We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon

Is this your business?
23 Rendezvous Street | Baptist Galleries, Folkestone CT20 1EY, England
+44 1303 251154
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good46%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“surf and turf” (4 reviews)
“curry” (9 reviews)
“poppadoms” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
23 Rendezvous Street | Baptist Galleries, Folkestone CT20 1EY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 70 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2017

Excellent lunch courtisy of the boss before work. As always by this chain, excellent steak meal washed down with a pint of coke (as working).

Thank markjw4119
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thankyou very much for your kind review, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Visited here today for a family lunch and yet again very unhappy with the food. Salad was very slimey and not washed properly and the rice was a big sticky mess on the plate. My husbands poppadoms were coveted in oil. Service was poor and...More

Thank bakergirl2692
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thankyou for your review, sorry to hear we did not get things right for you this time, I have passed your comments on to our team and hope to get things right for you next time!

Reviewed 31 March 2017

Went for a quick lunch and had to look for a table that was clean was a job first booth had rubbish and food on the floor and seats table the next one not much better had to wipe table myself. Order gammon and chips...More

Thank calgary59
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thankyou very much for your review, I have passed your comments on to our team and hope to get things right for you next time!

Reviewed 29 March 2017

What a find this is, you may knock it but for a tasty lunch and a drink you cannot beat it for value. The old building is something else too!

Thank SHORNCLIFFE_12
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thankyou very much for your kind review, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 26 March 2017

Dining here on a Saturday night is not ideal unless you don't mind a bustling busy pub and lots of noise. We managed to get the last free table but had to hunt around for chairs. Meals are large and reasonably consistent although the chips...More

Thank Jackey W
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thankyou very much for your review, sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this visit, I have passed your comments on to our team and hope that we can do better for you next time!

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

For regular wetherspoons customerd this nees to be seen. Set in an old church so the architecture is amazing. Even uses the crypt and has preserved memorial plaques on walls. Standard wetherspoons offerings in terms of drinks and food.

Thank Catherine F
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thankyou very much for your kind review, we too enjoy the building in which we work! Hope to see you again soon!

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

I have to say that the service left a lot to be desired. Its great that this place is very cheap, but waiting 2 hours for a simple burger is not on and on top of ot cold. Someone in the kitchen needs to be...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

I am sincerely sorry to hear about your poor visit with us this time, I have passed your comments on to our team and we will strive to do better for you next time, hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 March 2017

Visited for lunch with my wife daughter and young granddaughter. Had to carry the pushchair up at least 10 steps, the disabled access is hidden and in all honesty looks a bit of a joke, It looks like a external stair lift which has been...More

Thank Brian G
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Thankyou very much for your review, sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time, I have passed your comments on to our team and hope we can rectify these issues, hope you visit us again soon!

Reviewed 26 February 2017

visited for dinner the place is so grand with chandelliers etc beautiful building but both our meals were only warm we had a chicken tika masala nicely presented and beef burger again nicely presented It is a weatherspoons chain

Thank tanyatt
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Thankyou very much for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and myself went here for lunch. I had a delicious chicken breast burger and he had the managers special chicken korma. Both of us were extremely pleased with our meals and will be going back soon for another!

Thank bumsmacker
TheSamuelPeto, Manager at The Samuel Peto - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Thankyou very much for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your meals. Hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Folkestone
Grand Burstin Hotel
3,975 reviews
.22 miles away
Carlton Hotel
778 reviews
.37 miles away
The Southcliff
647 reviews
.40 miles away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
547 reviews
.49 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
El Cortador Tapas Bar
478 reviews
.09 miles away
Steep Street Coffee House
177 reviews
.08 miles away
Big Boys Fine Burger Co.
275 reviews
.08 miles away
Zen Kafe
164 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Church of St Mary and St Eanswythe
55 reviews
.11 miles away
Folkestone Museum
16 reviews
.04 miles away
Lilford Gallery
5 reviews
.07 miles away
Silver Screen Cinema
99 reviews
.04 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul E
20 March 2017|
Answer
Response from TheSamuelPeto | Property representative |
Hi Paul, if you could please give us a call on 01303251154 the manager would like to speak with you in more detail about your comments. Thank you for your feedback.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23 Rendezvous Street | Baptist Galleries, Folkestone CT20 1EY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Folkestone
  • Phone Number: +44 1303 251154
Description
Witherspoon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;