We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barley Mow

£
Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Manor Road, PO11 0EZ, England
442392465611
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 403: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Thank you to sarah and anja and the team yet again we had a lovely time coming there to celebrate our special occasions the food is amazing staff really friendly and helpful could not have made it more special for us and amazing value. Thank you Mariea Cleverly

Helpful?
Thank mariea d
hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Not a complainer but went here to try out the pizza. The place was empty so no problem in finding a table then we realised why. Chose pizzas went up to order and pay and was told they have no pepperoni, well, you can't have a pizza without it so we chose cheese burgers! What a joke, so overlooked it... More 

Helpful?
Thank ellyhampshire
General Manager A, General Manager at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hi Ellyhampshire, we are sorry that you have had a negative experience with us. But we are glad that you have brought these issues to our attention. More 

West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my first visit since the refurb and i have to say it is very nice, the staff are very friendly. Even though i thought we were there reasonably earlier 8.30-9 the food could have been hotter, and maybe left on the hot plates. Now what was confusing was the additional charge for mushrooms, yet even if you did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie P
General Manager A, Manager at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you, Bonnie P, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. More 

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We celebrate both our Birthdays here, Easter, Xmas Day and Boxing Day - plus at least once a week in between ! This speake for itself !

Helpful?
Thank MYSTICMARYLAW
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you, Mysticmarylaw, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over the years although regularly made over always seemed tired. Follow a recent make over must be one of the most popular family venues with food at great prices and a on the spot pizza bar. Very family friendly, staff are great quality of food is great and prices very affordable. Ample parking, outside eating (and smoking) area.

Helpful?
Thank 1097Tony
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, 1097tony. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Barley Mow, Hayling Island. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked for 13 people for my sons birthday as he loves pizza & really wanted the chocolate pizza dessert as a treat. The whole experience was a nightmare. They no longer have waiter service. This must have changed as we had waiter service last June. There were hardly any staff around despite it being the festive season. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Naomi M, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bad customer service, a very rude manager, the food wasn't that great, and a long waiting time. Definitely been to better.

Helpful?
Thank Luke B
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Luke B, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hate to be the person to give a bad review but felt like this is needed in order for the barley mow to see where they need to improve. Went for a meal for my cousins birthday but didnt as good a time as intended.. Firstly, my sister and i went to get a drink at the bar where two... More 

Helpful?
Thank brewsterb27
General Manager A, General Manager at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hi Brewsterb27, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Barley Mow, Hayling Island take our reviews very seriously and we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited the Barley Mow previously and it was not great. This time it has improved food was hot and all the dishes were available Staff very pleasant small moan but the windows need cleaning as it spoilt a delightful winters morning sitting in the sunlight

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
General Manager A, Manager at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you, Kevin S, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. Thank you, Kevin S, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

Cheeseburgers without cheese and presented on a piece of paper on a tray. Roast potatoes couldn't have been fresh as they were burnt, soggy and left an awful taste in the mouth which lasts for hours. Thought i might've got more than a couple of slices of meat but no. Veg was ok. Sauces etc could be labeled so people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Woody E
General Manager A, General Manager at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hi Woody E, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Barley Mow, Hayling Island take our reviews very seriously. More 

Travellers who viewed Barley Mow also viewed

Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Manor Road, PO11 0EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Hayling Island
  • Phone Number: 442392465611

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barley Mow staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?