We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

London Road, Newbury RG14 2FE, England
+44 1635 314610
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good32%
  • Average23%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“lasagna” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road, Newbury RG14 2FE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Ordered a Sunday roast and what was served I wouldn't have given to my worst enemy. reheated dry disgusting. Complained to the person who served us, too the food away and never came back. Contacted the Sizzler customer service who sent me email vouchers that...More

1  Thank Markswebpages
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the swan for breakfast and we were so ill after it as the Greece was so bad. We will not be going there again for breakfast. We have had evening meals in there which were good.

Thank Loretta T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The service was awful! Service WITHOUT A SMILE!! Mid week and most drinks not available along with no ice. Fish all sold out ( apparently within 35 minutes previously)and left with dirty plates for over an hour. No service outside 'in case the server slipped'...More

Thank Emily B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the Swam for a quick lunch. The food is average, portion sizes a bit on the small side and the speed of service was a bit on the slow side, considering we sat down around midday when they were not busy. Based on...More

Thank Berkshire_UK
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

My first grilled Haloumi sandwich with grilled peppers. Absolutely superb with sweet potato chips and a very good cappuccino all for less than £6. Excellent friendly service as well.

Thank A1n2thony
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Honestly the worst meal I've ever had. Went with work mates for lunch, bland, dry, took over an hour to get food. One of our group ordered a 'super food' salad. Came out as a normal salad and the manager knew there were no super...More

Thank Martyn C
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Absolutely disgraceful service I'm leaving livid after complaining about my inedible desert to be told the storks are part of the berries and eat them then to be told to leave I wouldn't touch this place with a barge pole absolutely disgusting 😡😡😡

1  Thank RamsdellSteve
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Been here before and food was great but tonight the gammon is chewy and over cooked so are the peas I'm not allowed to complain as my husband doesn't like to complain but the chips were nice my advice get new chef one who can...More

1  Thank blackcat144
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Went in for lunch with the in-laws have not been here for awhile good selection on the menu. Did not have to wait long for the food the food was hot. The only negative thing really about the place it needs a good clean and...More

Thank Gbf16
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Went here last night for a meal .food was awful would never go here again .sent sizzling plate with what supposed to be crispy duck back as over cooked and fatty .chickens skewers where dry as bullets .staff in friendly .Awful

1  Thank ukjuju
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bill's Restaurant
532 reviews
.72 miles away
Teashop by the Canal
150 reviews
.63 miles away
Chilis Indian Restaurant
414 reviews
.73 miles away
Cafe Rouge - Newbury
240 reviews
.69 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Newbury Racecourse
424 reviews
.44 miles away
Shaw House
81 reviews
.75 miles away
West Berkshire Museum
56 reviews
.65 miles away
Corn Exchange
29 reviews
.74 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michele301163
15 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Divadisco | Property representative |
Sorry we only allow dogs outside.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road, Newbury RG14 2FE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1635 314610
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing