We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Claregate

34 Codsall Road, Wolverhampton WV6 9ED, England
+44 1902 754761
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good22%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (14 reviews)
“onion rings” (5 reviews)
“fish chips” (2 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
34 Codsall Road, Wolverhampton WV6 9ED, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looks like this pub could be good BUT. They need more staff. Waited 25 mins for a beer!! Crazy! There was 3 staff and about 50 people waiting. Then got served eventually. No lager glasses!! “I have a few Guineas glasses”? Disappointed! The pub is...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank inky_man_11
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Its disappointing to here that you were unhappy with your recent visit. Unfortunately on that night we had multiple staff member unable to attend their shifts, which meant we were unable to get clean larger glasses out quick enough. I do hope you'll come back...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is ideal if you have children as it's informal and friendly with a number of things to keep kids entertained including drawing equipment at the table. The pub interior is very big with a number of alcoves and rooms. The food is cheap...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank EconomynotBusiness
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, it would be great to know what we could do to get 5 stars.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival our table wasn't quite ready even considering am I had reserved a table and i was hoping for a table by the childrens area but my grandchildren couldn't even use the childrens area, and that was themain reason i chose the claregate, i...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank karenmQ1370BG
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I do apologise that you weren't entirely happy with your recent visit. Unfortunately with the pub being so small we do have to corner off certain parts of the pub to cater for larger parties. I do hope you will visit again and we can...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Claregate Monday Evening and there are many reasons why I experienced disappointing customer service whilst visiting The Claregate for what was supposed to be a satisfactory meal. The first reason is due to the fact that upon arrival there were hardly any...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank sue j
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your recent visit. The points that you have brought up have all been addressed and we appreciate your feedback, I do hope you will visit again and we can earn 5 stars.

Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Had a work event in town and stopped here for Lunch, was skeptical before ordering as menu was sticky and dirty, cutlery on the table was dirty and had dried on food on, the table itself hadnt been wiped down from last people and was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Steve A
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, I do apologise that you've had such a poor experience, these are not the level of standards and service I would expect from my team. I do hope you will try us again and we can prove we are worth 5 stars.

Reviewed 10 December 2018 via mobile

A party of us decided to have a meal here. I have not been here for years so was pleasantly surprised to see the refurbishment. We had a table reserved which unfortunately was by the side door. We could definately feel a breeze whenever this...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ch3ryl_t
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, Thank for your feedback, we'll take this away and use to improve. Hopefully next time we can get 5 stars.

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Incredible food Had a bad experience with a few other pubs as the Sunday roasts were dry and frozen. We weren’t expecting much but we’re pleasantly surprised. There was a mound of food, it was hot and not frozen. Very reasonable prices. Very impressed and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Yonkink
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback its greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

What a great place for some fab, reasonably priced food and excellent service. Tonight we are off to see Dave Gorman in Wolves and fancied popping out for a bite to eat. The place was packed down to the Wolves game being shown on the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Pam B
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback its greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

Arrived at 2.30 , took 30 minutes for soup to arrive after an hour still no sign of main meal got up and left. If you want better reviews get your act together. Haven't even mentioned the fact that we were overcharged and that my...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jimm12345
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

I do apologise about your recent visit, we strive to give excellent service at all times but on this occasion we have failed to do so. I do hope you will visit again and we can give you the experience worthy of a 5 star...More

Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

Trying to book a table would be great if someone answered the phone! At 14:15, 9 calls made, 2 messages left and still no response absolutely disgraceful no wonder it almost closed down last time !

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank LisaT2933
tomcox1993, Manager at Claregate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

I'm really sorry about your recent experience unfortunately we have been having issues with our phone which also includes our voicemail. I do hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Wolverhampton
Holiday Inn Wolverhampton - Racecourse
116 reviews
.79 miles away
York Hotel
158 reviews
.82 miles away
The Queen Victoria Hotel
34 reviews
1.13 miles away
Connaught Hotel
13 reviews
1.41 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Hail To The Ale Micropub
121 reviews
.14 miles away
Gluttons For Nourishment
506 reviews
.65 miles away
Goodwin's Restaurant & Bar
410 reviews
.60 miles away
The Summer House
104 reviews
.83 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Banks's Park Brewery
176 reviews
1.70 miles away
Thai Body & Soul
6 reviews
1.76 miles away
Bantock House Museum
353 reviews
1.84 miles away
West Park, Wolverhampton
299 reviews
1.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Claregate staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 Codsall Road, Wolverhampton WV6 9ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Wolverhampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1902 754761
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing