We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Globe At Hay

Newport Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5BG, Wales
+44 1497 821762
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (3 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (2 reviews)
“burger” (5 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Newport Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5BG, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called and booked a table for two for the Friday evening fish and chips special. One of us had the standard £6 special and I had the £10.50 larger version. It did not seem that much larger and I would have been happy with...More

Thank NicCJ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ordered one starter on a Saturday afternoon which took 40 minutes to arrive. It was not busy at all. A real shame as when served the staff were polite and on a sunny day lovely to sit in the garden. It would be good to...More

Thank elizabethjT5130CT
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Went for an evening meal here with friends. There is a small eating area which is nicely presented and from where you can see the own kitchen. It was a reduced menu as the chef was on holiday. We had the vegetarian burger which was...More

Thank 0118withkids
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Really hate giving average reviews but felt let down on this visit. Menu and service used to be brilliant. Maybe we were just unlucky to visit the same weekend as a wedding but come on - it was bank holiday weekend and they were turning...More

Thank Jez C
Georgia A, Public Relations Manager at The Globe At Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for your comments regarding Friday and your feedback concerning Sunday's brunch. We apologise for your experience on Sunday, we have taken your comments on board and will be certainly be giving our staff extra training. We hope you will be back soon to...More

Reviewed 14 April 2018

Tried Friday night fish and chips. Totally misadvertised. Chips were not handcut and tartare sauce definitely not homemade. Batter was nice but tiny piece of average fish. So disappointing.More

Thank pip84
Georgia A, Public Relations Manager at The Globe At Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi there, thanks for the feedback. Had you asked for the £10.50 fish and chips offer, as opposed to the £6 deal, it would include a huge, weighty 10oz fish. I can assure you the chips are handcut, and the tartare sauce definitely is homemade!...More

Reviewed 11 April 2018

I loved this place.. we arrived in the middle of the Bookstagram festival so on our first night we decided to visit an author event at The Globe to hear Major Chris Hunter talk about his books and his experiences. Really interesting event, loved the...More

Thank Lisarti
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

This fascinating venu now has a restaurant downstairs. Very tastefully decorated, comfortable and warm with a wonderful atmosphere. The chef is French and the menu is almost home cooked French Cuisine like you get in small family run restaurants in France. Superb. Our first visit...More

2  Thank Brian W
Georgia A, Public Relations Manager at The Globe At Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you very much! We will pass your compliments on to the chef and we warmly welcome you back!

Reviewed 28 November 2017

The restaurant area which was new to us is more contemporary but it is an old building and the area above the restaurant where we attended a great evening called Desert Island Picks involving a local resident being interviewed using the radio 4 format. The...More

1  Thank Penwyllt
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Went with friends for Sunday brunch. Lovely, sweet staff. Chef very accommodating. Had eggs Benedict. Wow, that hollandaise! It was smooth and silky and the eggs poached to sheer perfection. Stylish food, good prices, light and airy restaurant downstairs. Best way to spend Sunday morning...More

1  Thank Cariad_bird
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Were do I start,well this is my second review of this venue,so lets start with the staff headed by Alex to a tee all went out of their way to help My Son and His new Wife have a great day together with Huw the...More

1  Thank NIK S
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hay-on-Wye Hotels
The Swan at Hay
532 reviews
.33 miles away
Rhydspence Inn
167 reviews
3.35 miles away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
196 reviews
4.60 miles away
Llangoed Hall
704 reviews
7.00 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
St John's Place
179 reviews
.12 miles away
Tomatitos Tapas Bar
684 reviews
.12 miles away
Berries Restaurant and Coffeeshop
45 reviews
.61 miles away
Richard Booth s Bookshop Cafe
426 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Warren
67 reviews
.56 miles away
Hay On Wye Thursday Market Day
59 reviews
.27 miles away
Hay Castle
53 reviews
.23 miles away
Brook Street Pottery & Gallery
18 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Globe At Hay staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$39
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
19:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 21:00
Saturday
19:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newport Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5BG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Powys  >  Hay-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1497 821762
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing