We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice


US$3 - US$31
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch ice cream burger brisket flatbread fries working farm lovely lunch lovely food take away my mum teresa hoof hide tub cone strawberry
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy to book and staff were friendly on entry as we arrived a bit early. Lovely food! I with my Mum for lunch and we had the flatbreads which were stunning. Took a while to get here, 45 minutes which is too long to wait...really. We weren’t sat in the best position with having to listen to the kitchen staff talking and workers behind the bar chatting. Manager wasn’t that friendly with us and service wasn’t very attentive. Nobody checked on us for how the food was. Big portions but still quite expensive. Probably wouldn’t return again, it’s a bit overrated.More

Date of visit: April 2022
LouiseHolmes, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to us on Tuesday. We take all feedback seriously and of course we are very disheartened to read this review over more than one platform. We have revisited the service you received on Tuesday and...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Yummy Yorkshire for the first time on Easter Sunday and were so impressed! Neither of us drive and no buses were available on Easter Sunday, but the staff at Yummy Yorkshire were really helpful and advised us about a local taxi service to...book for a journey to and from the local train station, which worked perfectly. We ate Sunday lunch (lamb) at the Hide and Hoof restaurant at Yummy Yorkshire - the nicest Sunday roast I have had for ages! We were seated in an outdoor booth, which was quiet, private and very roomy despite the fact that the restaurant was busy and popular. Desert was also really nice and beautifully presented. A craft fair was happening on the day and we bought local produce to take home as well as birthday gifts for family. The ice cream parlour is fab, with so many flavour choices. We bought a tub of white chocolate and cherry ice cream to take home! Overall a great experience, can't wait to visit again!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Reviewed 22 February 2022 via mobile

I don’t normally write reviews but felt compelled to because of the rude service I received today. I met my friend here today for light lunch and a drink. From the moment we sat down I felt rushed, like they wanted us out as quick...as possible. As soon as we had finished our food, the lady who served us told us we could now leave by the fire exit door as there was a long queue as the main doors. We said ‘oh do you need us to leave now?’ ‘Yes’ was the blunt response. When we did go to the main door there were only 3 people waiting and we noticed plenty of free tables on our way out. We had only been there just over an hour and felt our time had been cut short. Very disappointingMore

Date of visit: February 2022
LouiseHolmes, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2022

I’m really sorry to see that you have gone straight to tripadvisor before even giving me a chance to address your issues raised in your email the same day. From what I can understand you didn’t have a booking with us on the day of...More

Reviewed 14 February 2022

The food was great at Yummy Yorkshire today but the service we received from Josh the assistant manager was above and beyond! He made us feel welcome and was happy to answer all of our questions about the menu, his energy was great in such...a busy restaurant! Hats off to the team for a busy but relaxed Valentine’s Day experience Will be back again!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Reviewed 30 December 2021 via mobile

We did not stay for the food as we were seated in a supposedly heated outside area, but there was only one electric bar for a group of 6. There was a roof on the outside area but the rain reached the end of the...2 long bench seats. The area is open ended and as this is a working farm you definitely smell it. Not what we were expecting and I don’t think the prices are any different for eating outside and it’s expensive. Extremely disappointed.More

Date of visit: December 2021
LouiseHolmes, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2022

Its always very difficult to read a review thats pretty harsh. Please remember it is December! The outside heated booths are intended to take the edge off...I'm afraid even with an industrial heater in the winter months it's still going to be fresh! You would...More

Reviewed 6 December 2021 via mobile

Always a great time at Yummy Super food; great staff and good atmosphere Why we go back time and time again Special thanks to Theresa who always is smiling

Date of visit: December 2021
Reviewed 30 November 2021 via mobile

Love it here! Been for breakfast and lunch several times and also ice cream take away. Today I had a work meeting and Teresa was a superstar. Engaging with us just at the right moments, totally uplifting and positive person - set the meeting off...well and was set up with a doze of happiness for the rest of the day! (Always found the staff great at Yummy Yorkshire)More

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

Called in when passing. Fab quality breakfast. Good and friendly service. One waitress (Hollie??) really friendly and helpful. Will definitely go again

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 24 November 2021

I visited yummy yorkshire the other day with my kids after hearing good things. The woman at the door was friendly and accommodating, however the girls in the ice cream parlour not so much. Given the choice, my 4 year old daughter needed a minute...to choose her ice cream, but the girl at the till repeatedly asked what we wanted in a cold and unfriendly tone, obviously trying to rush us despite there being no one else to serve and us only taking a minute to look. When ordering and paying, there was no interaction and I wasn’t even sure she heard me because of the lack of acknowledgment. I was also made to wait at the till until the coffee and waffles were ready which took a good five minutes. I wouldn’t have minded but when seated upstairs I watched 2 other families have their waffles served to the table. Apart from that the ice cream was delicious.. just a shame the staff isn’t to the same standard.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 22 November 2021 via mobile

