We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (267)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
99
76
46
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
99
76
46
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones rock cakes stuffing coleslaw soup edwardian tea room all day breakfast nice lunch hot drinks cabinet porcelain cranberry bap
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 9 March 2024

My wife and I have been using Hargreaves for many years. Always loved it. Great shop and café. Today, big disappointment for us. My wife had the cheese and mushroom toastie; no problems here. I had the medium breakfast. Oh dear! Luke warm food with...pre-cooked mushrooms (more like crisps), pre-cooked bacon cooked to death and sausage cold and barely edible. My small cappuccino very good except that it was only luke-warm. No excuses for this. Polite complaint? Yes. Young member of staff; waste of time, Saturday boy? Probably. Not his fault. Owner far too busy playing with his puppy dog. Yes, seriously. Come on Hargreaves, you can do so much better. You used too! Now where do we eat in Buxton?More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

Popped in for late lunch around 2pm. Tables were full of dirty plates etc nobody really clearing them although people waiting to be seated. Chairs screwed to the floor,strange. I thought the prices were high compared to the quality of food. Although food tasted ok...it...wasn't brilliant either. Shame. I lefty phone on the table and when I returned the table was still full of dirty plates and my phone still there no staff had noticed,nor questioned it when I went and picked it back up off the table. Saw a member of staff speak abruptly to a young server who was busy making drinks because she didn't have her apron on, It may be uniform but there's a time and place too.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024

A cold windy day ,, we called in the cafe for a light meal .. Soup and cheese scone. The soup was just aired and the scone ice cold . I returned them to the counter . Lady said " I will sort it "...1/4 hour later we left No soup or scone returned heated up , so simply will not use this place again. It used to be our favourite eating place when visiting Buxton.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023

We found this upstairs cafe within the shop whilst wandering the shops of Buxton and stopped for a drink and lunch. A warm welcome and a very varied menu with something to suit all palates. We had the soup and the pigs in blankets sandwich....Both came very promptly and tasted delicious. My only slight niggle was that both the soup and the coffee was way too hot and I had to wait a fair while to be able to put either in my mouth. Apart from that we enjoyed the experience.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2023 via mobile

Nice place to have a cup of tea and a cake ! Atmosphere was relaxing compared to some of the high street coffee shops. We had the Victoria sandwich.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

I don’t write very many reviews and I like to also praise (as it seems to be more negative comments are more frequent to be written), but in this case unfortunately I offer honest feedback that was not good (at all). A while ago we...went in to Hargreaves of Buxton, I realised it had a cafe upstairs (it was raining and nearest place to go), myself and my partner were hungry so decided to purchase sandwiches and cake. Well….I’m not going to go on about the service which was lack lustre and very “caf” like but that’s exactly what it was unfortunately. Never the less our food looked nice so we tucked in. But unfortunately again the bread was “not stale” but very dry/rough and both the cake and sandwiches left us looking for flavour. We took the food in a napkin with us so we wouldn’t offend but we then went to a nice new cafe down the town and had some delicious food. All in all I wouldn’t recommend this caf on what we experienced. I’m also shocked that I just read a review on Google and the rude response of the owner. So I was dubious to write this but never the less the truth is the truth.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023

I ordered a salad bowl with hummus and sun dried tomatoes. The menu said it was ' a bed of mixed leaves, fresh coleslaw, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, rice salad with peas and sweetcorn'. What I received was a portion of just iceberg lettuce (NO mixed...leaves) cucumber (a huge amount) and a bit of sliced onion (not on the description), and just one and a half cherry tomatoes plus the hummus and sun dried tomatoes NO rice salad with peas NO sweetcorn. Fine if you were a rabbit. I won't be back.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023

My original review on Google was met with such spite from the owner - including insulting me for no reason - I'm sure the cakes and tea are nice which they're seemingly heralded for but the sandwiches are poor - as per the negative reviews...- I left my personal review as below and was met with spite, petty insults and defensiveness from the author replying to me. Appalling. ----- Paid £9.50 for a sandwich I can make at home 🤔 comes with a handful of crisps, supermarket slaw and a bit of greenery. It was nice and I ate it, just felt like it was double the price it should be. Also it's a bit tired looking in here and you can't move the seats or table if you're sat on the mirrored wall side. Staff were nice. Service is slow. I left disappointed 😞More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023

Ordered 2 meals both £7.50 each. Eggs on toast - 2 rounds of toast, 1 egg and some Lettuce. Scramble egg and smoke salmon on toast-three small pieces of salmon on the same rubbish bread and lettuce. Quality was poor. Not value for money and...not typical of area. Poor customer service when complaining. Will not be going back.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2023

Afternoon tea at Hargreaves is lovely. All the sandwiches, scones and cakes are freshly homemade and delicious. The personal service is excellent and I would thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Coles-Evans, Owner at Hargreaves Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Thank you for your glowing recommendation. We are very happy you enjoyed your vist and hope to welcome you again!

Reviewed 17 June 2023

amazing food, fabulous staff who are always so friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend the homemade cakes and scones. Must visit place for a special event or a coffee and catch up with friends

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Coles-Evans, Owner at Hargreaves Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Thank you for your glowing recommendation. We are very happy you enjoyed your vist and hope to welcome you again,

Reviewed 16 June 2023

The cafe is brilliant and very welcoming. The service is second to none. And the food is extremely good with an excellent choice

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Coles-Evans, Owner at Hargreaves Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Thank you for your glowing recommendation. We are very happy you enjoyed your vist and hope to welcome you again,

Reviewed 16 June 2023 via mobile

My wife and I visit the cafe on a regular basis. We have never failed to be impressed with the service and whatever food we have ordered has always been well presented. All the staff are welcoming and very professional.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Coles-Evans, Owner at Hargreaves Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Thank you for your glowing recommendation. We are very happy you enjoyed your vist and hope to welcome you again,

Reviewed 16 June 2023

Ok so I don't have to explain, it seems Hargreaves Cafe is a long-standing enterprise in Buxton and one that has had some major changes in recent years and I can only say they're massive improvements on what was already a fantastic operation. The staff...were really friendly and welcoming, ( I have an allergy and they were super helpful putting my mind at ease) The smell of freshly ground coffee, from a local Roastery I hear is delicious as is the coffee itself. The counter style service was prompt and courteous and the food. freshly prepared was fairly quick coming even though it was quite busy when we visited. I ordered a filled Derbyshire oatcake, and my friend had the Brie Bacon and Cranberry hot bap both which had little sides of coleslaw and salady bits, which was a nice touch. The music wasn't to my taste, but it was perfectly suitable for a cafe style ambience, being a light background jazz. The staff I spoke with were all helpful and gave advise on the town and where else to visit and I felt overall very happy with my visit. If you want cheap and cheerful you might spend less money in Greggs for example, but you won't have the same experience- a table besides us ordered Afternoon Tea and these looked magnificent! So much food! Having read some of the other reviews I can only assume some people have overly high expectations or bring a bad mood wherever they go and upset people for kicks. Nothing I saw or experienced would suggest my visit was unusual or out of the ordinary! take a look in the cabinets, there's a load of local history and family background in the cases worth a look if you're anything interested in that sort of thing. We'll be coming back just for the Rock cakes alone! delicious!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Coles-Evans, Owner at Hargreaves Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Thank you for your glowing recommendation. We are very happy you enjoyed your vist and hope to welcome you again,

Reviewed 12 June 2023

I visited your cafe with my wife and Grandson Rather than spitting venom and attacking customers who leave poor reviews, perhaps invest time addressing the issues raised on TripAdvisor, which are clearly causing customer dissatisfaction. It was a busy, warm Summers day when we visited....Your cafe was pretty empty when we arrived, with the exception of maybe 2 other tables of customers) After leaving your cafe, we discovered other eateries were packed out with long wait times - it became clear why yours was so quiet after reading other reviews on here. Our Grandson is 3 years old. He slipped off his chair which caused him to bang his head and cry. There was no "Tantrum". I am pretty sure most people with children will have encountered a few tears on occasion. Perhaps others reading this will now realise your response to a few tears from a toddler means your cafe isn't a particularly child friendly venue. As it stands, you just seem to attack any poor reviews which only further serves to cement no repeat business, certainly not from us, our friends or family. Tripadvisor is where customers can leave an "honest" review of their experience of a business. I would suggest perhaps you take heed of the issues people are raising, such as poor service, poor quality food and expensive prices before you fall victim to being another hospitality business closing down. Now is not the time to rest on your laurels given the current situation within hospitality.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Coles-Evans, Owner at Hargreaves Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2023

Thank you for your opinion. We always welcome constructive feedback. Whilst we always offer high chairs to our young customers for more secure seating, we are sorry that you didn’t ask during your visit. Having spoken to the five staff members on duty who remember...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Buxton Crescent
547 reviews
.09 miles away
The Old Hall Hotel
2,165 reviews
.12 miles away
Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa
4,962 reviews
.18 miles away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1,721 reviews
.39 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Herb Garden Vegetarian bistro
245 reviews
.04 miles away
Baileys Bar & Restaurant Buxton
144 reviews
.09 miles away
The Chakra Lounge
277 reviews
.08 miles away
Cafe at The Green Pavilion
639 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Buxton Opera House
1,198 reviews
.18 miles away
The Devonshire Dome
365 reviews
.12 miles away
Buxton Museum and Art Gallery
319 reviews
.12 miles away
St Ann's Well
288 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Wh1lam1na
23 August 2021|
Answer
Response from hargreavescafe | Property representative |
Hello, Yes of course you may. Call is on 01298 23083 to make your reservation. Thank you.
0
Votes
julieak2020
21 May 2021|
Answer
Response from hargreavescafe | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately our cafe is on the first floor and we do not have lift access. We do however have tables and chairs outside; and will always arrange table service for customers who cannot access our first floor. We will... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HARGREAVES CAFE, Buxton - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hargreaves Cafe

Yes, Hargreaves Cafe is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Hargreaves Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3