We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Re-Opening on 26th April, The Taybank has long been known for its great music and fantastic setting on the banks of the River Tay in one of Scotland's most beautiful villages. Come and spend an afternoon or evening with a local ale or a Scottish gin in our riverside beer garden. From spring 2021 you can also stay in one of our beautiful bedrooms, or our 2 bedroom self-catering apartment. Follow us on Instagram @thetaybank for latest news and offers
PRICE RANGE
£3 - £25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
FEATURES
Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront, Dog Friendly, Non-smoking restaurants
Reviews (413)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
224
89
37
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
224
89
37
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza mussels venison the river beer garden a real gem staff were very friendly warm welcome first class tay festival fiddle dog folk perthshire
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

What an absolutely fabulous experience. The food was just sublime, the staff were really friendly, and the overall atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed. I had the scallops starter, beautifully caramelised. My wife had a beetroot based starter which she loved. My cod main was...accurate cooking perfection, and my wife’s chickpea panise main was described by her as simply stunning! A perfect holiday evening meal that was one of those nights you wished wouldn’t end!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst the food is incredible; the management and running of the venue is completely awful. The manager is rude and obnoxious and this transcends to some of the staff who seem like they couldn’t care less about the customer experience. By the looks of it...I’m not the only one who thinks so after looking at some of the other reviews on here.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a find! This place is a gem and the staff and food were absolutely fabulous. Great end to a wonderful holiday. Thanks to the tean

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very poor experience unfortunately. This was a busy Bank Holiday Monday and there wasn't a manager in sight. The staff were slow, albeit friendly initially. We sat for a while and needed to ask for menus. Our order was then taken promptly and drinks...brought out. Then we experienced an extremely long wait for food. The four kids we had with us had to wait even longer. We came for a one course lunch and were there for nearly 3 hours. We had coffees at the end, which came out cold. We sent 2 back and the waitress rolled her eyes at us. When she came back with two more coffees, she then advised that they needed to set up for dinner service and that we needed to 'make a move'. This was ironic given how long we had waited for everything throughout our visit, and this was the only reason we were still there at that time! We then pointed this out and she blamed us for turning up late (5 minutes late) for our table. I then went to speak to a 'manager' who agreed that the service was not good enough and who then said that he would "go upstairs and see what I can do for you", never to be seen or heard from again. A very disappointing visit. Although good potential. The food was good, the waiting staff were nice, but there is no leadership whatsoever to keep things going.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been at the Taybank to celebrate my birthday with a group of 8 adults and 4 kids. The venue is beautiful but the service was very poor: no menus were distributed before we were asked for drinks order, food took more than 1h15...to arrive, kids orders arrived even later, food was ok but nothing special. We ordered coffees but some were cold when arrived, again after a long wait. Just when we were about to finish our coffee the waitress came asking to "make a move" as they needed to prepare the venue for the evening - which sounded ironic as the service was so late throughout the meal. It is understandable that things might be slow around holidays, but communication and customer care was very poor. Frankly not the best way to celebrate and we will not be back.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an absolute delight!!! We booked here for Easter Sunday lunch, as it was advertised as dog friendly. Having had a drink in the beer garden yesterday, we were ever hopeful re the offering, given the selection of food that they did outside. The restaurant...lunch menu was small and to begin with, we both thought that it wasn't what we were looking for.... Little did we know!!! We ordered the pig head cubes and the terrine for starters, to share. They were truly outstanding!!! The sauce gribiche with the cubes, was something that neither of us had tasted before. Oh my god, it was a total name changer. Packed with so many layers of flavour and left you wishing you could have had a whole plate of those wee nuggets. The terrine was super moist and fille with pistachio and what we thing were prunes. OMG, so so delicious and the pickles and dressed salad took it to a different level. For mains, my husband has the roast beef and I had the pork. I'm not someone who would generally order a roast, but we both agreed that this was the best we have ever had. Overall, we agreed that essentially, these are chefs who absolutely know what they are doing!!! The staff were super friendly and attentive, but not over the top. The lovely lady with the long dark hair, brought them a bowl of water and some dog treats. Just when you thought this place couldn't get any better lol. Don't waste your time reading any other reviews for this place... Focus on this one. This place is awesome, inside and out and they deserve all the business they can get. We definitely hope to come back. Well done and don't change a thing!!!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2024

Small restaurant above the bar. Scottish seasonal and local produce cooked simply and deliciously. Good wine choice and lovely staff. Just lovely

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2024

Excellent lunch at the Taybank today. I always stop here when passing by Dunkeld as always super friendly service, a warm welcome and exceptional food and drink! Today we tasted their new menu for 2024- and treated ourselves to mussels with leeks and venison meatballs...with tomato and kale sauce and Parmesan- totally delicious! Love the decor , the roaring fire and the cool tunes of this place. Definitely the best place to eat in Dunkeld and a favourite place to eat in Scotland! Thank you again! Liz and MikeMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2024

Myself and my party of four other guests had attended the “Hogmanay Party ‘23”. The party was due to start at 7:30pm and last until 1am on New Years morning. It was safe to say that the event was popular due to the very large...crowd waiting to get in. However, myself and my party (along with others we spoke to and noticed) left early around 10pm due to several reasons- For £50 each (Coming to a total of £250) we felt it was false advertising as the photo on your website does not match the venue when you see it in person, online it showed this lovely tree and hill photo with the hotel, where as there are no hills in the backdrop, just a big orange house! Plus we were told on the website that the terrace would be open and with fire pits “FIRE PITS AND MULLED DRINKS ON THE TERRACE 🔥🍻” “It’s winter vibes outside with mulled drinks and plenty of roaring fire pits to coorie round” To which the terrace was shut off and there was only A singular fire pit right by the entrance door that everyone was trying to hurdle around but again not on the terrace as advertised. As much as the venue itself seemed nice…all we really saw was the halls and stairs due to the overspill of people, the event was far too overcrowded and felt more like a money making scheme. It was very disappointing and a let down I’m afraid and not worth the £250 we spend and had to leave early due to: nowhere to sit inside or anywhere cozy with fire pits (with a member of my party being pregnant), overcrowded, not being able to move let alone “Drinks and dancing at the bar” as also stated on the website or the see or join in the Ceilidh. We feel as a group we felt that we should be entitled to a refund as this was false advertisement and left us very disappointed for our Hogmanay night so I emailed and complained attaching images of their website. Two weeks after I emailed I received an email to say “Thank you very much for your email and I appreciate you have been waiting a while for a reply, we are currently closed to give our team a well earned rest after a busy festive period hence the slow response. I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our Hogmanay Party and this is the last thing we wish. We really appreciate your feed back and will take this on board for future events. Unfortunately we are not able to offer a refund on your tickets.” No acknowledgement of the false advertising or of any of my complaints.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

Came here with my friends for a long overdue catch up drink. The barmaid Alex was very knowledgeable in helping us choose the right wine. As it was quiet she kept us company at the bar with good conversation. Great hospitality and great atmosphere, will...be back.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Great little hotel. Very welcoming with good staff. Food smelled and looks delicious although we did not try. Decor beautiful for the festive time. Very Scandi. Will go back for sure for a night and dinner.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

We tried the Taybank for a drink before going to the Scottish deli for a booked meal. Really glad we did, log fire, great real ales and sheepskins on the seats. Fantastic place made even better when we were told to pop back later for...the live music (Thurday nights) So we did and wow it was brilliant. So good we've booked a stay next New year 2024 near by and will definitely be back. The music was amazing.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2023 via mobile

The Taybank is a very nice bar and is music oriented. There is a good selection of beers & cider and the food menu is also very good. There is a local music evening every Thursday and it is definitely worth attending this, but get...seats early as it is very busy. The toilets are very clean and the staff are very attentive. A nice place to go for a drinkMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

My husband and I had dinner here recently and it was fabulous. The food and cocktails were delicious and the atmosphere quite lovely. We had a table overlooking the river and the nightsky was magical. We also ordered dessert to go which was also quite...yummy. Our server was super funny and friendly and my husband so enjoyed chatting with her. Definitely two thumbs from these two Americans.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2023

Go for a beer and the view, not for the food. Although the pizzas looked delicious, we wouldn’t know. After almost an hour of everyone being served but us, we inquired about the status of our order. First, they couldn’t find it and asked to...see our receipts. We would have gladly shown them but THEY DON’T GIVE RECEIPTS! Then they found part of our order and realized they messed up. We were on a schedule, so the only thing we could do is ask for a refund, which they reluctantly gave us. TERRIBLE service!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Atholl Arms Hotel
322 reviews
.03 miles away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
797 reviews
.11 miles away
Dunkeld House Hotel
3,919 reviews
1.03 miles away
Kinloch House
467 reviews
6.80 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Perth Arms
341 reviews
.07 miles away
Chattan Tea Room
131 reviews
.59 miles away
The Scottish Deli
384 reviews
.07 miles away
Birnam Arts and Conference Centre
118 reviews
.54 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Paddle Surf Scotland
16 reviews
.66 miles away
Dunkeld Cathedral
645 reviews
.20 miles away
Birnam Inn
119 reviews
.47 miles away
Birnam Oak
58 reviews
.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
vicky b
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sandravickery | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
0
Votes
YFindlay
9 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from R0se1960 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, I think there is entertainment on most weekends. Certainly when we were there there was entertainment both nights we were in.
0
Votes
Gillian H
9 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from tathaltd | Property representative |
Yes, the Taybank is dog friendly
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE TAYBANK, Dunkeld - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Taybank

Yes, The Taybank is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Taybank is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4