We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Tavernetta

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Leaside Court Clifton Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2ED, England
+44 1303 255044
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Sandgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a great first Christmas lunch with friends. Never fails to.please as we normally come here every year. Puddings fabulous as ever.

Helpful?
Thank J G S
Rodersdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our first wedding anniversary dinner at Le Tavernetta back in 1969 and have recently celebrated our 48th there. One of our favourite restaurants in Folkestone.

Helpful?
Thank CHINCH43
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal here and was so pleased with how excellent the service was...nothing was too much trouble. Will go back again soon

Helpful?
Thank Victoria I
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were six, well four to begin with. Not a very smiley welcome, shown to our table. Our camerero obviously ltalian, rather dubious to begin with. Our hoist had decided we ate off the alternative menu, what we had was tasty enough ''very good''- but our preference really should have been the main menu. The wine not spectacular besides requesting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Remarks4711
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I had a meal at La Tavernetta on a Monday night in early September. When we arrived, a waiter showed us to a table next to where a couple were sitting, despite most of the other tables being empty. We asked to sit somewhere else away from the couple (who quietly thanked us) and the waiter took... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue V
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were recommended to La Tavernetta by the owner of the B&B where we were staying. Our first impression was not positive: the restaurant is in a basement, and the staff were not very welcoming. However, it was all fine and the food was good. The chap who seemed to be in charge (he is Italian) soon found his smile... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pazzas
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went on a Friday evening,restaurant rather quiet.Staff attentive,food generally good,with a good choice of starters/mains and reasonably priced.Service efficient.£140 for four persons including wine.Canelloni excellent.Avoid house red wine.

Helpful?
Thank TravellerCleethorpes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Visited at 9:30 on a Saturday night. Very mediocre food with what tasted like frozen veg. Felt quite rushed. Odd to find an Italian restaurant not offering a pizza or risotto dish. Dessert was a very uninspiring raspberry roulade with about two raspberries in it. Not very good value. Would not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank DigsySE18
Thomas B, Owner at La Tavernetta, responded to this review

Read your review ..sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us ...we are not a pizzeria so therefore do not do pizzas!...we did 80 covers that night full a la carte and so surprised that you were the only customer to complain about vegetables which are definitely not frozen ... And the roulade is our best seller and... More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

Managed to book a table on a Friday night. Very friendly welcome, great table for two in the corner, nice view of restaurant, nice surroundings, chandeliers etc. Staff really attentive, very friendly great sense of humour, professional no fuss. even though the restaurant was busy the service was really good. Warm relaxed cozy atmosphere, customers enjoying themselves. Food was great!

Helpful?
Thank mike6ft6
Thomas B, Owner at La Tavernetta, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Kirstine and tommaso More 

Slough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

The meal was very nice, and good portion sizes. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very pleasant and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would return.

Helpful?
Thank CNewton_SL1
Thomas B, Owner at La Tavernetta, responded to this review

Thank you ..hope to see you again soon Kirstine and tommaso More 

Travellers who viewed La Tavernetta also viewed

 

Been to La Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Leaside Court Clifton Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Folkestone
  • Phone Number: +44 1303 255044

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Tavernetta and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question
Lydd, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from La Tavernetta staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?