We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Bull's Head

££ - £££, British,
134 Main Street | Woodhouse Eaves, Loughborough LE12 8RZ, England
+44 1509 890255
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“duck salad” (10 reviews)
“fish cakes” (14 reviews)
“sunday roast” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
134 Main Street | Woodhouse Eaves, Loughborough LE12 8RZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The pub has had a beautiful makeover and the staff are very pleasant but there never seems enough of them. You either wait too long to get served at the bar or it takes too long to get someone’s attention when you need something at...More

Thank Tirom2
TheOldBullsHead, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Tirom2, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am so pleased that you liked our makeover found our team to be very pleasant. Your comments regarding staffing levels however have been taken on board and we will aim to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have visited and eaten here regularly over the years and were very disappointed with our lunch on Saturday. Our daughters arrived at 11.40 for a booked meal at 12 and although we were slightly late, we weren’t seated at our table till 12.20. The...More

Thank E Mary W
TheOldBullsHead, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear E Mary W, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I was very disappointed to read that your recent visit to us did not meet your expectations or in fact the standards that we aim to achieve. I will ensure that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautifully prepared and tasty food! Had a great evening here with my partner, the pub itself is a such a lovely place to dine, either as a date night or out with family and friends. We both really enjoyed our food and the service was...More

1  Thank Beki P
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. Your kind words will be passed on to the team here at The Old Bull's Head. Many Thanks, Richard Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dined here a number of times only because it’s a convenient place to meet up with friends. It’s a beautiful restaurant with a lovely feel & ambiance, however, the food let’s it down. garlic mushrooms & fish & chips were completely tasteless I’m sorry to...More

Thank shazhallam
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. It’s disappointing to see our food did not reach your expectations. I will make sure your comments are passed on to our chef so he can make sure he takes the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely meal out with family. Nice modern, very busy pub but excellent food and excellen service. Sarah Whittaker in particular gave us excellent service and deserved a big tip [which i know is shared]. Will certainly be returning in the not too distant future.

Thank Sue W
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sue, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Sarah and the rest of the team. Many thanks Richard Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very hit and miss and over hyped like most in the village . Service was very poor, food ok but for what they charge it should . One end of the bar was a scene from Jeremy Kyle show won’t be long before it’s doing...More

Thank DolphinDJG
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Greatly concerned to read that the service and food simply weren't up to standard on this occasion. If you would like to discuss your comments further please contact us directly on 01509 890255. Regards, Richard...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious food, reasonably priced and service went above and beyond all expectations for a country pub. Can thank our server Frank for that.

Thank Wander23798093954
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so happy to learn about your recent experience. We will pass on your kind words to the team. Many Thanks, Richard Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a family Sunday lunch with our two grown up daughters. The restaurant is very popular as it was difficult to find a parking space in the quite large car park. Upon entering it was not clear where to go to for our table...More

Thank Davericho52
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving your constructive feedback which I will personally pass on to the rest of the team. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continually improve. Have a great day. Many Thanks, Richard Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited last Saturday with a friend for lunch, however we were extreemly dissapointed. The lady on the bar was utterrly useless, she said that I couldnt set up a tab as 'computer said no'. Although after I had challenged her and she asked for...More

2  Thank Francesca P
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your invaluable feedback. I am sorry to hear that we were having technical difficulties whilst trying to set up a tab, however I am please that this was able to be resolved for you. For...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well the place looks great large but nice... That's about it! the Sunday roast was so bad... what a let down.. two small slices of tough beef a Yorkshire pudding that was dry and cold (must have been pre cooked well before). The roast potatoes...More

3  Thank Garytigers
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Bull's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. I have read your comments with great concern as the food quality you describe moves well away from our expectations. We would love the opportunity to put this right for you. Please...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Loughborough
Quorn Country House Hotel, BW Signature Collection by Best Western
783 reviews
2.41 miles away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
651 reviews
2.43 miles away
Quorn Grange Hotel
450 reviews
2.44 miles away
Burleigh Court
841 reviews
2.46 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Wheatsheaf Inn
298 reviews
.87 miles away
The Cafe Next Door
51 reviews
.07 miles away
The Pear Tree
16 reviews
.41 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Beaumanor Hall
73 reviews
.76 miles away
Long Close
12 reviews
.18 miles away
Beacon Hill Country Park
297 reviews
.66 miles away
Charnwood Forest Golf Club
7 reviews
.36 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nicole S
1 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 555jas | Reviewed this property |
Hi Yes you can if you call in advance not onine.
0
Votes
Daniel A
8 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KPSharman | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 134 Main Street | Woodhouse Eaves, Loughborough LE12 8RZ, England (Formerly The Old Bulls Head)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Loughborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1509 890255
  • E-mail
Description
Nestled in Woodhouse Eaves, a pretty English village on the side of Beacon Hill, we are the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Our traditional pub building has been stylishly refurbished making it the ideal place to find a cosy corner and take time out whilst enjoying some of our Chefs seasonal dishes and our great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Inside you will find roaring log fires, comfy armchairs to while away the afternoon and an open bar with a unique dining room. So, whether it be a special celebration, a mid week treat, or an impromptu dinner we are happy to help you arrange the perfect occasion.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing