We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant

92 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6ED, England
+44 1565 653974
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (160)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good20%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (17 reviews)
“cakes” (60 reviews)
“welsh rarebit” (30 reviews)
Open Now
09:30 - 16:00 Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
92 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6ED, England
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant
1. A lovely little place...
"lovely food I would definitely recommend"
CheshireDiamond
See reviews that mention lovely little place
2. Fantastic food & service
"The crayfish and watercress is a must!! The staff are really obliging"
Jayne P
See reviews that mention crayfish
3. Charming setting
"fabulous place, good choice of food"
Emma M
See reviews that mention visiting knutsford
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 442 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

My daughter and I stopped in for an early lunch on Saturday, based on a recommendation from a nearby bridal boutique. There are several tables in the delightful courtyard but all were either occupied or reserved so we were offered a choice of the main...More

1  Thank Denise M
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Favourite place in Knutsford - we come quite regularly now hence a couple of reviews and it never fails to disappoint. Lovely food, friendly staff, cosy and relaxed atmosphere, beautiful setting. Can’t recommend enough!

2  Thank manchestergirl893
Court Y, Manager at The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words and appreciate you making the effort to write more than one review for your visits. We look forward to seeing you in the restaurant again soon. The Courtyard Team x

Reviewed 6 days ago

We had cafe and cakes and all were great. What makes this place is the pretty courtyard situated just off the bottom street in the town. We had a very pleasant waitress. The stream of planes flying in to Manchester airport are relentless and noisy...More

Thank Robert B
Court Y, Manager at The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

good morning Robert B thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we do think having the courtyard hidden away from the main road is such a great place to sit eat and chat. as you said we are directly on the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We had pre booked as were meeting friends for lunch to plan our next holiday. Really hot day but when we arrived there was our reserved table in the shade under a huge umbrella and tree just perfect. good selection of botanical cordials etc.We had...More

Thank lynne g
Court Y, Manager at The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

good morning lynne g thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. we do like to take booking as this means we can try to use our much sort after shaded tables, our seat selection of mr fitzpatricks cordials go down...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

If you are in Knutsford - then you need to visit here. Absolutely stunning courtyard and amazing food. Fantastic.More

Thank milllie
Court Y, Manager at The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good morning Millie thank you so much for your review, we do find that a lot of people do just come to Knutsford to see us. the courtyard area has been so popular in this hot weather. we hope next time your in the area...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food, great service. We had breakfast here and then went back for lunch. Everything was delicious, and cooked perfectly. We will definitely eat here again.More

1  Thank JaneThomasDerby
Court Y, Manager at The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

good morning Jane thank you so much for the great review, it was great to see that you returned for lunch and I hope that you enjoyed the scones and the shared pecan pie. we look forward to seeing you soon many thanks the courtyard...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We reserved a table ahead of time. I’d never been but he reviews looked good. It’s slightly off the main road and opens up beautifully. We were sat outside and it was very tranquil. Menu is extensive and well priced. There was 6 of us...More

2  Thank Panda_eyes2
Court Y, Manager at The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

good morning thank you so much fora great review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to the courtyard. being off the road and away from traffic is such a bonus for us which means you can eat great home cooked food in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This courtyard coffee house hidden away behind King St is picture perfect. What better to sit admiring the buildings and flowers with your coffee. As it was such a gorgeous day everyone was sitting outside but inside looks beautifully appointed too. Friendly staff, nice selection...More

Thank CB001_11
Court Y, Manager at The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

good morning CB001_11 may I start by thanking for you for such kind words, we do like to think that we have something for everyone here at the courtyard. it is awakes nice to welcome new customers from outside the town and we look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We all know cafes can provide all day breakfast for around £5, but The Courtyard provides a setting which was difficult to beat today when we visited for the first time. We paid £9 each for a lovely presented breakfast and a pot of tea....More

1  Thank taxi_0ne
Court Y, Manager at The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

good morning taxi_one thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review, we were so glad that you found us from your caravan site. we do like to think that the courtyard has something for everyone and this weather is just the topping on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for lunch on a Tuesday . This was our first visit , and so we did not know what to expect as we strolled down the narrow path , lined with an assortment of tubs filled with bright coloured flowers What a pleasant...More

1  Thank streetdragon
Court Y, Manager at The Courtyard Coffee House and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

good morning street dragon many thanks for such a lovely review. we are so happy that you found us and enjoyed your food, the soup and sandwich offer is a great and popular dish for our customers. the homemade mango chutney is delightful and is...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Knutsford
The Cross Keys
177 reviews
.12 miles away
Longview Hotel
121 reviews
.21 miles away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
360 reviews
1.21 miles away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
1,102 reviews
1.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Real Fruit Creamery
68 reviews
.07 miles away
Eastern Revive
332 reviews
.04 miles away
Cafe on the corner
304 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Knutsford Heritage Centre
78 reviews
.02 miles away
Makers Market Knutsford
35 reviews
.09 miles away
Penny Farthing Museum
42 reviews
.01 miles away
Peover Hall & Gardens
33 reviews
.80 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Francis D
16 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Court Y | Property representative |
Hi Francis, Thank you for contacting us. Whilst we are child friendly and offer a children's menu and highchairs, unfortunately due to the tight space in our restaurant we cannot accommodate prams. Therefore, we ask our... More
2
Votes
Gail D
11 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Londongirl036 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry just got this. Street parking is free for an hour then there is a paid for parking area on the road
1
Vote
SEH20
8 October 2016|
Answer
Response from | Reviewed this property |
I would probably book for a Saturday lunchtime as it gets quite busy
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:30 - 16:00
Tuesday
09:30 - 15:30
Wednesday
09:30 - 15:30
Thursday
09:30 - 16:00
Friday
09:30 - 16:00
Saturday
09:30 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 92 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Knutsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1565 653974
  • E-mail
Description
One of Knutsford's hidden gems, The Courtyard provides a picturesque setting to enjoy a traditional breakfast, lunch and homemade cakes from our deliciously British menu. Using the very best ingredients and fresh produce to prepare our dishes fresh every day. Our Welsh Rarebit is popular, as is our Chef's specials which change seasonally. Choose to sit in the main restaurant with our vintage train track overhead, learn about our largest Penny Farthing in the conservatory or soak up the sun in our courtyard with ample seating in a beautiful setting packed full of nature. With an array of cycles and spokes on display, The Courtyard is rich in heritage of Knutsford and also the perfect pit-stop for cyclists alike. We also work with the heritage centre and can arrange guided tours of Knutsford on request.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing