We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Captain's Club Hotel & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Wickferry, Christchurch BH231NX, England
+44 1202 475111
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 590: English reviews
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful meal with family and friends at the hotel on New years day. The service was friendly, polite and very professional. The Sommelier was so polite in recommending a very good Rioja which went perfectly with Roast Beef and Yorkshire puddings. The salads were lovely and fresh, the soup homemade and the desserts were to die for,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sloanranger12
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a comprehensive review following your visit on New Year's Day. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the celebratory lunch. I will make sure that Chef and his team are made aware of your lovely comments and will pass on your thanks to Paulo for his wine recommendation. We do hope we have... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly welcome, and great service. The food was a mixed bag really. Baked camembert was fab. The burger was so dry - really not good; and broke into small pieces when I tried to eat it with a fork, served with barely cooked chips. Creme Brulee in a small shallow dish, for £7. The wrong side of generous. I've eaten... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bertrand_Wooster
TimothyLloyd, Hotel director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the hotel and I am sorry that you found the food to be a "mixed bag". I do wish that you had spoken to somebody at the time so that we could have had the chance to try and put things right. I really do hope that you will... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Feeling rather ambiguous about this place. When we tried booking for Dinner on a Saturday evening we were told pretty bluntly there were no tables available. After cajoling and promising to be gone by 8.00pm we were eventually offered the possibility of the table in the less formal brasserie area. What peeved me was that when we arrived ALL the... More 

Helpful?
Thank barkei46
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and I thank you for being so constructive in your feedback. I can promise you that the restaurant has been fully booked every Saturday evening for several months now so I know that on the evening you came in that we would have been full, even if it was later... More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I have visited for lunch several times as a member of a club. On each occasion the staff have been good, the room has been clean and well equipped..... but.... the food has been awful. The only way I can describe it is to take readers back to school dinners in the 1950s. Next time I attend I will pay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David P
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr Powell. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visits to the hotel on both this site and our own facebook site. I am sorry you feel the way you do about the food as we are well known in the area for the high quality of food served in our function suites. You must... More 

bournemouth
Level Contributor
165 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

We stayed a lovely night at this Riverside Hotel. The position couldnt have been better right in Christchurch Quay, and our room overlooking the River. The room was large, and very well furnished. The bathroom was excellent, especially the complimentary toilettries. There were more than enough pillows and towels, and a good size wardobe. There was an ironing board, iron,... More 

Helpful?
Thank BournemouthChris
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

The rooms are huge. The bathroom is very modern and practical. The shower head would need to be changed though. The restaurant and bar are also very modern and with a gorgeous view over the river. The breakfast was very good. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank carolel459
TimothyLloyd, Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks Carole for taking the time to review the Captains Club Hotel and we are delighted you had a great time and enjoyed the gorgeous surroundings of our beautiful River Stour location. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
361 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

It is a few years since I last visited the Captains Club and it was great to see that standards remain as high as ever. The menu is interesting and the food quality, portion size and presentation is excellent and the service smooth and friendly. The only negative was the level of noise in the restaurant when it was reasonably... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stevew07
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your visit to the hotel for lunch. I am pleased all is still well, in fact we celebrate 10 years since we opened the doors to the hotel tomorrow! I am sorry you found the level of noise too much but hope this didn't distract you too much. We... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

The best from start to finish. I had Scollops , lamb and chocolate fondant. All cooked really well, the service is probably the best I've ever experienced. Five star plus if I could. Any niggles? my lamb could do with resting more ( bit of blood on plate) but that would be highly critical.

Helpful?
Thank Dee L
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

What a lovely review! All the crew will be thrilled to receive your feedback about the service. Chef is so pleased that you enjoyed such a great meal and we have made a note to rest the lamb a little longer! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

I normally visit the captains club for a drink, coffee or cream tea. I last visited on Monday with 2 friends for a cream tea. The weather was glorious despite it being November. The scones were freshly baked and delicious , a good choice of tea. Good service too. Coffee is normally good I pop in with my dog after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianah H
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words surrounding your visit for cream tea. We were very lucky with the weather earlier this week which means we have been able to extend the season for terrace dining too. Long may this continue! Thank you for being such a loyal friend to the Captain's Club and we look forward to welcoming you and... More 

YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

Visited with friends for lunch. The food, service and location was fabulous! We will be back in future!

Helpful?
Thank jodieshiel19
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel with friends for lunch and that you all had such a good time. Thank you for being kind about the food, service and our wonderful location on the banks of the river Stour. We will hopefully see you again very soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Captain's Club Hotel & Spa also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Captain's Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$43
Cuisine
European, British
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wickferry, Christchurch BH231NX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 475111
  • This restaurant is at Captain's Club Hotel
Description
The Club restaurant is open for all day dining and offers a single menu encompassing a range of exciting dishes all to two AA rosette standard. A team of twelve chefs look after your every need and we cater for vegetarians and vegans too. We offer a shipmates junior menu for our younger guests. Beautiful views of the river and alfresco dining on the terrace during the summer months. Breakfast served from 7.30am, last orders for dinner are taken at 9.30pm.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Captain's Club Hotel & Spa and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
norwich
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Captain's Club Hotel & Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?