We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose and Crown

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Green Road, Egham TW20 8QL, England
+44 1344 845154
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 344: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Enjoyed every moment, staff were exceptionally welcoming from the start and catered to our every need to ensure we had the best time possible and considering it was a busy Saturday evening I would say they did a excellent job. Food was excellent and good value for money although would love to see some Italian themes on there sometime soon

Helpful?
Thank jj1928
Barons D, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and kind comments. I will feed back your comments to our food development team. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First visit since its refurbishment. Evening sitting. Very average food - over cooked burgers tough ribs. Service fine. Nice pub. Shame because I will not go there again. Better places locally - it was a mistake going there.

Helpful?
Thank witch133
Barons D, Senior Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about this disappointing visit to The Rose & Crown on Mother's day and would really appreciate the chance to speak to you about it personally. Please can you email me a contact number so that I can call you at your convenience? My email address is: neil.perks@baronspubs.com Many thanks in anticipation, I hope to... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The newly refurbished Rose & Crown is let down by its service all round. This used to be the perfect pub with tasty food, friendly staff and a really efficient kitchen. Food has taken a downturn since the refurb with old chips being served during busy service. Not sure why there is always only 1 person serving behind the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maritez M
Barons D, Senior Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read your comments and would really appreciate the chance to speak to you personally about the issues that you raise. Please can you email me a contact telephone number so I can call you at your convenience? My email address is: neil.perks@baronspubs.com Many thanks in anticipation. Kind regards Neil Perks Senior Manager More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate here on Saturday after a long day in Legoland. We were a party of 3 adults, 4 children aged between 3 & 6 - all boisterous boys. We were almost an hour late for our booking because of the queue getting out of Legoland but the staff still accommodated us with a smile. We all enjoyed our meals, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 20407
Barons D, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

How lovely to hear! Thanks so much for posting this great review. Glad to hear that staff and customers were all in fine singing voice when you visited and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the area! :0) More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A meal for 5 held in the outside but heated beach hut of which there are three. They are warm, cozy and private and mean you miss out on the general cacophony of a pub during sunday lunch. A great idea. Book one. The food was delicious. All in all decent value and much improved since my last visit 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank sentinel64
Barons D, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting this excellent review. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience in our funky outside huts and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My thanks to all the staff for making my husband's 70th birthday party very special. They coped with 19of us, all the food came out together and was excellent. The service was fantastic. I would recommend this as a venue for anyone who wants to feel a bit special. Once again thanks Stella Watson

Helpful?
Thank Stella W
Barons D, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

What a lovely review, Stella! Thanks for posting and for recommending us for special occasions. I'm delighted to hear that your husband's 70th birthday party was such a success at The Rose & Crown and we hope to see you all again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very enjoyable visit with excellent service from the charming Ashley. Very busy as a Quiz night but did not detract from our experience. A truly convivial atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank James C
Barons D, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Greta to hear, James! Thanks for this lovely review and we will pass your comments on to Ashley. See you again soon :0) More 

Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Usually love the r&c but hadn't been since the refurb. Food was very average. The meat was noticeably poorer quality and the meal was very mediocre. Shame as it's a lovely pub but would be reluctant to return.

Helpful?
Thank 2kidslove2travel
Barons D, Senior Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read this review and would really appreciate the chance to speak to you personally about the issues that you raise. Please can you email me a contact telephone number so I can call you at your convenience? My email address is: neil.perks@baronspubs.com Many thanks in anticipation. Kind regards Neil Perks Senior Manager More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were all impressed by the look and feel of the pub as it was very well presented and clean. The problems started when we started ordering our food. We were a large party of 8, but this was no excuse for the service. The staff were slow and not very attentive to our needs as diners. On... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
Barons D, Senior Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, I am so sorry to hear about this extremely disappointing visit to The Rose & Crown and would really appreciate the chance to speak to you about it personally. Please can you email me a contact number so that I can call you at your convenience? My email address is: neil.perks@baronspubs.com Many thanks in anticipation, I hope to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was very disappointed!!! We were made to sit on a dirty table after asking the manager to clean the table. I then had to call one of the waitresses to clean the table, of which this took a while to get done. We ordered a variety of meals: Fish and chips - fish looked amazing and humongous. However once... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joy V
Barons D, Senior Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Dear Joy, I am really sorry to read your review. The experience you describe sounds extremely disappointing and certainly not at all what we aim for. As such, I would really like to find out more. Would you be able to please email me a contact telephone number so that I can call you to discuss the matter personally? My... More 

Travellers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Green Road, Egham TW20 8QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Egham
  • Phone Number: +44 1344 845154
Description
Our beautiful "chocolate box" pub is set in the lush, green countryside of Thorpe and is everything a good, traditional English pub should be and we're proud of what we've achieved. We serve delicious food all day, everyday!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rose and Crown and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Rose and Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?