Footprints Cafe Bistro

Footprints Cafe Bistro

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1233 668308+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 - 15:00
Mon
9:00 - 16:00
Tue
9:00 - 16:00
Wed
9:00 - 16:00
Thu
9:00 - 16:00
Fri
9:00 - 16:00
Sat
9:00 - 16:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£6.00 – £12.00
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant allow dogs or considered pet friendly?
About
Footprints Cafe Bistro is built on the ethos of good food, with good ingredients, good company, and a great location to enjoy it in. Everything we sell is scratch made using local ingredients, prepared on the premises by dedicated staff, and designed to just make you feel good! We offer a full breakfast menu, as well as a lunch menu that includes jacket potatoes, salads, sandwiches, and other hot options. We don't believe in mass produced, deep fried or poor quality produce, and go the extra mile to ensure everything is as it should be. The Bistro is part of the Singleton Environment Centre, and is operated by the Singleton Spaces Charity Trust.
PRICE RANGE
£6.00 – £12.00
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Playgrounds, Dog Friendly, Family style, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles401 reviews
Excellent
336
Very good
40
Average
14
Poor
3
Terrible
8
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Louwid
Ashford357 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 friends
Lovely breakfast. Lovely walks for the kids. Went here for breakfast on a Saturday morning. What a treat it was. Breakfast was cooked fresh, none of this kept warm stuff. The sausage are extremely good, definitely not your bog standard ones, full of flavour and meaty. Eggs perfectly cook and the mushrooms and bacon were fantastic too. Their coffee is also extremely good sod much so I had 2 large lattes 😊 The staff are very attentive and polite. Their hand hygiene is spot on. Hands washed after each customer is served and after they attended tables. Lovely atmosphere, plenty of room. Toys for the kids Well done guys. We’ll be back.
Written 15 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jaidria
Maidstone23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 none
We were a family group (3 generations) including grandchild who is gluten free, which we made clear when booking. They made sure there was a portion of broccoli and cauliflower without cheese sauce and gluten free gravy; and were happy to discuss with her which puddings were suitable. Portions are generous and I think this is the best value for money, quality Sunday Lunch we've found. We've also eaten here for weekday lunches and enjoyed good food and service then too! ALL the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Written 28 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom A
Many thanks indeed for your kind words! I’m glad the team and the food met your expectations and I will make sure your comments are fed back to the team. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Written 5 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tortoiseshellcat1
Kent52 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
Delicious and great range of vegan options :), even non-vegans enjoyed their foods as we consisted of meat-eaters, gluten-free people, two vegetarians trying Veganuary and a vegan. I had a lovely vegan cheese and tomato toastie. Only disappointment was no vegan cakes 😮. This would add to the options and enable people trying Veganuary to have more options as well.
Written 3 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jennimag
United Kingdom26 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 none
Footprints is bright and airy - too airy but that’s probably due to Covid. You have to order at a counter reminiscent of a self service canteen, which would be ok if the welcome was warmer. We were told to sit at a small table against a wall in the middle of two open doors but the one thing Footprints has going for it is the large windows and some nice views. I asked if we could sit at a window table and was grudging told by the tall man taking our order that we could. This was at around 11.00 am and only one other table inside was occupied! The coffee wasn’t great and we had a long wait for our bacon rolls, but when they came out - served by a lovely blonde lady - they were tasty! Unfortunately we had finished our small cup of coffee by then and were reluctant to order more. To add to the lack of atmosphere during our visit, there was a tinny radio blaring out hideous pop songs which was sat atop a freezer and pointing towards us; I found this so unnecessary as it prevented us from hearing each other without saying “pardon”, “sorry, what was that”? In addition a man was strimming the grass opposite us through the wide open doors, which I know has to be done but I would have preferred to hear birds singing. The place isn’t cheap but the food, cakes etc looked good and they are very big on using local, organic produce where possible, so that’s a plus. I wouldn’t return however as I prefer to go somewhere more comfortable.
Written 22 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

James W
Ashford216 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 none
I live round the corner from here but have never actually been for lunch so my 5 year old and I went for a meal on a bank holiday Monday. I had the salad with a burger, and it was tasty, fresh and surprisingly filling and my son had a pizza from the kids menu which was actually made on site and met his seal of approval (which is not always easy to get as he's an incredibly fussy eater!!!). The cakes for desert were also good, and it was very pleasant to be sat outside in enjoying the nice garden they have there. Will definitely return!
Written 4 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom A
Hi James, Thank you very much for your kind words! We are always pleased to see people that live so close but have never visited us before discover all that the Centre and the cafe has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Written 6 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ania G
Peterhead154 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 friends
we were really disappointed with the service received here today, especially since we had read the reviews and were looking forward to a great day out. There were benches where you could sit outside and a sign that said it was available until 12.45 as it had been reserved which means you can sit there until the time is up, when we went to sit there the large scruffy waiter in black t shirt told us we could not sit there as it was reserved, even though it was clear we could sit there as it was only 11.00am and he was very abrupt and rude about it, further.more when he was wiping ( I use the word lightly) the tables, instead of gathering the crumbs he dropped them on the floor and did not even bother to sweep up! So much for being hygenic in this climate, need less to say we shall not be going back, it doesn't cost a lot to be polite to customers
Written 25 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom A
Dear Ania, I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service upon your last visit. I wish you had asked for me at the time as I'm sure I could have resolved the matter for you and made your experience an overall pleasant one. This is certainly not what we are known for so I'm sorry I couldn't have rectified it for you. Kindest Regards, John Alexander Centre Manager
Written 7 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

EmilyDavidandBinks
London60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Fantastic food, friendly staff and under current conditions they’ve made great efforts to make things as safe as possible for everyone. I would encourage anyone who hasn’t tried their Sunday roast to go and do so. Ashford needs more places like this, it really is a fantastic enterprise.
Written 23 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tortoiseshellcat1
Kent52 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 family
Visited Footprints a few days ago with my parents. As my last review was two years ago, thought I should write an update. When you go in at the counter there is a vegan menu! As well as a mini table blackboard. It is great to see a cafe putting effort into being inclusive of all dietary requirements and providing so many options for vegans and others too! The jacket potato with vegan cheese and beans is delicious! It is two jackets and salad (so if you have a smaller appetite like me you could just ask for one jacket) but perfect size for my parents. :D The falafel burger and wedges is a favourite of my dad's! We also love the vegan banana cake (which is usually available) and it is a perfect finish to a meal)! Well done footprints, keep up the great vegan options! :)
Written 5 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elizabeth
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 friends
Very difficult to pay deposit for Sunday lunch .They don't take payments on the phone .Bank transfer does not verify. So had to go in with cash. I went in person to pay cash . I was asking the lady I had spoken to on the phone. Why they can't take card on the phone. And why the bank transfer from my bank will not verify. I phoned the bank and they said you take the risk if you pay unverified. The manager just gatecrashed the conversation and said "I am the general manager and I implemented the deposit rule. It will not change ! He said I am happy to sit down and discuss this with you. I replied I was not asking for it to change but ...... he did not let me finish he just walked away and went and sat at a table with a customer. SHOCKING CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Written 27 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom A
Unfortunately, the above is not entirely accurate. Having spoken to the team, and our centre manager in particular who is one of our greatest assets, and probably the least rude person I have ever met (a sentiment shared by our customers), it seems that the customer was unhappy at having to use our deposit system. This was implemented for large bookings where there is a larger financial risk to what is both a small business, and a charity, if we were ever to have a no-show or similar. Our centre manager eventually had to step in after the member of staff (Nicola) who was on the till at the time was effectively being berated continually. John offered to assist with the process, but was rebuffed. He then stepped away as it was clear there was no way forward. A shame as I know John would have bent over backwards to make things work if he had been permitted. We value our team greatly, and I am just sorry that this had to happen to both Nicola or John.
Written 6 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claire
Ashford195 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Full English Breakfast for two this morning, beautifully cooked and served in a COVID safe way. Recommend for anyone who is fearing going out to eat. It’s safe and clean and the food standard as good as it ever was.
Written 1 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TomA566
Hey Claire, thanks very much indeed for leaving us such a glowing review! We're very pleased that we managed to reach the standards you expected, especially at the moment with Covid going on. We look forward to seeingy you again soon!
Written 3 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ricky C
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Went here for the Sunday car very on the recommendation of a friend. Wasn't disappointed. Lovely fresh locally sourced ingredients. , well cooked. Good friendly service. Desserts to die for.. all quite reasonably priced. Will definitely return.
Written 15 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Russell1
Bethersden103 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 friends
I came here for lunch with a couple of friends as a 50th birthday celebration. The staff were so helpful and kind and really made our lunch enjoyable. The food was also delicious , would definitely recommend, thank you for looking after us so well xxx
Written 6 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ian W
Kent65 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 none
Really fantastic food prepared to order on set. Great Table service & great value. No wonder the Sunday roast needs booking in advance. You are lucky I am writing this as I may just have made the place so busy I can't get in.
Written 16 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

hliz2015
Ashford20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 friends
Christmas lunch at the Environment Centre today - excellent ! Fresh, homemade, delicious, copious, very friendly welcome as usual and reasonably priced … what more can I say ?! Thank you very much and well done !
Written 11 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

kentishlass1
Skiathos13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 friends
Had a lovely lunch had a Plough man's lunch which was very nice and filling every thing is cooked to order so is nice and fresh. Definitely worth coming here.
Written 21 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 400
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Dog House Micropub and Vinyl Bar
££ - £££ · Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
KOYLA
££ - £££ · Asian, Fusion, Nepalese
Amici Restaurant
££ - £££ · Italian, Mediterranean, European, Healthy
Stubbs
££ - £££ · International, British
Rose and Crown
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Trattoria Romana
££ - £££ · Italian
Cinnamon Spice
££ - £££ · Indian
Beefeater The Woolpack
££ - £££ · Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
The Riverside Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
The Swan Inn, Little Chart
££ - £££ · Bar, Cafe, British, Pub
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

FOOTPRINTS CAFE BISTRO, Ashford - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Ashford HotelsAshford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ashford
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire