We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thomas A Becket

££ - £££, British,
146 Rectory Road, Worthing BN14 7PJ, England
+44 1903 266643
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good30%
  • Average19%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (9 reviews)
“liver” (5 reviews)
“potatoes” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
146 Rectory Road, Worthing BN14 7PJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

As a West Worthing based vegetarian who loves decent veggie pub food, I want to like the TaB so badly, as it has a good atmosphere and is a beautiful building, but I've now eaten there 4 times and unfortunately been slightly underwhelmed each time....More

Thank Kate P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is a pub above the rest. Service fantastic, food wonderful and selection of drinks brilliant. It's our local but when we took relatives for anniversary meal they just out classed the local competition. Not your average chain pub. Try it you will be...More

Thank FFFFFamily
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We had a nice meal here with a good choice of food. It was quick and staff were pleasant. It wasn't anything amazing but if you looking for a good meal then definately worth it. I noticed alot of drinkers who walked through the restaurant....More

Thank Rosie L
thomasabecket, Assistant Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hello Rosie, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed our food and the service you received. Whilst we try to cater to all, I understand sometimes the behaviours of one customer can sometimes...More

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Had a super brunch there. Best fried bread in the world. Lovely friendly and efficient service. Pristine loos!More

Thank babyboomcruiser
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear babyboomcruiser, thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us, I remember the loo conversation!! My daughter is the same, always goes to the loo, clean loo, clean back of house is her motto! Glad that you all enjoyed it and...More

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We booked a table to have lunch with friends for the first time at this restaurant. Although the food was OK we were disappointed at the price of the food compared to other places we visit. The atmosphere was lacking having only another couple there...More

Thank Alan H
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Dear Alan H, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us. We do always try and offer value for money, but with the produce that we use being fresher than some places it is always difficult in these changing times...More

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

We came here for a late Sunday lunch this weekend, and it was one of the very few places serving food until 6pm. I had a delicious nut roast, and my partner enjoyed the meze platter. The beer garden was pleasant enough, and the staff...More

Thank Holmez84
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Visited here for Sunday lunch and was not disappointed. Good food, value for money and quick service. A dog friendly place which is a nice touch.More

Thank Abs G
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Abs G, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us. It is so important that all our customers, the four legged variety as well are well taken care of. So glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and we...More

Reviewed 5 March 2017

We had booked sunday lunch for this pub reserved online. We had a roast each and it was beautifully good. The pub itself is really nice, comfortable, clean and well decorated. All the staff were really friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome. We...More

Thank Feistytiger
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Feistytiger, Thank you for your lovely review, I always wonder if we should start with dessert and miss out starters, our desserts are all homemade and so tasty that often I walk past with some and people will change their minds. It is so...More

Reviewed 19 February 2017

Booked a table for five at short notice and were accommodated, but when we arrived there seemed to be a bit of confusion over the booking and we had a lengthy wait for the table to be cleared. Drinks seemed to take for ever to...More

Thank KatyK9
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear KatyK9, Thank you for your valued feedback and I am truly sorry that your experience was not of the standard that we are proud to deliver. I would hope that a check back was done of your meals, at which point we would have...More

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Good food, good wine and nice range of real ale. Friendly atmosphere. Nice to see a choice of several vegetarian options on the menu. Good service with friendly staff. Food was lovely and service was excellent despite being very busy.More

Thank Soozie-scuba
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hi Soozie-scuba, Thank you for your lovely comments, we really love our pub so like to make sure that we keep it and the team well cared for. It really shows when we receive comments such as yours. Thank you again for sharing and we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rincon de Pepe
130 reviews
.71 miles away
Parsonage Bar & Restaurant
137 reviews
.37 miles away
The John Selden
22 reviews
.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Worthing Museum and Art Gallery
180 reviews
1.41 miles away
Connaught Theatre
117 reviews
1.48 miles away
High Salvington Windmill
59 reviews
1.48 miles away
Assembly Hall Complex
36 reviews
1.33 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ollie4409
15 September 2017|
Answer
Response from thomasabecket | Property representative |
Hi Ollie, Children are welcome until 9pm We look forward to seeing you soon!
0
Votes
_jillwood7
16 September 2016|
Answer
Response from thomasabecket | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we do, we have the snug. Please call the pub to discuss requirements further on 01903 266643. Many thanks Annette
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$34
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 146 Rectory Road, Worthing BN14 7PJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Worthing
  • Phone Number: +44 1903 266643
  • E-mail
Description
The Thomas A Becket is a sophisticated but relaxed dining pub, offering home-cooked meals and fine pub fare from fresh local ingredients sourced daily - including local meat, baked goods and real ale.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing