We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swallows Return

££ - £££, British,
Littlehampton Road | Goring By Sea, Worthing BN12 6PB, England
+44 1903 506346
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good28%
  • Average19%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (15 reviews)
“converted barn” (29 reviews)
“sunday lunch” (33 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Littlehampton Road | Goring By Sea, Worthing BN12 6PB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had to search out somewhere to eat after our hotel lost its chef (that’s another story), was recommended the Swallows Return. Had to climb over the gate as it’s locked from the dual carriageway. Ordered some beers, fine; food order we were told was...More

Thank Matthew G
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We really liked this pub restaurant. It's a bit different and feels special. Waitresses were lovely - really helpful and friendly. Just a shame our 'medium' steaks were overdone Despite this - we'd still go back.

Thank Brenda F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Used to come here quite often, but unfortunately the last couple of times has let them down, food took an hour to arrive, and staff seemed uninterested! Not a single apology. Was just left waiting. Gave this restaurant a chance but will not be returning....More

Thank Jasmine C
General Manager A, Manager at The Swallows Return, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Jasmine C, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very pleasant Venue Lovely friendly staff Hot fresh food, don't mind paying a bit more if the food is good.

Thank Pauldjspoons
General Manager A, Manager at The Swallows Return, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Pauldjspoons, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for dinner and arrived to find a team not really ready for customers and a location looking very dirty and shabby. No tap beers as they had a fault in their system. 4 or 5 things not available from the menu, one thing limited...More

Thank Sue W
General Manager A, Manager at The Swallows Return, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Sue W, it's upsetting to hear that you did not have a good experience with us

A TripAdvisor Member
2211
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service was good and the food reasonably priced. Lovely converted barn style pub. Not much seating if waiting tho so book in advance

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Swallows Return, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have used the Swallows Return for several years now as it is local to us but sadly over the last six months there has been a downhill slide in the place. Opting for a drink on a nice Sunday evening we went to the...More

3  Thank Brandos57
General Manager A, Manager at The Swallows Return, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Brando, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. we had just had a chistening that day which is why the confetti was on the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked table for 1pm took sometime for meals to arrive we had the two courses for £11.95 ham egg and chips burger with chips onion rings and for pudding apple pie with custard which was really lovely.

Thank Karen L
General Manager A, Manager at The Swallows Return, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Karen L, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Swallow's Return!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After I had a disastrous birthday meal last year at another pub my daughter and I often drive past the swallows return and thought it looked nice so I decided to book here for my birthday meal. I didn’t read reviews before I went because...More

2  Thank Suzanne W
General Manager A, Manager at The Swallows Return, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Suzanne W, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on a Bank holiday. Shortage of staff at the Bar told no soda, lemonade and gin by a rude member of staff. Told that the delivery truck had not arrived on the Friday. Then visited the toilets to find not one cubicle had any...More

2  Thank deniseedgar
General Manager A, Manager at The Swallows Return, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Deniseedgar, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Worthing
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
383 reviews
.38 miles away
Premier Inn Littlehampton Hotel
308 reviews
1.80 miles away
Angmering Manor
375 reviews
1.99 miles away
Burlington Hotel
352 reviews
2.55 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurante Andalucia
350 reviews
.71 miles away
Kingsley Coffee Shop
41 reviews
.74 miles away
Asda Cafe
33 reviews
.58 miles away
Tides Restaurant
144 reviews
.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
English Martyrs Catholic Church
243 reviews
.59 miles away
Ferring Country Centre
29 reviews
.83 miles away
Highdown Gardens
596 reviews
.30 miles away
Highdown Vineyard
48 reviews
.87 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amanda M
12 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Validreview | Reviewed this property |
would suggest this establishment is a bit hit and miss.
0
Votes
Michele L
17 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Daryl R | Property representative |
Hi Michele L, Sorry that I haven't answered you sooner, I feel terrible that I didn't realise you had asked a question! We are indeed dog friendly, we even welcome our four legged friends with fresh water bowls and biscuits... More
0
Votes
cazzab64
10 November 2015|
Answer
Response from WattsK | Property representative |
Hi - Yes when you arrive please ask for the gluten free options and menus
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Littlehampton Road | Goring By Sea, Worthing BN12 6PB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Worthing
  • Phone Number: +44 1903 506346
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Swallows Return offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing