We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fishermans Haunt

££ - £££, British,
Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
+44 1202 477283
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good26%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
“venison” (5 reviews)
“pudding” (9 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 15:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Friendly staff, great beer, food is reasonable too, highly recommended to anyone who wants to drop by or make a night of it with friends and family. All I say is don't do there Monday night quiz it's sooooo boringMore

Thank Mark A
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Mark A, Thank you for your lovely review, I shall pass on your comments reference the quiz to our local quiz master. It was the first one we have done since I took over, as he was here previously so all feedback is welcome....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came here with friends to celebrate a birthday and really enjoyed the atmosphere in the pub. I have not been for a few years and having heard there was new management, we though we would come back again. The staff, especially Annette, Chloe and...More

Thank Girl252016
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Girl252016, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us, so lovely to see such wonderful comments. I shall pass this onto my team. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Warmest regards Annette General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I disagree whole heartedly with a few reports. there is a new menu only days old which provides variety and choice. staff as always are polite and service was great. after the refurbishment which I in my opinion brings it up to the current era...More

Thank k80harry
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear k80harry, Thank you for your review, it was lovely to meet you and shall indeed pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards Annette General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Fishermans Haunt yesterday for the first time in a while with my husband and 2 children. The refurb is very impressive and the staff seemed all very friendly. As it was a beautiful day we were able to appreciate the beautiful location...More

Thank lil1977
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear lil1977, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit, it is always a pleasure when the kids are happy, mine is 5 too and is so fussy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards Annette...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been going to the Fishermans for many many years and have seen many changes. It was a very busy busy pub with a great atmosphere back in the day and I wish for those days to return but not sadly on the evidence...More

Thank afcb-rossco
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear afcb-rossco, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit, I have heard from my team that you wished to speak to me, sadly this was on my night off, with my family, something that I am sure you are not...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After having a bad experience last year, we have avoided eating here again. But after receiving a 20% off voucher for my birthday and knowing that there was a new manager we thought we would give it another go. There were a couple of hiccups...More

Thank Rosemary M
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rosemary M, Thank you so much for your review, I will address the issues with the team, and make sure that in future they are more careful with their ordering. We are just in the process of changing the wine list so that we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Seems to be a trend with Fuller pubs. Very limited menu on top of their disappointing roast selection. Roast dinners are so small in comparison to Toby Carvery. For example: Most expensive roast: £16.00 for a sirloin roast? Small meat portions with lots of fat,...More

Thank Richard F
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Richard F, Thank you for taking the time to review, I have checked with the team and upon check back you did say that everything was ok, had you mentioned any of the above we would have been more than happy to get you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having visited this 'pub' twice recently I found the food quite good, quality of ingredients was first class. It was spoilt by the staff who could do with recognising that the customer is the priority, not chatting to friends while people are waiting to be...More

Thank Anthony A
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Anthony A, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit to us. I have just recently taken over at the Fisherman's Haunt and am saddened to see that this occurred on your visit. I have recently held a team meeting...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Party of four went for a mid-week lunch. Service was very slow, one person behind the bar taking food and drink orders, and serving the drinks. Food (2 fish and chips, and a shared vegetarian meal) took far too long to be delivered to the...More

Thank bails121
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear bails121, Thank you for your comments, please may I ask you to contact me directly on fishermanshaunt.manager@fullers.co.uk, so that I may investigate further as this is not the standard I expect in my pub. I look forward to hearing from you. Warmest regards Annette...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting the area for a wedding & could walk to where the reception was being held. We had a room over in the coach house. The room was nice, with a nice on suite. Although when we used the shower, you had to...More

Thank mabAberystwyth
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mabAberystwyth, Thank you for your review, having only been here a few weeks it is always great to get feedback and to know the points that need more work. I will speak to the chef about the food wait and make sure that they...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Woolpack
458 reviews
.55 miles away
The Carpenters Arms
310 reviews
1.60 miles away
New Queen Pub Restaurant
241 reviews
1.82 miles away
Mum's Cafe
105 reviews
1.48 miles away
Nearby Attractions
FONFA Museum
5 reviews
1.68 miles away
Christchurch Castle
74 reviews
2.13 miles away
The Norman House
11 reviews
2.11 miles away
The Regent Centre
97 reviews
2.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Karen R
1 November 2015|
Answer
Response from lilylou3 |
Hi Karen, we live down the road and take our two dogs inside always ,ade welcome and biscuit treats in a bowl by the door.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 477283
  • E-mail
Description
Historic hospitality meets modern creature comforts at The Fisherman’s Haunt, a beautiful pub near Christchurch. Recently refurbished to a supreme standard, its farmhouse feel, fine fare and stylish bedrooms offer a special place to dine, drink and stay in the Dorset countryside.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing