We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harry Ramsden's Scarborough

23 Foreshore Road, Scarborough YO11 1PB, England
+44 1723 376727
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good15%
  • Average11%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible32%
Travellers talk about
“window seat” (17 reviews)
“sea view” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
23 Foreshore Road, Scarborough YO11 1PB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 130 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016

My 1st (& only) trip to a Harry Ramsden restaurant :-( SERVICE: We ordered 1 x large & 3 x regular fish & chips. They took ages to come - the waitress ended up having to go downstairs to chase them up. All 4 portions...More

Thank Ruth W
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear Ruth, I am extremely disappointed to hear that we have not met your expectations on your recent visit. If you would kindly send me your details to Kyle.miller@bvlretail.com I would like to investigate further to understand what went wrong and ensure we rectify. Kind...More

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Up above the takeaway fish'n'chip shop is Harry Ramsden's restaurant, which seems far away from the hustle and bustle of the street below. There is a good view over the bay and harbour, especially if you can get one of the window seats. As always...More

Thank Ruth H
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you for such a glowing review. I have to agree that we have one of the best views in Scarborough. I will be sure to let the whole team know your feedback and glad you felt the service was attentive. Please come and visit...More

Reviewed 24 September 2016

We went for a walk along the seafront and decided to have a portion of chips each. Not good. Poorly cooked, some were a bit grey in the middle and scrappy. How on earth can you make such a mess of frying some potatoes? This...More

Thank cardinal999
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Many thanks for your feedback and I am sorry we did not meet your expectation on your visit. I will be sure to address the issue and ensure training is given where necessary. Perhaps you'll visit us again soon, so we can show you we...More

Reviewed 20 September 2016

On a visit to scarborough,we were starving and this place was the first we came across so went in thought it was expensive but that hungry just stayed,peas were cold,tea was cold,thought fish and chips were tasteless i have had better from my local fish...More

Thank moiraw
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

I am extremely disappointed to hear that we have not met your expectations on your recent visit. If you would kindly send me your details to Kyle.miller@bvlretail.com I would like to investigate further to understand what went wrong and ensure we rectify. Kind Regards -...More

Reviewed 18 September 2016

Called in with friends who have eaten in Harry Ramsdens before and we were all very disappointed. The chips tasted cheap and reheated. One of our party said when we were paying the bill, that the chips were not very good and the young man...More

1  Thank Mar10w2014
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write and give us your feedback. My apologies that the chips on this occasion did not meet our usual high standards. Please send your contact details to Kyle.miller@bvlretail.com so that I can investigate further. Kind regards The Harry's Team...More

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

A friend and I visited Harry Ramsden's in Scarborough on Saturday 10 of September. Although clearly short staffed and very busy I can not praise the only member of front of house staff enough. Cleo Robles was truly amazing. She had a smile for everyone...More

Thank snowdog-on-tour
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for such a positive review regarding our team member, Cleo. We will be sure to pass on your feedback. She is a valued member of our team. Kind Regards - The Harry's Team - Scarborough

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

No fizzy juice as advertised on the menu so I requested tap water with ice - guess what no ice! Ordered regular cod & chips for 2 of us & when mine arrived if it weighed 3ozs it was a lot. Half the size of...More

Thank Wenz61
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Sorry Harry Ramsdens, but tonight those were the worst chips I have ever had in Scarborough! Speaking to staff (who were lovely about it) we found out that the famous twice cooked chips were actually a factory product that arrived chilled and are fried once....More

1  Thank pde2009
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We were stopping in Scarborough for a few days so it traditional to have fish and chips ,what a mistake to choose ramsdens .i can only presume that because it's mainly holiday makers that use it and not regular customers that they don't care,I don't...More

1  Thank sadler_jim
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Went to Scarborough for the day on Thursday 15th September saw Harry Ramsden's fish shop & thought we would get some good fish & chips. The fish was cooked ok but like previous reviews the chips were really dry and hard and grey in the...More

Thank walcottpotatoes
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Harbour Bar
954 reviews
.09 miles away
LoveBrew Cafe
161 reviews
.05 miles away
The Famous Fishpan
804 reviews
.02 miles away
Cafe View
233 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Scarborough Beach
2,655 reviews
.03 miles away
Diving Belle statue Scarborough
41 reviews
.20 miles away
Scarborough Maritime Heritage Centre
51 reviews
.02 miles away
Harbour View
25 reviews
.21 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Wendy S
7 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andreus D | Reviewed this property |
I spoke to the new manager about bad comments and he showed me the print off's of them. The lad in charge hasn't replied as he was using them to get an improvement plan together to get the place back up and running. By and... More
0
Votes
Carole T
18 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from snowdog-on-tour | Reviewed this property |
To be fair this was more of a compliment on cleo than anything. I don't know the reasons why she was on her own. It's a fact of life that some times things go wrong. However, the way she conducted herself was nothing... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23 Foreshore Road, Scarborough YO11 1PB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 376727
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing