We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free off-street parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront
Reviews (993)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveller rating
534
261
100
56
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
534
261
100
56
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pie sea bass sunday roast fries potatoes prawns catch of the day the pub lovely meal jollies bucket cliffs veg
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

The service was immaculate, accompanied by big portions of very excellent quality food. I even finished my partners Gnocchi, having eaten more than a sufficient amount of my "catch of the day". And I am a rather large eater. I would definitely recommend them to...anyone, also be dining there again.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Staff were great. Location superb. We didn’t eat but we saw others dishes and they looked good. But……my wife went to the toilet and said the floor and walls were dirty and the smell of urine was intense. As a food establishment this is an...essential area hygiene as some people judge food safety on the cleanliness of the toilets.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were friendly and served a good selection of local beers. The food was poor though. I have eaten at other Moss restaurants and they are all excellent. This one however has been bad both times I have eaten here. I had fish and chips...and for £18 the fish was terrible and the chips taste as though they are cooked/fried in old oil. They leave a strange film like sensation in your mouth and smell like stale oil. Nice place for a drink but won't be eating there again.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Totally incompetent restaurant staff. I have never, ever experienced such poor customer service. A family meal totally ruined. Never again!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moss and Co, Owner at The Jolly Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Jolly Sailors and give us the opportunity to reply. Your family meal was ruined because we have never, ever experienced such poor language aimed at one of the team by your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal one evening while staying in the area. We both had the sea bass which was very tasty. Both the restaurant and the pub are both very nice and friendly staff. We enjoyed

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2024

Good food, great service, great pub restaurant. Wonderful sea view. Where was the cod lion I was told is so fantastic, a little pricey

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2024

Having visited another pub in Pakefield with no food available (and no online notification) we relocated to The JS. A terrific surprise lovely view (apart from the ghastly wire fencing), friendly service and very special food enhanced with delicious home made light sauces. Best calamari...in years. Beers well kept.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2024

Went for a family evening meal. Good choice on menu, food was delicious but above all all members of staff were amazing. They were helpful, polite, happy/pleasant. Always on hand but not overly hovering over us. After the meal we went into the bar area...where there was a band playing which was an added bonus. We were still there at last orders and the staff went above and beyond getting us taxis and keeping us informed of times etc as it was a busy Saturday night. Fantastic place and will definitely visit again when next in the area.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2024

Really disappointed! Hand cut chips were nothing more than a plateful of potatoes in their skins cut into chunky chip pieces, not grilled or fried, very insipid and tasteless but the fish was tasty. I did point this out to the waitress who said she...would give my feedback but nothing was done about it other than being told they were hand cut chips!! However my friend had chicken & chips in a basket which were very nice. Also meals in my opinion were overpriced.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2024

Lovely homely place where dogs are allowed so a bonus just for that, have eaten here twice before and been great but as it was Sunday I thought I would try the roast beef, unfortunately i have to say this was the worst roast I...have ever had anywhere, and I have had a LOT. Loads of red cabbage which I hate, 2 very thin carrot sticks and 2 very small parsnips, no green veg at all, the beef was OK but a bit stringy. I will eat here again but will be avoiding the Sunday roast.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2024

£6,20 for a Pimm's and lemonade I thought this was a shocking price.Even the bar staff said this was a ridiculous Although they were very polite and helpful

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2024

Great spot for a nice family meal, a breakfast or lunch/dinner. The food is delicious and great atmosphere. Portion sizes are very generous as well.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2024

Lovely pub let down by cleanliness and dirty smelly toilets. Also saw 2 people in the pub openly vapping which is disgusting. Sat at table which was filthy and when we left 2 hrs later still uncleaned.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

Wow stunning food and great friendly service. There were 13 of us hence we had to sit on two tables but it was fine as they were next to each other. The food was amazing (compliments to the kitchen staff who never stopped the whole...time we were there). I had the halloumi fries and chicken Sunday roast which were amazing. Lots of different flavours. The staff were really attentive and friendly. We also had someone in our party who couldn’t make it because they were ill hence we took a takeaway meal home for them which was all pack up by the restaurant. Five star meal with five star service thank you.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

We visited Lowestoft for the day, my partner's son recommended the jolly sailors for lunch, we enjoyed it very much lovely views and outside tables. Food was worth the money and the service was very good.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Hotel Victoria
1,148 reviews
.52 miles away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
1,091 reviews
.91 miles away
Winelodge Hotel
194 reviews
1.72 miles away
Wherry Hotel
847 reviews
1.75 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Well Well Well The Bathhouse
45 reviews
.28 miles away
The Thatch Restaurant
337 reviews
.64 miles away
The Oddfellows
194 reviews
.37 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Seagull Theatre
51 reviews
.13 miles away
South Beach
19 reviews
.54 miles away
Pakefield Riding School
38 reviews
.61 miles away
The Aquarium Live
16 reviews
.74 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sue w
14 September 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mossandco1 | Property representative |
Good afternoon This is a very common procedure for restaurants as we suffer from a number of no shows which truly hits us. To try and limit the number of no shows we take card details to charge that card if the guest... More
0
Votes
Voyager39545137817
1 September 2021|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from susanj264 | Reviewed this property |
General pub food.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE JOLLY SAILORS, Lowestoft - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Jolly Sailors

Yes, The Jolly Sailors is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Jolly Sailors is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4