The Great Gurkhas

The Great Gurkhas

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1932 848480+ Add website
Hours
Sun
17:30 - 22:00
Mon
17:30 - 23:00
Tue
17:30 - 23:00
Wed
17:30 - 23:00
Thu
17:30 - 23:00
Fri
17:30 - 23:00
Sat
17:30 - 23:00
Improve this listing
Is this a Nepali restaurant?
About
If you are anywhere near Weybridge by car or train, this gem of a restaurant must be visited. There is a good range of authentic Nepalese cuisine to satisfy all palates, and (a major plus point) what must be the best and widest vegetarian choices for many miles around - I'm lucky enough to live nearby! Their phone number is 01932 848480 / 848435
CUISINES
Nepalese
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles385 reviews
Excellent
261
Very good
78
Average
19
Poor
13
Terrible
14
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

TL266
London10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 couples
Just tried Great Gurkhas for the first time and was thoroughly impressed with the food and service. Placed a delivery through the online order system and food arrived quite ridiculously punctually to my chosen time, less than ten seconds off the minute in fact... nice one! Food itself was very nice. Best momo dumplings I've had in a long time and other food was high quality with very good portion sizes whilst not being greasy. Prices were absolutey fine for takeaway in this area and with the free 5 mile delivery and portion sizes, fall squarely into what I would regard as good value. Easy 5 star review, would order again and plan to soon.
Written 26 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Fiona D
West Byfleet4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2020 none
We thought we’d try The Great Gurkhas for my Birthday on Saturday, during the lockdown. Despite being extremely busy at 8:30pm, not surprisingly, the wait for collection was only 40 minutes. The staff at the restaurant were really pleasant and the food was ready as soon as I arrived. All of the dishes were excellent and I can particularly recommend the duck & king prawn. Thoroughly recommend and look forward to our next experience.
Written 20 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tina T
Weybridge30 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
Haven't been here in a while and keen to support local independent restaurants plus they have extended their eat out to help out discount through October on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Good hygiene/covid measures in place. Staff were lovely, very friendly and the service was great. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant with tables/seating well spaced. The food was excellent. I had the traditional Nepalese set meal, beautifully presented and with excellent flavours. Would highly recommend this restaurant.
Written 9 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

alison s
30 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 family
Our family group visited the Great Gurkhas for the first time in a couple of years this evening. We were effectively giving the restaurant ‘another chance’ after a so-so experience a couple of years ago. Sadly we won’t be repeating that after tonight’s meal. The poppadoms to start weren’t all entirely fresh (clearly prepared in advance) and the portions of pickles were half full. When the main courses came the dishes of chicken makhani and lamb pho contained what were literally shreds of chicken and a few chunks of lamb. They were mainly all sauce. The naans were cut into portions and put onto a little platter to disguise the fact that they were tiny - not the normal size of naan we would expect to get. Even the mixed vegetable portion was very salty and small costing the best part of £5. The two waitresses appeared to be struggling to cope with the number of diners and so bits of our order had to be chased and didn’t make an appearance until some time after the mains were delivered. No one came near us after that to check that all was satisfactory with our meals and while the prices were okay, I had the impression the staff were providing the bare minimum in terms of both the food and the service. If you are looking for good Indian food there are far better restaurants in the area with infinitely better service.
Written 23 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sameer G
Dear E9769UXalisons, Thank you for leaving the feedback. Sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. Regarding the main course you must have tried Chicken Makhani in which the Chicken pieces are shredded. All the dishes have been served the same since we opened in 2003. And really sorry about the service on the night. Our manager was off sick and both the waitresses were new. We apologise in not being able to provide you with the best service on the day. Please email us info@thegreatgurkhas.co.uk and we will take it from there. Do visit us again and we will definitely provide you a better service with dishes done as per your choice. Thank you. Kind Regards, The Great Gurkhas
Written 27 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JB E
London291 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
We went for dinner, meeting friends yesterday evening. It had been a long time since we were there, due to covid and family issues. So we were hoping for a good evening, and we are so glad we chose The Great Gurkas. The food was super and our servers could not have been more helpful Hasta and Ambika came often to check on us and make sure that we knew about the dishes before we ordered them. My husband loves steamed dumplings and the "Momo" starters were delicious. We also had 2 different prawn starters, both excellent. We stayed a very long time ( "closing the place")- as we had not seen our friends in ages. Hasta and Ambika were very amiable, and were friendly - not making us feel like we were staying too long. That and the fact that they were so attentive made me give the five stars, alone. We have been here before. . and are so glad that it is still here, after so many restaurants have struggled. Thank You for the lovely evening.
Written 26 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sameer G
Dear JB, Thank you for five star review and kind words. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your evening with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again at The Great Gurkhas. Thank you. The Great Gurkhas
Written 28 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Heather R
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 family
We had a birthday party for 35 people at our house - instead of cooking, Great Gurkhas provided us food at a set price per head. It was absolutely delicious, everyone loved it. They provided loads of food, reasonably priced and was delivered hot ready to serve! Really impressed :)
Written 2 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sameer Grg
Dear Hearobinson, Thank you for the feedback. We are thrilled to have been a part of your special celebration and delighted that you and your guests enjoyed our Nepalese and Indian cuisine. Your positive feedback means a lot to us, and it motivates our team to continue providing excellent catering services. We appreciate your trust in us to make your event a success. Once again, thank you for choosing The Great Gurkhas. We look forward to serving you again in the future for any upcoming celebrations or gatherings. Kind Regards, The Great Gurkhas
Written 3 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lord Butleigh of Somerset.
Addlestone47 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 couples
My trip to the With my other half for a lovely great value tasty Nepal meal as we both have traveled the world and enjoy a great or fantastic meal. But now I will eat my words as I purchased a portion of Chargrill Jhinga. What I received for £14.50 in The Gurkhas, Church Street, Weybridge was not even up to the price. I admit is was cooked well but definitely not worth the price of £14.50 per portion as you only get 4 king prawns. Make sure you don’t order this as I know.
Written 1 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sameer G
Thank you for your kind feedback. We have definitely noted your concern regarding the price for King Prawns but there is nothing more we can do for now as it is already expensive when we buy it. And additional operational expenses makes it as one of the most expensive dish in our menu. However it is always good to know that you have enjoyed the dish. Please be in touch with the management once and we will try our best to do from our side. Kind Regards, The Great Gurkhas
Written 18 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kbs
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 none
I made a special visit to this restaurant in the afternoon to order a take away for it to be delivered in the evening. They forgot the nan bread which I ordered. The aubergine was not cooked properly and bits of it were raw. The prawn curry was bland and over tomatoed. Worst napalese food I have ever eaten. Momo's were doughy and too thick.
Written 25 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sameer G
Thank you for you kind feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear the experience you had. By default all our dishes are cooked mild to medium which could be the case you felt it bland. We always recommend our customers to pre inform the level of spice you would like to have. The veg dishes are never cooked well done but this can be modified as per your preference. There is a definite mistake from our side while taking the order as we missed to ask your preferences. Apologies for the missed Naan bread too. We will make sure in future that these things are not missed and we excel your expectations. We are still very proud of our cuisine and are very much committed to continue the same. Looking forward to change your disappointment to a gladness.
Written 24 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

debbie s
6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 none
With the curry house in Ottershaw closing, I have been trying to find a new restaurant to order my takeaway from and last night I tried The Great Gurkhas. Firstly everything looked lovely and fresh and it was hot when it arrived, the popadums were crispy but the 2 starters with had which was onion bargee and vegetable samosa were absolutely delicious fresh and homemade. Unfortunately the main meal didn’t live up to the starters the rice and nan bread were fine but the curry we order which was chicken tikka and chicken korma were watery weak and runny with no flavour or taste, with six small pieces of diced up chicken breast, very disappointed.
Written 16 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

veszu
United Kingdom42 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 none
I've visited the restaurant before, and tried the take away recently. Set menu for 4 is highly recommended if you would like to try different flavors and share with friends. My kingdom for a Great Gurkhas Chicken Tikka!:)
Written 21 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sarahp468
164 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2020 couples
We had intended to visit the restaurant properly but then lockdown happened. Takeaway is ready on time and the food is very tasty. They’re amazing in terms of allergy catering, and a good amount of food too. Now that they’re open again will definitely be visiting for dinner soon.
Written 11 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

