We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bells of Peover

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Cobbles | Lower Peover, Knutsford, Knutsford WA16 9PZ, England
+44 1565 722269
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 605: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great food as always. Called last minute on Sunday evening and the staff were very accommodating. Enjoyed the black pudding scotch egg and scallop starters, steak and pie for main. Would highly recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachaela26
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I visited The Bells of Peover with two of our friends. The dining area was warm and cosy. Our wine choice and all the meals were excellent and we could not fault anything. We will definitely return for lunch in the not too distant future.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This gorgeous country pub is very welcoming with a justified reputation for good food in a cosy historic environment. General Patton stayed here during the Second World War so expect an American flag flying and memorabilia inside the pub. It backs on to a beautiful church and atmospheric churchyard which is worth a stroll around..

Helpful?
1 Thank davidarmstrong87
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Great Cheshire pub offering hearty British faves in a beautiful setting. Staff were friendly and accommodating as we hadn't booked, and were v busy. Will be returning later this month

Helpful?
1 Thank foodandliquormcr
Norfolk
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We visited this restaurant on 28th December 2016 with a couple of close friends. the restaurant is located in a lovely area with fabulous surroundings but unfortunately the meal was only of a basic pub standard which was down to the poor choices offered on the menu which is a shame because the staff were efficient and friendly and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank puppyteddy
Claire G, Secretary at The Bells of Peover, responded to this review

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really do apreciate and act on all feedback. I do apologise that you felt the menu didn't offer enough choice. We were incredibly busy over the festive period this year and to cope with the volume of customers we had to reduce the... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the Bells of Peover again today for lunch. It was very busy and you would be advised to book. This is the Inn which was visited by General Patton in WW2. It has a very friendly atmosphere and the food was excellent with a menu to suit all tastes. Cost wise it is a little more expensive than the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1943Eileen
Claire G, Secretary at The Bells of Peover, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderfully detailed review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Bells of Peover management Team More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch with my family. What a beautiful venue and meal. The surroundings are very picturesque and the venue is tastefully decorated. Waiting on staff extremely friendly and polite. The meal was amazing. Started with black pudding scotch egg with a pear puree...delicious! Main, roast sirloin, pink, with Yorkshire puddings and a good selection of vegetables. Couldn't manage... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
Claire G, Secratery at The Bells of Peover, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful 5* review. We really apreciate your kind words and also the detail you have gone into for other future diners. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The bells of Peover Management Team More 

Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

5 of us visited for Sunday lunch.. we came here 13 years ago to make a special announcement to my late dad. we always said we would come back but life goes on etc..well today we have returned and have not at all been disappointed in any way..all of us had very different starters, meals and desserts and all of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen Lynne W
Claire G, Secretary at The Bells of Peover, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I will pass on your thanks and comments to all the staff. We really apreciate you taking the time to leave us such a lovely 5* review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards, The Bells of peover Management Team More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us visited the Bells for Sunday Lunch, this is somewhere we haven't eaten for quite a while . We were shown to the upper dining room, which I hadn't seen for a long time. Very tastefully decorated, with different family and friend groups enjoying lunch together. Efficient and friendly service,drinks and food served promptly even though they were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
Claire G, Secretary at The Bells of Peover, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really do apreciate all feed back, thank you for all the comments made. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit, we however are sorry about the roast beef. I will pass your comments on to the chefs. We hope to see you again soon.... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us met here for a drink and catch up to discuss a forthcoming event. I have got the say the bar area is very small and not very welcoming unless your eating. We just wanted a drink, we hadn't booked at all, but the area we could sit was very small and we felt in the way. Staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bexandco
Claire G, Secretary at The Bells of Peover, responded to this review

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so sorry that this is the feeling you were left with after visiting us. You are right, we do have a very small bar area. We are a listed building and so unable to make changes. So sadly there is nothing that... More 

Travellers who viewed The Bells of Peover also viewed

 
Knutsford, Cheshire
 

Been to The Bells of Peover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$21 - US$30
Cuisine
British, Pub, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Cobbles | Lower Peover, Knutsford, Knutsford WA16 9PZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Knutsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1565 722269
Description
Recently awarded Cheshire Lifes dining pub of the year The Bells of Peover is a beautilful, Grade 1 listed dining pub that has been under new ownership since September 2009. Food offerings range from homemade bar snacks to full a la carte menu. Our food is British and we daily specials highlighting the best seasonal, local produce available.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bells of Peover and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Cheshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Hereford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Bells of Peover staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?