We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (766)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
330
201
103
60
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
330
201
103
60
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef potatoes yorkshire pudding burger sunday roast fish and chips selection of vegetables table service the pub birthday meal carveries gravy roasties trimmings
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 17 January 2024

Another lovely Sunday lunch again! Staff were friendly and welcoming as always. A huge thank you for accommodating our seating request, it was very much appreciated. Food was fantastic! Good choice of excellent quality meats and vegetables. It's hard to say anything negative! Only thing...I could comment on was there was no red cabbage (I did say it would be difficult to find anything negative lol), roasted onions were the replacement. No big deal, just not my cuppa tea.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2024

Vicky S, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Pheasant, Chippenham! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 4 January 2024

One of my favourite pubs in the area, I especially love the new main bar, it has a great feel to it and great for watching sports! Food was, as always, awesome! Some of us had the Carvery and some had the A La Carte,...both were delicious as were the desserts. They also have a great range of beers/ales/IPA's on tap to please all age ranges, looking forward to visiting again!More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Sarraohara, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 2 January 2024

The Pheasant is a welcoming pub with a warm ambiance and pleasant staff. We had a party of 8 people (pre-booked) for lunchtime on Christmas Eve, this was also our first visit. The service was a little slow, but considering the date and the popularity...of the carvery it was a busy time. The meal was extremely good for quality and quantity. Our party was half carvery selection and half a la carte. Staff timed the service so that all meals could be enjoyed at the same time. The only disappointment we had was that our vegetarian member had a very limited menu due to their main and back-up choices being unavailable. Other than that we all enjoyed the experience and decided that this would not be our last visit to The Pheasant.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Keith J, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 23 December 2023

We had a pre Christmas get together for my sons and daughter-in -law and their family yesterday, 22nd December. We cannot be together for Christmas Day this year and this family meal made a lovely memory to mark the occasion in its stead. The food...was great, the company was even better. The staff friendly and helpful as always! Thank you The Pheasant and we shall be seeing you again soon.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2023

Leonne P, it's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 18 December 2023

We recently had a work Christmas meal hosted by the Pheasant pub. Throughout the entire process, from booking our table and giving our deposits, right up till the last moments when we were leaving, we were all very looked after. Amanda and the entire team...at the Pheasant were brilliant and extremely accommodating, when we had a late notice extra person, nothing was too much trouble. Special thanks to Amanda herself who took time out of her busy Sunday evening shift to sit down with us and remind us what we had ordered and related to us about the hectic life of December. We are all very grateful and we had a lovely time. The food was brilliant and the choices were excellent. We shall be returning to you for next year I'm sure! Many thanks, Laura and the Argos Chippenham team xMore

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2023

Laura F, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! Thank you for letting our team know how we did! We really appreciate it. We hope to see you soon

Reviewed 10 December 2023

Enjoyed the fantastic party night. Staff amazing. But Wadsworth are a bit mean charging £12 a large glass of sauvignon blanc & £33 per bottle. C'mon..this is not BATH. Far too expensive for families etc.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2023

We are glad you enjoyed your party night with us. I shall pass your comments on to the correct people.

Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

We were staying in Chippenham and we had to try the Carvery again as we’ve been here before but a few years ago. We were not disappointed, the food was amazing, excellent value for money, we were not rushed, in fact a very enjoyable experience,...thank you to the staff at the Pheasant for a most wonderful afternoon. If you want a great place to eat and relax with a drink, then try the Pheasant, 5 stars 👍 Will definitely be back 👍👍More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Ipjs70, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 12 November 2023

Me and my partner came to the carvery and was amazed by the food. The carvery was delicious, everything you want on a sunday evening- i would recommend to a friend. the staff were all lovely and welcoming and humorous. We’ll be back again 100%...Our waitress Eloise was lovely too, thank you v muchMore

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Rosaeh9363qx, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations!

Reviewed 8 November 2023

We visited the pub whilst visiting family for a mid day lunch, our family member ordered the carvery which he has done on many occasions to which he enjoys. Myself and my partner ordered the Chicken leek and ham pies with creamy mash potato,we were...informed at the time of ordering that the meal would take25 mins which was fine. When the meals arrived to us we both had overcooked pies , hard pastry , one of the pies was burnt , limp veg and the worst mashed potato we have ever experienced, we believe that the mashed potato was instant [ Certainly not Creamy as described on the menu ] .Also both gravy boats had gravy running down the outside which clearly had not been wiped off before presenting , this was not due to overfilling the gravy boats. We did not want to embarrass our family member at the time by making a complaint as he is a regular visitor to The Pheasant but feel we need to inform you of our food/ lunch experience. The staff where very pleasant and we was made to feel welcomeMore

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

Hi Explore68336173212, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I will bring all of your points made to the attention of my chefs

Reviewed 26 October 2023

We visited as a large group (20+). Staff were very accommodating in enabling me to book such a large group in, and meticulous in ensuring that the dietary needs of some group members were met. We were warmly greeted, staff were attentive, and again accommodating...and proactive in meeting the needs of those with access needs in our group. We all thoroughly enjoyed our food and were impressed with the service we received. Only after paying and leaving did I realise there had been an issue with the bill (easily done with a large group), and staff members went out of their way to rectify this. I'm thoroughly impressed.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 21 October 2023 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding food , arrive too early for a carvery so ate from the regular menu , fabulous food , definitely returning. Very friendly staff

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Mrsmayne, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Pheasant, Chippenham! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 9 October 2023

We had driven past this pub after we had stopped at the Rowden hungry horse on a previous Sunday, so after visiting Laycock for the afternoon we took the chance to stop at the Pheasant Had to go up to the roundabout and back to...the pub as had not realised the main car park is behind the it. We were seated quickly and told would be Approx an hour wait for food, not an issue to us as we were in no hurry We ordered drinks-great to see the 6X on tap-most refreshing pint and the wife had a Thatcher's My wife decided on the Carvery and I tried the house burger-the lovely lady serving said she would tell my wife when my food would be ready so she could go and get her carvery to eat at the same time The carvery was very good-lots of veg to go along with the good amount of beef she had. My burger was very good and the side of onion rings boosted the meal for me There is a good vibe in this pub and the staff all seemed to be enjoying the job which is always a bonus. Overall most enjoyableMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2023

Glassmen007, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review!

Reviewed 27 September 2023

Visited with my running club after an event. We had pre-advised them of our arrival and our table was ready and waiting for us. Easily accomodated the 25 of us and were delightful throughout our visit. The carvery was great with a mass of meat...(4 to choose from) setting off as much veg as you could want. Vegitarian option didn't look as good as the meats but I think a lot of carvery's are struggling to get this right. Overall a great experience with pleasant surroundings, great staff and food worth the visit.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Another excellent meal out at The Pheasant! I booked online, requested a specific table which we were shown to on arrival. Service and friendliness of staff was fabulous. Carvery was so good. Meats were of excellent quality and plenty of vegetables to choose from. Highly...recommend.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Good Morning, thank you so much for the lovely review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again soon. -Team Pheasant

Reviewed 8 September 2023

On a very hot I decided with some work colleagues to go for a carvery (they are local and recommended). Place was huge and quite busy but was a nice experience. Lots of choice on the menu but I went for the carvery like some...of the locals. Couldn't eat it all! Very yummy.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Baker, General Manager at The Pheasant Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

R2068puphils, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you soon! -Team Pheasant

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
942 reviews
1.17 miles away
Bear Hotel
87 reviews
1.17 miles away
Travelodge Chippenham
357 reviews
1.46 miles away
The Methuen Arms Hotel
605 reviews
2.41 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Taperia Tapas&cocktail Bar
59 reviews
.89 miles away
Fortune Inn Bar & Chinese Restaurant
249 reviews
.62 miles away
Rowden Arms, Hungry Horse
197 reviews
.34 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
John Coles Park
210 reviews
1.29 miles away
Eddie Cochran Memorial
11 reviews
.41 miles away
The Yelde Hall
16 reviews
1.16 miles away
Snap Fitness
6 reviews
.79 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jacynys
29 July 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BigDave1955 | Reviewed this property |
I would book to be on the safe side.
0
Votes
Arya28
27 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 382nickie | Reviewed this property |
Sorry only just seen your message I'm unsure of this.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE PHEASANT CARVERY, Chippenham - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pheasant Carvery

Yes, The Pheasant Carvery is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Pheasant Carvery is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5