We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal

Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
+44 1989 565105
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good37%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (6 reviews)
“salmon” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Great night food great Simon and Paul great always have a good time every time we visit the royal thank you

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank rachelpreece2018
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Rachel We are so glad that your party chooses to visit us regularly. I will ensure the boys are thanked for looking after you so well. Come again soon! Sally & Matthew

Reviewed 1 week ago

Book a table if you do not want to be dissapointed. The food is cooked fresh. I've had mostly everything off the menu. My fave is garlic prawns and the lamb. Very tasty. I also love pate and the steak with a sauce. Yum.More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Solotraveller1478
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest I totally agree with your favourites! Our Lamb dishes are so flavoursome and so hearty, whilst our chilli garlic prawns are a real treat as a starter. Really pleased that you enjoy visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again soon....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The 2nd time we have stayed at this lovely hotel. Very busy time, between Christmas and New Year, but had beautiful steaks, prosecco special offer on Friday, and very pleasant bedrooms. Once again a highly recommended break with this group of hotels. Welcoming, good service,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank janetp656
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Janet Really happy that you enjoyed your return visit to The Royal. Our Fizz Friday 9.99 per bottle of Prosecco certainly is a great opportunity to celebrate, especially at this time of year. Best wishes for 2019 and a happy New Year! Sally &...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely fantastic stay at this lovely Hotel my husband and I love the Royal, fantastic Room ,fantastic food and wonderful lovely staff . Not our first visit to the Royal! But our first Christmas Eve/day staying there they made it very special with all the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank lesleyl389
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lesley We loved having you stay with us! So pleased that you enjoyed Christmas amongst us and looking forward to seeing in the New Year with you both. All our best wishes for 2019! Sally, Matthew & team Royal.

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Four of us ate here for a Christmas meal. The food was excellent and as we had pre ordered. The atmosphere was lovely with plenty of people in the restaurant but not too noisy. The christmas decorations were lovely too. Would recommend and return especially...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank sharri91
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest Thank you so do much for this lovely review. It is lovely to know that the teams efforts are so appreciated, from Mom completing all the Christmas decorations, to the kitchen guys producing great food and the front of house team looking after...More

Reviewed 21 November 2018

we had thursday spceils 2 rump steaks meduim rare just right for use theiy had lovelly log fire sat next to window lovelly views of lake and surrounding see for miles staff are friendly toMore

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Heather B
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Dear Heather Thank you for this lovely review! We are lucky to have such a good team both front of house and in the kitchen. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your steaks. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Matthew &...More

Reviewed 3 November 2018

Stayed here for the last ten years or so on our annual horse racing trip with my friends. And nothing has changed much with the exception of the outside being renovated a couple of years ago. That does not make it a bad hotel, in...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank chrislarkin44
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Dear Guest We are glad to know that you love staying with us here at the Royal. Our major refurbishment was 5 years ago in April when the inside of the hotel underwent major cosmetic changes. Our external patio was extended 2 years ago in...More

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Went here for lunch. A board was out stating a 30min wait for food, it was quite busy. We decided to order anyway as we were not in a rush, didn’t have to wait that long in the end so it’s only a guide. Plenty...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank craigbelper
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Dear Craig Thank you for this lovely review. We do experience delays with food delivery at busy times but really glad that you received your meals in good time and that you enjoyed all the dishes ordered. Hope to see you all again very soon....More

Reviewed 24 October 2018

We ordered food last friday and waited over 45minutes. In the end had money refunded. The girl taking order did not get it right even after asking which fish dish, the offer of the day. Shant be returning here.More

Thank ted87
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear Guest We apologise that we did not reach our usual high standards of food delivery on this occasion. We had just started a new menu with new offers and it has taken a little getting used to. Our Fridays do get very busy and...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Breakfast two days was lovely, good choice the one evening meal very tasty, service Friendly and caring

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank moley70
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Guest Thank you for this lovely review. Really happy that you enjoyed your meals with us and that the team looked after you so well. Hope to welcome you again very soon. Sally & Matthew

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
The Royal Hotel
1,331 reviews
.01 miles away
The King's Head Hotel
495 reviews
.08 miles away
The Chase Hotel
580 reviews
.33 miles away
Chasedale Hotel
17 reviews
.44 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
No 3 Restaurant
611 reviews
.15 miles away
Avellino Italian restaurant
382 reviews
.10 miles away
Pots and Pieces
433 reviews
.11 miles away
Leonard's at 39
129 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary The Virgin Church
41 reviews
.08 miles away
Wilton Castle
49 reviews
.54 miles away
The Thomas Blake Memorial Gardens
16 reviews
.10 miles away
The Royal Arms
11 reviews
.01 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrea P
14 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Old_English_Inns99 | Property representative |
Hi Andrea, We certainly do. We have highchairs available on a first come first served basis as well as a children's menu for dining. For families looking to stay with us, we have a family room as well as some rooms with... More
0
Votes
Denise E
16 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Old_English_Inns99 | Property representative |
Hi Denise, We serve residents breakfast between 8:00am and 10:00am on weekend mornings and bank holidays.
0
Votes
Charmaine H
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MAPADLY | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, unsure
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 565105
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing