We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Piercefield

££ - £££, British,
The Saddlery A466 St | Monmouthsire, Chepstow NP16 6EJ, Wales
+44 1291 622614
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good25%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (16 reviews)
“sunday roast” (13 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Saddlery A466 St | Monmouthsire, Chepstow NP16 6EJ, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 420 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We used to visit the Piercefield weekly when our children were young but rarely eat there now.Its a popular family pub with a nice decor and open fires.If you are visiting Chepstow racecourse,its a couple of minutes up the road.They have a lovely beer garden...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Bridget M
Piercefield G, Assistant Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Bridget, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this visit, and hope that the next time you visit there will be more vegetarian options available to your taste. Hope to see you soon,...More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Popped in on the way home From town for a pub lunch. Very good home made style food and friendly staff. Traditional style pub with comfy seats, nice warm fire in the winter and clean and tidy. No big tv’s and load music here. Will...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Steve B
Piercefield G, General Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Steve, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Your feedback will be fed back to our team. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards Louise

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second visit here and can be very busy on a Sunday. Staff always friendly and try there best to laugh at my dads jokes. We all had the same sharer platters a good choice. Good selection of puds but to full.Maybe next time.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Julierees19
Piercefield G, Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks Julie, for your lovely review. We're very glad you enjoyed your meals and look forwards to welcoming you and your family again in future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came for Sunday lunch with some friends. Able to be accommodated though hadn't booked. Made very clear to us that we had not booked and that we would be served after those that had done. Seemed a little strange. Waiting staff quite abrupt. Roast itself...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank dbaird19
Piercefield G, Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are very sorry you had a disappointing visit to us on Sunday. I will pass your comments on to the team, and to all involved. We always aim to make our customers feel very welcome, so we apologise that you felt you were treated...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited today as a family of six for a long deserved catch up. Our server Adam was very quiet but gave good service. Really tasty starters, Hot and plentiful roasts, especially the Turkey with my favourite pigs in blanket. Loved my crumble and the fruit...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank shar0nrees
Piercefield G, Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your great review, we are so glad you enjoyed the service and the food! Your feedback is much appreciated and we look forwards to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Family birthday meal. Sunday lunch, booked in advance. We waited around 30 mins for starters to be delivered. Most people said the starters were nice. Table was booked for 1.30. Our main meals arrived around 2.50. Pros. Varied kids menu. Good location. Nice play park....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank trinemachine
Piercefield G, Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Our sincere apologies for the matters raised in your review. We always aim to present great service and food, so take it very seriously that you didn't enjoy your visit. Your feedback is very important to us and will be passed on to the staff,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Call in lunchtime and had main meals, which were okay,the burgers are quite small if homemade but quite tasty, the other meals were okay taste but not large portion size relative to cost but equally tasty. Service was good and the beer a well kept...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Glenwood2541
Piercefield G, Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, and are equally sorry that you weren't happy enough to want to return. We do pride ourselves on the quality of our food and drinks, so it was great to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well, came back to the area to visit family, and what a surprise to see that the service and atmosphere has improved. The last time we visited we were looked after really well despite a young 'lady' who seemed to want to do not a...More

Date of visit: January 2019
3  Thank BigCandy
Piercefield G, Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Bigcandy for your fantastic review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere of the team, food and timely service. I am so sorry that on your last visit you notice a team member on a phone. This against our house rules. See...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came in for lunch today with an old girlfriend and was horrified by the way one of the staff members Spoke to the waitress. Very very unprofessional and made us feel uncomfortable, we can’t fault the food or the girl who served us but we...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Ruthiecoook
Piercefield G, Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ruth, Thank you for your feedback regards your food and service. Please can you contact me privately regards the team incident on 01291 622614 Kind regards Louise

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped for lunch here on a Saturday afternoon with our dog, and I'm so glad we did. The bar manager was charming and welcoming and let us know they were short staffed and food might be a bit of a wait. We ordered club...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank orlaith_palmer
Piercefield G, General Manager at The Piercefield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review regards your visit to us. All your positive feedback will be passed onto Colin and the team. look forward to your visit again with your dog.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
327 reviews
1.78 miles away
The First Hurdle Guest House
152 reviews
1.80 miles away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
409 reviews
2.83 miles away
Parva Farmhouse
32 reviews
2.85 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Shangri-La Restaurant
298 reviews
1.78 miles away
Sitar Balti
265 reviews
1.78 miles away
The Riverside Wine Bar
631 reviews
1.73 miles away
Panevino Restaurant
167 reviews
1.68 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Chepstow Castle
990 reviews
1.70 miles away
Tintern Abbey
1,433 reviews
2.43 miles away
The Old Station Tintern
286 reviews
2.91 miles away
Chepstow Museum
129 reviews
1.70 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ed b
16 March 2017|
Answer
Response from bestcornishcat | Reviewed this property |
Sorry. I'm not the owner. Why not give them a call?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Saddlery A466 St | Monmouthsire, Chepstow NP16 6EJ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Chepstow
  • Phone Number: +44 1291 622614
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing