We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands House

) #45 of 462 Restaurants in Huddersfield ££ - £££ , , British
Blackmoorfoot Road | Crosland Hill, Huddersfield HD4 7AE, England
+44 1484 654478
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good19%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (40 reviews)
“chicken kebab” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Blackmoorfoot Road | Crosland Hill, Huddersfield HD4 7AE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

I am amazed that I never visited the sands house before, but by jolly I will be back. Had the calzone pizza and my friend had the beef sop. This wasn't on the two dine for £10.99 but was worth every penny! The dine for...More

Thank AlexConway18
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi there, and many thanks for such a wonderful review. We have recently had a little re-launch of The Sands House, with new signage, external improvements and new menu. As you mention the Calzone is going down really well, and the old favourite Hot Beef...More

Reviewed 5 June 2017

A really lovely beer garden suitable for families and couples. Good choice of wines, ales and ciders at a reasonable price.

Thank Riversidegirl571
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi there, and thanks for your 5 star review. The Sands House has one of the best beer gardens in Huddersfield, so we are glad you enjoyed it, and the choice and value for money we provide. Hope we can see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Third time lucky and final time after a very disappointing Sunday lunch with large group of friends. Had always been so happy with food & service in past years but since taken over few years ago have tried 3 times and can't believe how wrong...More

Thank ccassidy908
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi there and thanks for your review. Unfortunately we had a really busy Sunday on 21st May with several members of staff absent through illness and holiday. Rest assured it really was a one off and whilst we did our best under the circumstances we...More

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We used to live nearby to the sands house a few years ago and we'd visit quite regularly. You had to book quite far in advance for Sunday lunch. We haven't (until today) been for quite some time, we knew it had changed hands but...More

Thank Spazio_900
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi there and thanks for your review. Unfortunately we had a really busy Sunday on 21st May with several members of staff absent through illness and holiday. Rest assured it really was a one off and whilst we did our best under the circumstances we...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017

We called into the Sands for a spot of lunch. We used to call in many years ago when we worked in the area and decided being as we hadn't had a poboy for so long to treat ourselves. On arrival everything was how we...More

Thank gailnrich23
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi there and thanks for your review. Unfortunately we had a really busy Sunday on 21st May with several members of staff absent through illness and holiday. Rest assured it really was a one off and whilst we did our best under the circumstances we...More

Reviewed 22 May 2017

We went yesterday for Sunday lunch for the first time. Had absolutely no idea what to expect, and liked the beer garden so initially it looked good. However, after waiting over an hour for our meal to arrive, we were incredibly disappointed at what we...More

Thank Chipter21
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi there and thanks for your review. Unfortunately we had a really busy Sunday on 21st May with several members of staff absent through illness and holiday. Rest assured it really was a one off and whilst we did our best under the circumstances we...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Visited on the 14th with friends who were visiting us. Wanted to go somewhere different than the usual places we visit. I had been here once before a few years ago now and it was very nice. Unfortunately we left rather disappointed this time. Once...More

Thank charlievarley84
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi there and thanks for your review. Unfortunately we had a really busy Sunday on 21st May with several members of staff absent through illness and holiday. Rest assured it really was a one off and whilst we did our best under the circumstances we...More

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

First time in ages since I been here And the food was really nice can't fault anything. Nice staff always helpful. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Thank Mikebuckly
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thanks so much for joining us and for such a lovely five star review. Faultless. We are thrilled with that! See you next time.

Reviewed 8 May 2017

The meal deal option here exceeds expectations. Tasty home cooked view, good service and great atmosphere with some lovely views.

Thank 532Heva532
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Hi there and thanks so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely food, homely atmosphere with very friendly and efficient staff. Will definitely be back. Great setting and has a fabulous beer garden at back too ... great for the kids !

Thank BoothyWestYorkshire
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for joining us and for the lovely feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Karahi lounge
76 reviews
.94 miles away
Forever Green Tearoom
36 reviews
.97 miles away
Troff
22 reviews
.98 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Greenhead Park
709 reviews
1.96 miles away
Beaumont Park
134 reviews
.85 miles away
Hinchliffe's Farm Shop
82 reviews
1.33 miles away
Colne Valley Museum
64 reviews
1.50 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
David A
24 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sophielouisetate | Reviewed this property |
Like the other person said.. Don't bother!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$23
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Blackmoorfoot Road | Crosland Hill, Huddersfield HD4 7AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Huddersfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1484 654478
Description
Sands House Pub and Restaurant. The very best of British pub classics and traditional Sunday Roasts all freshly cooked to order. Fantastic beer garden, 4 Yorkshire real ales, high quality wines and always a warm welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing