We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mail Rooms

Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
+44 1989 760920
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good41%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (11 reviews)
“steak” (13 reviews)
“curry” (5 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 00:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Fast food, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ordered some double burgers for adults and cheese pasta for the kids. Excellent food, could not find a fault with any of it. Good portion sizes too. We did not have much interaction with the staff but they were very polite when taking our...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank MustafaBigun
MailRooms, Shift leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi MustafaBigun, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review ! I'm so glad to hear that your experience at The Mail Rooms was such a positive one. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

Popped in yesterday for a quick drink whilst out shopping in Ross on Wye. Was served by a girl I believe to be called Sophie. What can I say Sophie you are the rudest most arrogant person I think I have ever come across! Manners...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank V1199FW
MailRooms, Shift leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 10 December 2018

We were quite attracted to this pub as it looks different and classy, however once you are inside it is like anywhere else.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank BrushM
MailRooms, Shift leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Brush M , Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Your feedback will be passed on to the team.

Reviewed 18 November 2018

had lovely meals theirme and my partner had all day brunch with blackpudding it worth its money and hot if you by coffee you get free refill thats before 12oclock

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Heather B
MailRooms, Shift leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Heather B, Thank you for your feedback ! Glad to hear you enjoyed the all day brunch. Hope to see you again soon .

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Drive thru burger looked like slop never again onion rings weren’t cooked no pickles and the service staff just didn’t want to be there

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank welshd2017
MailRooms R, Shift Leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Welsh D, Thank you for your review ! Sorry to hear your experience with us at The Mail Rooms was such a negative one. Your feedback will be pasted on to the team and improvements will be made.

Reviewed 6 October 2018

The Mail Rooms is a drab pub with an outdated interior although there is a lot of natural light. Drinks are cheap but that is probably the only selling point. Only come here if price is very important too you.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JXXXR
MailRooms R, Shift Leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for you review. Your feedback feedback in crucial in identifying areas in which improvements need to be made. We hope you visit again soon.

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were staying in the area for a couple of days. After a 3 hour drive we stopped here. Our breakfast was really nice as was the unlimited tea. I find the Witherspoon breakfast to be excellent value and fairly standard across...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Homeboy_hols
MailRooms R, Shift Leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Homeboy_hols, Thank you so much for such a positive review. So glad to see that your visit at The Mail Rooms was an enjoyable one! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 21 September 2018

There is absolutely no atmosphere in this place at all. In fact it doesn't really feel like a pub but a large room full of people eating fish and chips. One of the worst Wetherspoons I've ever visited.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Heflin666
MailRooms R, Shift Leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Heflin666, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, your feedback in crucial in identifying areas where improvements can be made. Sorry your visit to The Mail Rooms wasn't enjoyable. Maybe fish and chips isn't your thing however Tuesday is our...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018

Very average. Not very clean and absolutely no atmosphere so left and went elsewhere. Outside area very unappealing

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Somerset65
MailRooms R, Shift Leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hi Tonimit, Thank you for your feedback, sorry to here that you experience with us at The Mail Rooms wasn't an enjoyable one. Your feedback will be pasted on to the team and improvements will be made.

Reviewed 27 August 2018

Generally you know what you are going to get at Wetherspoon's and The Mail Rooms is no different in terms of menu. It is however a very well run pub/eating house with very well kept ales. It is a nice airy space and the staff...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank David P
MailRooms R, Shift Leader at The Mail Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi David P, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! So nice to hear such a positive review. We'll make sure to keep up the good work! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
The King's Head Hotel
495 reviews
.13 miles away
The Chase Hotel
580 reviews
.13 miles away
The Royal Hotel
1,331 reviews
.20 miles away
Chasedale Hotel
17 reviews
.43 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
No 3 Restaurant
611 reviews
.06 miles away
Pots and Pieces
433 reviews
.11 miles away
Leonard's at 39
129 reviews
.09 miles away
Caffe Eleganza
257 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary The Virgin Church
41 reviews
.14 miles away
Wilton Castle
49 reviews
.74 miles away
The Thomas Blake Memorial Gardens
16 reviews
.30 miles away
Suzy'C
7 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Mail Rooms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 760920
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing