We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Captain Manby

16 Beacon Innovation Centre Camelot Road | Gorelston, Great Yarmouth NR31 7RA, England
+44 1493 653686
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good26%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (30 reviews)
“salmon” (47 reviews)
“roast dinner” (19 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 22:30 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Beacon Innovation Centre Camelot Road | Gorelston, Great Yarmouth NR31 7RA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Having seen that our closest Toby restaurant was back to a full 5/5 hygiene rating we decided to try it again, taking my Mum out for a (festive) birthday dinner. We booked a table online a few days earlier, and on arrival we were shown...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Davidjellis
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

You'd need a chainsaw to cut the beef! So tough. Reminded me of school dinner. The next day we had a carvery elsewhere, a posher Hall up the road, at the same price and it was far better! Staff were friendly but few. The waitress...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank zigtravel
Reviewed 3 days ago

Having been to this restaurant three times since their well publicised health issue that occurred earlier this year I have decided to rate this establishment.On all three occasions,I have not had any problem with the food or with the staff.I have found them all very...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank GoPlaces48348038701
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We dropped into have meal at Toby Weds night, plates cold turkey cold potatoes cold carrots and Brussels tiny not cooked and cold, complained to staff and we were both told we are moaning, left refusing to pay. Shocking how such food could be charged...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank alternative4u
Reviewed 6 days ago

We visited this restaurant for our Sunday morning breakfast which is all you can eat self service. After paying for our meal and selecting a table I attempted to get 2 coffees but all the coffee pots were empty so i thought I will get...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Kevin B
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Captain Manby, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Kevin B, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One of the first things we heard was a member of staff saying he’d rather be at home... well wouldn’t we all .. but when you are serving the public you just have to put on a brave face! The food was mediocre and worryingly...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Matthewsh
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Captain Manby, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Matthewsh, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unlimited breakfast because you spend more time waiting for food to be put on the hot plate , you eat what food is out while waiting for the hot plate to be regenerated , not once while waiting did any member if staff apologise or...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 155craigs
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Captain Manby, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi 155craigs, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arriving to the Captains home we were warming welcomed and soon shown our reserved table. Drinks served by the delightful waitress and soon we were helping ourselves to the best Carvery I had for a long time. Succulent turkey and the chestnut mash was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank David S
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Captain Manby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi David .we are so glad you had a great time with us

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Away for a romantic weekend with hubby and there will be no “romance” tonight.. hehehehe. The reason I hear you ask? Well it’s because we are both so stuffed and contented that we literally are rolling to our hotel. We had the carvery. The lamb.....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 774wyatto
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Captain Manby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi 774wyatto, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in on our way home from Yarmouth, beef my wife had was tuff as ole boots and my gammon was under cooked and chewy. There was no mashed potatoes, cauliflower cheese, and thin gravy . Very disappointing and nothing like we get our way...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank waynek779
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Great Yarmouth
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
478 reviews
.04 miles away
All Seasons Lodge Hotel
120 reviews
1.08 miles away
The Cliff Hotel
1,262 reviews
1.19 miles away
The Pier Hotel
475 reviews
1.27 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Stardust Chip Shop
22 reviews
.56 miles away
Jayjays @ The Beach Cafe
429 reviews
.77 miles away
Jay Jays
77 reviews
.77 miles away
Maggie's Cafe
9 reviews
.95 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Gorleston Beach
1,906 reviews
.78 miles away
Aphrodite Beauty Studio
83 reviews
1.57 miles away
Pavilion Theatre Gorleston
153 reviews
1.24 miles away
Bubbles Amusements Hopton
23 reviews
1.29 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bigedd2004
25 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Terry H | Reviewed this property |
Totally agree with you I won’t be returning
2
Votes
BarryH1469
6 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bobjimp | Reviewed this property |
If your using Trip Adviser tap on the restaurant and their times can be seen in their web site. 😉
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Beacon Innovation Centre Camelot Road | Gorelston, Great Yarmouth NR31 7RA, England (Formerly Toby Carvery, Gorleston)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Great Yarmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1493 653686
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing