We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Highcliffe Castle Rothesay Drive | Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4LE, England
+44 1425 270924
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 241: English reviews
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,150 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A small but pleasant cafe found in the grounds of the castle, nice open air seating and the lady was running the cafe from a small, converted french van. Nice selection of food and drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Howlo
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The setting is nice and the day we visited we were able to sit outside. We both ordered a panini but it wasn't very nice at all. It had been heated up too much and was chewy and also there was hardly any filling inside. We will, however, try the tea room one more time to see if we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill N
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Jill N Thank you for your review of Highcliffe Castle Tearooms. We are sorry to hear your paninis were not to your liking but we do hope you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards The PR Manager. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This cafe needs substantially updating. Decor and furnishings out of the ark. It's almost an afterthought. Gardens tho are fantastic so on a sunny day - run inside to get your great coffee (it is good) and emerge again to enjoy the outside

Helpful?
1 Thank worthgoingtosea
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Dear worthgoingtosea Thank you for your review of Highcliffe Castle Tearooms. We note your comments about the interior and you will be delighted to hear that The Tearooms new owners will be renovating the interior and seating to the exterior. We are sure you will be able to still enjoy the delightful gardens whilst the work is being carried out.... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We regularly stop off here during our dog walk. There is a good selection of real cakes, not things in packets like you get in Costa etc. Warm Dorset Apple cake with cream my favourite. Also various lunches, hot and cold. Last time my heated sausage roll was luke-warm at best. Nice setting, normally sit outside with dog overlooking the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy J
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Dorothy J Thank you for your informative review of Highcliffe Castle Tearooms. We are delighted to welcome you back again and I note The Dorset Apple Cake with clotted cream is your favourite ...mine too !!! We do hope you will visit us agin in the near future or visit us at The Cliffhanger Cafe . Kind Regards The... More 

Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Stopped by this morning for a hot chocolate and cake, such a great choice, loads of gluten free too! , very friendly staff , clean restaurant area, loads of seating inside and out , ideal for dog walkers.. restrooms however need updating and a good scrub !

Helpful?
Thank Candis T
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Candis T Thank you for your 4 star review of Highcliffe Castle Tearooms. We are delighted you were happy with the choice of cakes especially our gluten free range that we offer and that you noted we are ideal for dog walkers. We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards The PR... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting Warm February afternoon sitting outside Fancied a bit of apple cake priced at £3.65 Despite being on the menu for less at £3.50. Why the disparity. Then wanting to charge me an extra pound for clotted cream which costs less than 4 pounds for a 500g tub Not only that but the lady who served us was very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Karen H Thank you for taking the time to review Highcliffe Castle Tearooms. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your visit to us. I have passed on your comments to Andrea for her thoughts. Kind Regards The PR Manager. More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is fairly good, not exceptional though. Very over priced for what it is. Wasn't unpleasant overall though. The setting is lovely in the castle and near the beach. Sometimes like a nursing home with loads of old people.

Helpful?
Thank Emily C
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Emily C Thank you for taking the time to review Highcliffe Castle Tearooms. We are delighted you found our food to be ..fairly good and the setting to be lovely. We do hope you will visit us again in the near future . Kind Regards The PR Manager. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Called in today for lunch, Food and drink ok. Before leaving, my wife and I visited the toilets in the tea room. If we had seen the condition of the toilets before eating, we would have had lunch somewhere else. It was not just todays grime, the rooms were in very poor condition and need refurbishing. I hope that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank teamsaga
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Teamsaga Than you for your review of Highcliffe Castle Tearooms. The Tearooms are due to be refurbished in the next few months. Our facilities are cleaned on a daily basis but are only ever as good as the last guest to use them. We are glad however you enjoyed the "fine food" and we look forward to welcoming you... More 

Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I have visited Highcliffe Castle Tearooms with family and friends for a number of years. Enjoying a walk along the beach from Highcliffe, this is the perfect place to stop for refreshments! The location is beautiful, the hard-working staff are always cheerful and friendly, and the reasonably priced food is always delicious. This is a genuine review from a loyal... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank R3139ODalisong
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Dear R31390Dallisong Thank you for your 5 star review of Highcliffe Castle Tearooms. All of our team were delighted with your glowing words about our Tearooms. The Team work extremely hard in both busy and quiet times of the year to serve all our genuine loyal customers over the last 15 years. As you may not be aware we are... More 

dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Very welcome cup of tea & cakes (very reasonably priced) considering this was in the grounds of the castle, after a lovely brisk walk along the beach - blowing away the Christmas cobwebs. Lovely young persons looked after us & our family group so well, thank you all we will be back again very soon.

Helpful?
Thank BridgetDorset
HighcliffeDorset, Public Relations Manager at Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Dear BridgetDorset Thank you for your 5 star review of The Highcliffe Castle Tearooms. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope to see you again in the near future. I will pass on your kind review to Andrea and her whole team. Kind Regards The PR Manager. More 

Travellers who viewed Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms also viewed

Highcliffe, Christchurch
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
Barton-on-Sea, New Milton
 

Been to Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
View, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Highcliffe Castle Rothesay Drive | Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 4LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 270924

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?