We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

) #23 of 88 Restaurants in Lymington ££ - £££ , British,
Quay Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3AY, England
+44 1590 676903
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good29%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Quay Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3AY, England
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 390 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016

In spite of the rain, we had a lovely window seat overlooking the water. We started with refreshing cocktails and mocktails and wine list had a good selection. The seafood platter was a good starter to share. My swordfish was well cooked and portioned. The...More

Thank Buttons168
TheShipInnTeam, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Hi Buttons168, Thank you for your pleasant review, I am very happy you enjoyed all the food and drinks and hope you visit us again soon. Many thanks The Ship Inn Team

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Popped in for lovely light lunch.we had the crab and Cray fish pot and the forefinger sandwich.mmmm. Lovely food lovely staff lovely views. There is a large decked area at the rear overlooking the marina. Will visit again

1  Thank theresa0013
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Great, tasty well cooked food on the outdoor terrace overlooking the quay. It was served quickly in good order. Well priced and good portions. The sweet potato fries were particularly good

2  Thank consumedbynature
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Went for a business meal with colleagues and was extremely disappointed. Poor food and poor service. Strongly recommended avoiding

1  Thank Tombarr1990
Reviewed 14 June 2016

My partner and I have been going to ‪#‎TheShipInn‬ for more than eight years and have enjoyed many meals there, but we won't be going again. There is a new little man running front of house who has clearly never had any training in customer...More

4  Thank Alison G
TheShipInnTeam, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Hi Alison, Thank you for your review. As we discussed on facebook unfortunately we do get very busy on a Saturday lunch and it is highly recommended that if you would like a restaurant table that you book in advance. I apologise the for the...More

Reviewed 13 June 2016

We had dinner here on a weekend away. The food was very well cooked and tasty. The service was quick and the staff very friendly. We would definitely eat here again next time we are in Lymington.

Thank Lina C
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We were looking forward to eating here given its lovely location and good reviews but were left disappointed that on a 4 night trip away, this was the worst meal by far. Started with the crayfish and crab pot, which was nice enough but no...More

3  Thank paulfE1176OO
TheShipInnTeam, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Hi Paul, We thank you for your comments and apologise that the food you received on this visit was not up to our usual standards. I can assure you that we use crab meat not crab sticks in our prawn linguine and the waitress must...More

Reviewed 13 June 2016

Ate at the Ship Inn when I was passing through the area. The patio area was great on a nice sunny afternoon and very relaxed. I would defiantly go here again if I am back in the area.

2  Thank JWGSeattle
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Great river side location, good selection of drinks and food available in best location in the town. Very pleasant staff. Worth the trip for fresh air, view and to watch crabbing.

1  Thank TravellingChooser
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Nicely situated in the harbour. bright and airy and present decor. Perhaps a bit pricey, but not excessively so. Nice place for a summer day lunch

Thank Cadazan
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Elderflower Lymington
478 reviews
.03 miles away
Cafe Aroma
319 reviews
.16 miles away
Kings Head
459 reviews
.07 miles away
Koh Thai Tapas Lymington
154 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries
246 reviews
.35 miles away
Lymington Sea Water Baths
143 reviews
.55 miles away
Lymington Yacht Haven
66 reviews
.65 miles away
St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery
55 reviews
.29 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$32
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Quay Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3AY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest  >  Lymington
  • Phone Number: +44 1590 676903
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing