We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
+44 1202 400954
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (30 reviews)
“steak” (33 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying in Christchurch and decided to return to the Upper Deck as we had been a few years ago. We would say that the restaurant has improved, the food was delicious, we had chateaubriand which was cooked beautifully. Great choice of wine. We...More

Thank KarenBateman66
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked afternoon tea for a special occasion. Parking was a nightmare. We were offered inside table only (beautiful views from the terrace but we were told this was fully booked - we only came here for the views!). We were told we could go outside...More

Thank Colin B
R W, Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Colin B, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your afternoon tea experience, we pride ourselves on our afternoon tea here at the hotel and I would like the chance to discuss your recent visit further please email me...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at the hotel for a night and enjoyed it so much we decided to stay for another night! During our stay we ate at The Upper Deck three times (five if you include breakfast!) and every time were glad we had! Food...More

Thank VJ2
R W, Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear VJ2, I am very happy to read you enjoyed our Upper Deck restaurant on 5 occasions during your stay. I have enjoyed sharing your kind words with our team who are all delighted their service was so well received. When you stay next please...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Superb celebratory lunch where the host Richard entertained and charmed us ensuring a memorable day was had by all.More

Thank pauffleys
R W, Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear pauffleys, Thank you again for providing such a great review of our Saturday lunch service and repeating your kind words on our main hotel page. Richard our restaurant manager whom I share the name with was delighted, as was our whole team to see...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The open seating area / deck area was ideal for us, wether having breakfast or dinner. Always had prompt service, staff very polite and attentive , nothing too much trouble. The cooked breakfast was very nice, all grilled , no grease in sight. The evening...More

Thank Vikki B
R W, Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Vikki B, Thank you for providing us a glowing review and your recommendation of out new improved terrace, it is very enjoyable to share such positive reviews with our restaurant team. I am very pleased that you where able to dine 'Al fresco' from...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were due here for dinner but cancelled. However we go for coffee & a cake. We were served a coffee, no cake & were made to feel most unwelcome, being referred to as walk-ins. That made me feel like a member of an underclass....More

1  Thank Doug A
R W, Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Doug A, It saddens me very much to read you did not receive a warm hospitable welcome and also made to feel like an underclass. I can assure you this is not service we pride ourselves on providing here. Please could I ask that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great value and a really good selection of mains. £17.50 for 2 courses £22.50 for 3. Hake and the pork delicious. Large portions, lots of different vegetables. Super deconstructed Eton Mess. Lovely lemon posset. No wonder it was absolutely full.More

Thank LokShenLondon
R W, Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LokShenLondon, Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments after your last Sunday lunch with us. We have been focusing on our Sunday lunch offering this year and am very happy to read such comments. I will very much enjoy to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was given a gift voucher for my 30th for afternoon tea here. Booked on for 3.30pm, arrived 15 mins early and the car park had no spaces so ended up being 5 mins late as we spent so long trying to find a space. Very...More

Thank em2508
R W, Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear em2508, Thank you for leaving such a detailed review, I have shared this with our food and beverage teams to ensure we learn from your comments. I am very sorry to hear that you felt the wedding we had at the hotel left you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was okay - service really great at all - staff mixed - some friendly some clearly don’t care- wouldn’t come back as many other places around.More

Thank Ishbel M
R W, Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ishbel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our Upper Deck restaurant. I am sorry to read you have mixed feelings regarding the level of service we provided on your previous visit. I would love the opportunity to discuss this...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018

We were looking forward to a special dinner on the eve of my younger daughter’s wedding recently. When my elder daughter and I arrived at the Christchurch Harbour hotel the first thing we noticed was a terrible smell. We were unsure whether it was sewage...More

Thank katylugs
R W, Manager at Upper Deck at The Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear katylugs, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent dining experience. I am disappointed to read some of the negative comments regarding the service but am pleased to read you did enjoy the food. You are correct in saying...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2,117 reviews
.02 miles away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
1,181 reviews
.96 miles away
The Kings Arms
853 reviews
1.34 miles away
Travelodge Christchurch
454 reviews
1.50 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Beach House
27 reviews
.58 miles away
The Beach Hut Cafe
384 reviews
.85 miles away
Alexander's Fish and Chips
251 reviews
.36 miles away
Brown's Fish & Chips
356 reviews
.88 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Mudeford Quay
1,142 reviews
.32 miles away
Hengistbury Head Beach
2,076 reviews
.88 miles away
Avon Beach
300 reviews
.51 miles away
Mudeford Ferry
84 reviews
.36 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Steve T
13 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Mark F |
Yes they have both.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$45
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 400954
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing