We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lysley Arms

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
London Road, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
+44 1249 652864
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 20:30
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 240: English reviews
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After not visiting for a long time after a dreadful meal under new people ,we reluctantly came for a group booking ,and it was really good ,so came back midweek as a couple to try again ,and yes it was a lovely meal ,lovely service ,reasonable prices ,so pleased that the new chefs and staff are trying hard ,

Helpful?
Thank dapper1954
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

We value your reviews and it is good to know you were not disappointed on your return visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and in the meantime do keep an eye on our website News for any upcoming offers or events. More 

Chinatown, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to the Lysley today and i'm telling you now that place is an absolute rip off the lasagne was cold and the tables were sticky as well as the knives being dirty and still having food on them. there was no music playing in the background and the pool table was in use THIS IS OUTRAGIOUS * hashtag... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank the3littlepigs760
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

This review is totally unacceptable and is most certainly a malicious attack on our business. No part of the review makes any sense and no member of our team has any recollection of this customer. The single lasagne that was served was wholly appreciated, and I personally chatted with the recipient for quite some time. Furthermore, we ensure that all... More 

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited a few times over the last few weeks for drinks with my husband and dogs and have been made to feel most welcome, even in wellies with damp dogs! I visited with my friend for dinner on a chilly Thursday evening for dinner and the food and service was excellent! I had the pancakes as a main,... More 

Helpful?
Thank WiltshireChutters
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your valued review. It is certainly good to know that the provision of excellent food and service gave cheer to you and your friend on a chilly January evening. We are pleased to hear that you also find The Lysley so welcoming when you and your husband are dog walking. Well behaved four legged friends are always... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited recently and ordered food and drinks. The quality of the food and service was excellent, and Richard was most attentive to our needs. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank mgmiller2017
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your high recommendation for our food and service at The Lysley Arms. We all value your review and it is indeed good to hear that the team served you well on your recent visit. More 

Bromham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have used the lysley several times in the past and have to say the last few times the food has not been very good but I have to say what an improvement we called in to have a Sunday lunch we both had the lamb just right cooked to perfection spot on a vast improvement on the past the... More 

Helpful?
Thank nigel t
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for awarding a five star review to The Lysley Arms following your recent Sunday lunch with us. We certainly value your custom and much appreciate your full marks to the team. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future…………and in the meantime do check out our News or upcoming events on our website. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff and owner couldn't do more for us. We booked the garden room for a meeting and were allowed to stay until after he locked up for lunch. Meals were all really good, fresh home cooked and enjoyed by our party of 6. The owner was especially aware of gluten free abilities of the kitchen and ensured my questions... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for allotting five stars and such a glowing review to our team at The Lysley Arms following your Meeting and Luncheon in the garden room. We appreciate your wholehearted recommendation, and it is indeed good to hear the team work so well received. We look forward to welcoming you back when next in this area. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

We were staying nearby for a few days and looking for decent vegetarian pub options. On paper the Lysley Arms seemed to have a decent veg offering. Friendly staff as we walked in, and friendly local punters as well. We were disappointed when one of the most interesting dishes was "sold out". The veg lasagne was ok, the mushroom dish... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Veenay C
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry to see your review, which appears to have been posted some two weeks following your visit. It is good to see you found our local punters as well as our team at The LysleyArms friendly, and I am sorry to note your disappointment that one of our most interesting dishes had “sold out” at the time. I... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

we had oven baked brie for a starter ,between the two of us ,priced at £7.95,plenty of bread and the taste was really good . for mains I had pie of the day ,£9.95,chicken ,ham and leek with mashed potato and peas.the portion was big and very juicy ,excellent . my wife chose the haddock and chips £11.50,chips and fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

It was good to see you and our team at Lysley certainly appreciates your five star review on all items of Food, Service and Value. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Recently popped in here for dinner after hearing things had improved. We were very happy that we gave it another chance. Staff were friendly and attentive. We were shown to our table and drinks order taken whilst we looked through the menu. Food arrived promptly, was hot and you could tell it was home cooked. I had the pie of... More 

Helpful?
Thank pieeyedjoker
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Trowbridge
Level Contributor
200 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

A follow up visit remembering they serve lunch til quite late...not all day. There is a big fire place but little fire to welcome! Also it was a Monday and no beers choice..they had a busy weekend! However friendly service good value food as we remembered...it is a relaxing pub outside of town...perhaps didn't catch the pub at its best... More 

Helpful?
Thank St4ontour
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and glad to know you received friendly service and good value food in a relaxing situation, as previously remembered at The Lysley Arms. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment due to the lack of beer choices following a busy weekend. I am afraid this was somewhat beyond our control till the new... More 

Travellers who viewed The Lysley Arms also viewed

 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Lysley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$15
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Chippenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1249 652864

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lysley Arms and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Lysley Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?