We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lamb Piltdown

) #13 of 46 Restaurants in Uckfield ££ - £££ , British,
Goldbridge Road | Goldbridge Road, Uckfield TN22 3XL, England
+44 1825 724688
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good25%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (82 reviews)
“sunday lunch” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Goldbridge Road | Goldbridge Road, Uckfield TN22 3XL, England
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited The Lamb regularly over the past 2 years and have always been extremely happy with our experience. We have dined with a group of 10, alone, and with our young children, and have always been extremely pleased. The service is attentive, the...More

Thank JoanneEmerson
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here with family after having been for Sunday lunch. Over £300 for 3 fillet steaks, 2 rib eye steaks and a fish dish with 2 bottles of red wine, a bottle of white, a round of drinks and desserts. A glass of Pinot Grigio...More

1  Thank Admiester1980
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Having passed this venue numerous times, we decided it would be an excellent meeting place with friends from Isfield. We arrived, at opening time to have a relaxed coffee before they arrived at 12.30. We were coldly told we'd have to sit in the bar...More

1  Thank Christine C
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had an impromptu dinner at the Lamb Piltdown having visited about 2 years ago, but this was awful. Firstly we waited for 15 minutes before the waitress took our order and had to goto reception to find someone as we were...More

1  Thank Sensara99
Simon3xl, Manager at The Lamb Piltdown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Firstly, thank-you for your feedback, it's always appreciated. You visited us on a very busy evening, you certainly did not wait 15 minutes for attention but we appreciate it may not have been instant. It's not uncommon to go to the bar (reception) to get...More

Reviewed 7 April 2017

Went for an evening meal with friends and were very happy. The food was well prepared and presented and tasted great. Excellent real ales and good house wine. Definitely would recommend.

Thank andysuescott
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Mothers Day Lunch for eleven people. The service was very good. However the food was expensive and poor. Most people had the Sunday Roast which did not in any way resemble the photos shown in the online menu, which shows thick slices of perfectly cooked...More

1  Thank David J
Simon3xl, Manager at The Lamb Piltdown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we will take it on board as we always do. We do slice our roasts thinly at the request of most of our customers, we're sorry this was not to your liking. Also, our roast potatoes are made fresh in...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here, the staff were very friendly, with an open fire and comfy sofas to relax in. Lunch was ok, a little expensive at £14:50 for Sunday lunch, but nice enough. Desert menu was poor so missed out on dessert, plenty of parking...More

Thank steves_been
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Very friendly staff and great food. If you've not tried it before the local dish Sussex Smokie is worth a try. Dog friendly too as long as your dog is friendly! Big garden and it's great in the summer as the sun goes down. Nice...More

Thank Paul W
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Only taken me 9 months to write this review! We had such a fantastic Wedding day here last July. Nothing was too much trouble for Simon and his team. All the planning and the actual day was stress free. The food was excellent, as was...More

Thank Amanda W
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Another good evening. Food and service were at their usual very high standards!! Some other pubs in the area should take note of how to run a kitchen...

Thank Jon T
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown at Newick
75 reviews
1.42 miles away
The Chequers Hotel Maresfield
146 reviews
2.02 miles away
The Griffin Inn
347 reviews
1.08 miles away
Royal Oak Newick
77 reviews
1.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Alpaca Walking - with Spring Farm Alpacas
92 reviews
1.88 miles away
Bluebell Railway
1,014 reviews
2.39 miles away
The Lavender Line
60 reviews
2.59 miles away
Ashdown Forest
138 reviews
2.87 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Flyingpig121
Are dogs allowed outside?
28 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Simon3xl | Property representative |
Yes dogs are allowed outside as well as inside in the bar area.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Goldbridge Road | Goldbridge Road, Uckfield TN22 3XL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Uckfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1825 724688
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing