakfast room wasn't very clean bathroom wasn't the cleanest also could...do with a coat of paint also people trying the door in the bathroom from the room next door was locked but felt like they were coming in all the time would not recommend this so anybody didn't have food nice beer in the bar but at 15 pounds for burger and a cup of chips very expensive what last thing I understand it was bank holiday what's a rip people off very poorMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023

Disappointing. Menu sounded good, but food was below average. Limp and tasteless baked potato with cheap flavourless cheddar. Husband said his burger was plastic an£ tasteless. Good chips and service.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2023

Thoroughly enjoyed our meals, tasty and satisfying. We dropped in on the off chance with our granddaughter for an evening meal. Belly pork was a real treat, the nicest i have ever had.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wrea Head Hall
2,692 reviews
1.33 miles away
Premier Inn Scarborough (North Bay) hotel
570 reviews
2.09 miles away
Park Manor Hotel
1,470 reviews
2.39 miles away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
2,816 reviews
2.47 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Three Jolly Sailors
1,138 reviews
.09 miles away
The Barn Cafe Bistro
249 reviews
.45 miles away
The Blacksmiths Arms Inn
148 reviews
.96 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Blacksmith Arms Cloughton
53 reviews
1.01 miles away
Scarborough North Bay Railway
1,145 reviews
2.29 miles away
Redcar Beacon
384 reviews
.35 miles away
Scarborough Open Air Theatre
705 reviews
2.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GeorgeM864
9 April 2017|
Answer
Response from miss r |
Hi are well behaved dogs allowed in please next year, one will be in a dog pushchair as she is now 15 yr old ,and dous not walk very far ,they are 2 west highland white terriers, both house trained groomed ,flead,and will... More
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE OAK WHEEL PUB, Scarborough - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Oak Wheel Pub

The Oak Wheel Pub is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4