Visited 19/11 (Friday) with son and daughter on a rare day off school treat, no booking but lovely girl managed to squeeze us in pretty much straight away once the table was cleared. We have loved popping up over lockdown for takeaway ice cream and...the odd breakfast sandwich as a treat and are quite regular visitors. At kids request we came here for lunch and service and food in the RESTAURANT was amazing as always. Staff attentive but never over bearing , food drinks etc hot and tasty (well some drinks like my coke were cold as they should’ve been!) Now the only disappointment was the parlour service. The ice cream … when we finally got it despite being the only people in the “queue”… was as amazing as ever a lovely mint choc chip for myself with happy kids with chocolate and strawberry…. The service was unfortunately appalling. A girl with a mask around her chin ( I assume it may be staff choice now? However if you don’t want to wear it take it off completely … not around your chin like you can’t be bothered .. maybe a little petty on my behalf but gave a little bit of an unpresentable “scruffy” look when everyone else either had them on properly or not at all …) and a high brown pony tail. When we approached and I said to the effect of “hello sorry we might be a while with these two are deciding” (… looking at my kids…) we had no acknowledgement… more interested in drinking her bottle of pop. When my daughter then asked for her cone of chocolate ice cream there was no further acknowledgment just did the scooping and put it in the cone holder stand at the far end and said “anything else” rather abruptly and rudely as though we were wasting her time. We finally got our ice creams (after doing my mint in a tub not cone.. easy mistake I’m sure and easily rectified but if she’d have cared to listen it wouldn’t have been made at all) and when it came to payment I popped my card in the reader to do my pin etc. Whilst she tapped away on her smart watch. We then went and stood near the door whilst my children started their ice creams and I got my wallet etc sorted ready to head to the car when her colleague (tall girl, glasses) came around with some crockery while the ice cream server girl (high pony half on half off mask) began chattering and audibly swearing whilst the other girl clearly embarrassed tried to hush her. We promptly left after this as I know everyone swears here and there however I don’t find this suitable infront of my 2 young children in an ice cream parlour. I’ve never had a bad visit here and over the summer the ice cream service was always quick efficient and friendly. I have never had an encounter like this at yummy Yorkshire and although I will return as other staff were amazing I only felt it suitable to bring to the attention of yourselves that it seems clear that one of the members of staff doesn’t meet the same standards of your other staff. Ste.More

Date of visit: November 2021
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Bagden Hall Hotel
1,014 reviews
2.56 miles away
Old Bridge Inn
1,433 reviews
4.77 miles away
The Fairway, Barnsley
540 reviews
5.66 miles away
Midgley Lodge Hotel
51 reviews
6.03 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Fountain
38 reviews
.25 miles away
The Dunkirk
419 reviews
1.53 miles away
Ti Amo
363 reviews
2.42 miles away
The Coffee Mill and Cakes
20 reviews
2.60 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Penistone Paramount Cinema
164 reviews
2.78 miles away
Cannon Hall Museum
373 reviews
3.47 miles away
Langsett Reservoir
45 reviews
3.82 miles away
10 reviews
3.43 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Way too much compromise on options yesterday when we went. I appreciate things are subject to controls with the current pandemic but you have all the resources to offer a lot more than you are. I'm always disappointed that malted milk never seems to be available which is your greatest work. Over the years I'm generally disappointed with the flavour development. I know you aren't making gelato but just look at someone in Victoria Gate in Leeds and how true their flavours taste and look. Please fix your vanilla. It doesn't taste of vanilla. It's like a natural base. I want it to taste of vanilla - I want your signature texture but Notarianni Blackpool taste. You are the Queen of ice cream and clearly a great business mind but I wanted to express my feelings about my experiences over the years. I have eaten as much of your products as anyone else's. I hope you stoke it up a bit. Thank you.
17 August 2020|
Response from LouiseHolmes | Property representative |
I’m sorry you felt that there are too many compromises when you visited. I’m afraid it’s nothing to do with resources it’s to do with having to create a one way system in our building in order to keep our restaurant... More
Rebecca L
3 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Simmo246 | Reviewed this property |
I don’t believe dogs are allowed inside the restaurant but there are tables outside and also the little shed known as The Udder Room dogs are allowed in there.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yummy Yorkshire

Yes, Yummy Yorkshire offers takeaway services.

Yes, Yummy Yorkshire is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Yummy Yorkshire is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4