AnnaBerri81
Addlestone2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 solo
As always the Momo’s are delicious served with the two choices of home- made sipping sauces/chutney. The sauces they supply with the dishes and popadums are why I adore Great Gurkas! I always ask for a serving of fresh chopped corriander on the side as it’s so delicious to sprinkle over your meal before tucking in. Thank you Chefs for your consistently fresh and delicious cuisine
Written 7 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Curiosity793376
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 family
This is by far our favourite restaurant in Weybridge as a family. The service is outstanding, the staff are so welcoming and friendly, and always make jokes with the children, we always have fun. They are happy to make less spicy food to suit the children if required. On Sunday they have an amazing all you can eat buffet at a great price, and during the week they have the full range of delicious indian cuisine, including salads all at very reasonable prices too. They have a simple yet awesome selection of drinks too, including draft beer, and even sell Whispering Angel and champagne if you fancy treating yourself.
Written 12 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sameer Grg
Dear Curiosity793376, Thank you for leaving a five star review. Your kind words and recommendation is highly appreciated. Feedbacks as such motivates our team in providing with better service. We look forward to welcoming you again in near future at The Great Gurkhas. Kind Regards, The Great Gurkhas
Written 13 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fids30
28 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 family
Great food - poor restaurant experience. We visited for the Sunday set menu - which is excellent value and good to experience a range of their cuisine. However, after visiting for several years the restaurant needs an overhaul. Whilst it was good to see tablecloths have returned - the restaurant is stuffy and airless and we particularly found the very visible mould growing all around the main window edges very off putting and unpleasant. Think we will be sticking to their takeaways….
Written 3 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sameer G
Dear Fidss30, Thank you for your feedback. Great to know that you have liked our cuisine as always and enjoyed our Sunday Buffet. However, we are truly sorry to hear about the issue you experienced with the window mould. We take cleanliness and hygiene very seriously, and we want to assure you that we have taken immediate action to rectify the situation. Please rest assured that your feedback has been taken into consideration and we will continue to make improvements to ensure that our restaurant remains a clean and welcoming environment for all our guests. Once again, thank you for choosing our restaurant and for sharing your feedback with us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Kind Regards, The Great Gurkhas
Written 12 April 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KimmiWeybridge
23 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 couples
We ordered a takeaway from The Great Gurkhas. It use to be our takeaway of choice pre-Covid and was always delightful. Unfortunately the one we order last night was not. The coconut naan bread was so stodgy, the content (a slab of congealed, desiccated coconut) fell out of it. You could tell it was not a freshly cooked, homemade naan. The basmati rice use to be sprinkled with peanuts, spring onions etc. Not any more. And the main courses were just meat in a sauce with hard diced peppers and onions. None of the delicacy that the main courses use to have. Such a disappointment. The only thing we can say is that we will not order from The Great Gurkhas again. We ate some of it because we had nothing to eat - but the majority went into the bin. Plus the mint yoghurt (for the poppadoms) didn't really taste of mint!
Written 1 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thamu Gurung
Dear Kimmi, We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with our takeaway service and that the food items, you received were not to your satisfaction. As a valued customer, we take your feedback seriously and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. We pride ourselves on using high-quality ingredients and preparing our food with care, so I am disappointed to hear that some of our dishes did not meet our usual standards. I would like to assure you that we will investigate this matter further and take the necessary steps to ensure that it does not happen again in the future. In the meantime, we would like to request you to please give us a ring or email at info@thegreatgurkhas.co.uk with your details. Our management team will be in touch with you and do our best to make you happy. Together we can make the Gurkhas Great as always. Once again, I apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience caused, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to make it right in the future. Best regards, The Great Gurkhas
Written 2 May 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 382
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Lebanese Please
££ - £££ · Lebanese
Valentina
££ - £££ · Italian, Mediterranean, European, Deli
Osso Buco
££ - £££ · Italian
Thann Thai
££ - £££ · Thai
The Queen's Head
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Grill, Pub
Cantina 41
££ - £££ · Pizza
The Waverley Inn
££ - £££ · British, Grill, Dining bars
The Minnow
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Contemporary, Gastropub
The Oatlands Chaser
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE GREAT GURKHAS, Weybridge - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

All Weybridge HotelsWeybridge Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Weybridge
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire