We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Oak Swayfield

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
27 High Street | Swayfield, Grantham NG33 4LL, England
+44 1476 550415
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 200: English reviews
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed one night to break up a long trip. Rooms are amazing for the price. Clean and tidy 99% of the room only off putting factor was the dirty light in the room you could see all the bugs that had died in there it would only take a few minutes to detach and clean it. The shower was also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ogrub77
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at The Royal Oak for one night as a getaway to celebrate both my husband and my birthdays. Room was clean, warm and comfortable. Bed was very comfy. We had dinner in the Pub Restaurant. Locals were friendly and the staff were also cheerful and friendly. We both had the sirloin steak which was delicious. The chef obviously gets... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't be put off if the restaurant is empty when you go in - I think we came at its quietest time but wow what amazing food and service! Kids menu was excellent - generous size for my 7 and 9 year old boys who both eat like adults! Pie and Pork belly were delicious and the desserts nearly killed... More 

Helpful?
Thank DimitriCArlando
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

Stayed one night on business to break a journey north on the A1, it's 10-15 minutes from the Colsterworth junction. Rooms are "motel-style" in a purpose built block adjacent to the pub, clean and comfortable, plenty of space. Nice pub, friendly staff, good food, good beer. WiFi only works in the bars, not the rooms. Good cooked breakfast in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2016

My husband had never seen a glass this size before! The welcome here was warm and the wood burner a real treat.

Helpful?
Thank Jayne K
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

The rooms are clean and tidy if a little asture, the English breakfast is well cooked and a good helping

Helpful?
Thank Nick W
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

Five of us were staying for 2 nights to attend a wedding in Irnham Hall. The three rooms provided were large and provided us with a very good standard of furnishing, cleanliness and linen. Service received was excellent e.g. gluten free breakfast provided for one of our party without any fuss or comment. Our evening meal was excellent and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 474rose
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Good food and nice venue. Booked in for a family meal on Saturday night. Got there at 7.30pm and it was nice a quiet. We sat in the bar area and enjoyed some lovely grub. Starters main and desserts. There was myself, my wife and my 9 year old. The bill came to £75 which I was happy to pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Woodall76
Andrew L, Owner at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review

Woodall76, Thank you very much for your review of the Royal Oak. I must say it was a pleasure having you with us, so I'm glad that you enjoyed your food. We very rarely cater for children, which is why we have never produced a children's menu. All the children's meals is priced up at £7.95, as although they are... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016

The place is very friendly and the staff are great, accommodation is good and being improved as well which bodes well for its future. Where it failed for us was in the timing of breakfast on the Saturday, we were assured that it would be available from 07:30 - on many visits prior to our stay - on the day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob D
Andrew L, Owner at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review

Rob D, Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, however I'm disappointed we were not able to make your stay with us as enjoyable as it could have been. Our weekend breakfast time has always been 8.30, as any earlier can make it into a possible 17 hour working day, so i'm unsure who... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

Many pubs / inns offering accommodation seem to have restricted / late check-in times, as is the case with The Royal Oak, where the general opening time to the public of 5.00pm is also the earliest that the weary traveller can check into his / her room. That said, the accommodation offered is in one of several purpose-built, self-contained units... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Andrew L, Owner at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review

Richard B, Many thanks for your excellent and comprehensive review of the Royal Oak. So many good point which I'm pleased you enjoyed and a few thing that I will look into. The only point I would like to address directly is regarding our check in time. Being a small country inn, sometime making sure the rooms are turned around... More 

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak Swayfield also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Colsterworth, Grantham
 

Been to The Royal Oak Swayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$17
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 High Street | Swayfield, Grantham NG33 4LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Grantham
  • Phone Number: +44 1476 550415

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Royal Oak Swayfield and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Leicester, United Kingdom
deeping st nicholas
10 months ago
Barleythorpe, United Kingdom
Nottinghamshire

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak Swayfield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?