We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$41 - US$82
CUISINES
Seafood, Japanese, Asian, Healthy, Fusion
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveller rating
794
132
47
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
794
132
47
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi teriyaki duck rice prawns sea bass steak pudding sharing platter taste sensation outstanding food fine dining anniversary meal portion sizes birthday treat chopsticks presentation
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

This was the first time we have visited this Japanese restaurant and I just can’t wait to visit it again! The staff were so helpful and the food outstanding! The staff took great care of us and invited us to enjoy the authentic Japanese lifestyle...using chopsticks and sipping miso soup straight out of the bowl. The food is so fresh, the salmon was as soft as butter and the tuna was the best we have ever eaten. We will definitely be visiting again. Thank you all!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 December 2021

Once again, such high quality food (vegetarian) and great service in a beautiful restaurant. A bowl full of gorgeous layered flavours. Now have to find an excuse to go again! Thank you to all the chefs and staff.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

Customer service is appalling, booked a family celebration months ago, never informed me that it was in the private dining room. Only contacted me less than 10 days before our meal with the terms and conditions after they requested a deposit. Read the terms and...conditions and the deposit should have been £50, but they took more than that. Min spend of £400 in the private dining room, if not met them they take the balance of the cost of the room hire. Too late to book anywhere else. Unfortunately on the day of the meal we had half of the family members ill, two with COVID. Tried to rebook so I didn’t loose my deposit but they told me that I would still loose my deposit anyway. Disgusting customer service, requested they repay the deposit due to taken more than what their terms and conditions state and also due to COVID illness. They have not replied to me.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Tickton12, Owner at Ogino Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Dear Ms Bennett, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Along with your email received, we would like to make three points. 1. Deposit: We do not confirm any booking for eight or over unless a deposit is received. We explained that...More

Reviewed 29 October 2021 via mobile

Really nice evening, great food - all tasted very fresh. Attentive staff and the restaurant was very nicely decorated. Will definitely come back!

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

We used to dine at Ogino fairly regularly Pre-Covid despite residing almost 36 miles away on the coast and would recommend to others describing superb service and excellent food. This was our favourite restaurant and the lovely proprietors have worked hard to build an excellent...reputation for this business adding a personal touch to your experience. Had many of the original staff remained they would perhaps recall my when Harry met Sally moments of mmmm and groans of delight with every morsel of food and have in the past described the food to be a “taste sensation” on trip advisor - sadly not any more. We took the train yesterday, looking forward to a relaxing afternoon and culinary delight reminiscing former visits. It was evident that the little things were missing for example, when we arrived previously your coat would be taken and hung up, we were not even offered to relieve ourselves of our coats which when placed on the rear of those velvet bucket seats in the restaurant are cumbersome. Before we were even seated, the waiter hurriedly threw himself into describing all the menus which seemed to fill the surface of the table. He didn’t speak clearly and at speed came across as a mumble and he loitered walking around the table rather than standing still in one position whilst we seated so we could hear him properly. My husband commented to me - did you get all of that. No not really but I assured the waiter we had been many times in the past with no need to explain anyway. The maitre d or general manager made an appearance not long afterwards and he displayed very stressed behaviour and impatience, his presence impacted by his heavy footfall at speed as though he were late for something important. Rather off putting and needs to relax and be calmer. He took our order and I found him abrupt and rather rude, I had to ask him to catch one of the menus tipping on the edge of the table beyond me to prevent it falling to the floor so attention not on the ball yesterday. However he seemed to mellow throughout our meal and almost smiled at one point. The menus hadn’t been pre wiped as the red menu had greasy finger marks across the front cover which could be seen without making any effort to look and these small elements to detail wouldn’t have happened before. The music wasn’t akin to a fine dining fusion restaurant, loud and more akin to a bar or public house. Ordered Ebi Tempura and Squid to begin. It was okay, presentation of the squid wasn’t fine dining and arrived in a basket piled rather much like onion rings in a public house. Breadcrumbed and not chewy the squid soft within and served with a plum dipping sauce. The prawns were ok, a bit floppy and not firm and crisp as they used to be, we both felt that the same style prawns from the well known branded food store next door were better. Mains we ordered seabass and steak. Both bland, my seabass did not have a crispy skin and was left on the plate but the fish itself was soft - the aubergine beneath I’m not sure what the connection on the plate was - it was very mushy and again I didn’t eat this. My husbands steak liked grey, not pink in the middle as you would usually expect and the enoki mushrooms were greasy to taste. We ordered a spicy rice and egg fried rice side dishes, my husband ate his rice and much of my own and we both commented that the rice was over cooked. Rice clumpy and glutinous consistency almost in clumpy balls in the bowl - the egg displayed large dark fried pieces and wasn’t pleasant at all. We would usually order desert and had room for - however we decided after feeling disappointed by the experience that we would rather remember the previous visits rather than spoil the memory incase they too did not match previous experiences. Another couple, Japanese diners left much of their sushi platters and we could hear them advising the waiter that the texture shouldn’t be as it was and demonstrated by pressing her chopsticks into the surface of the fish. We won’t be returning sadly and will not be recommending to others. We do feel it’s lost its edge and particularly when we overheard a member of kitchen staff say to the chef - if we can just get through tomorrow. Mmm doesn’t inspire you. I’m not keen on the new addition of the ceiling artwork, it’s too brightly lit and sitting so closely to the crane wallpaper it’s a little too much together in my opinion and one or the other would be my preference. Please see photo added. Speaking with some locals after our meal they were not surprised by our findings and told us the owners were now in Hull having opened a new restaurant and I do hope this is working well for them. I would recommend they return to Ogino cold calling as a spot check unannounced to see first hand the decline in service and flavours. Sadly we will not return.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

Exceptional Food , 1st class quality and presentation along with great service. Four of us visited tonight and we enjoyed an Exceptional meal, the Food was Fresh, Tasty and the cooked dishes were cooked well and presented very well. Professional Friendly Service from attentive staff...and all at a good price 👍🏻More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 October 2021 via mobile

Went for my birthday curtesy of my wife. Despite being a Sunday ending the restaurant was fairy busy and they had plenty of very attentive and knowledgeable staff. The menu is Japanese with a western twist. Only having 6 hot main dishes (3 fish and...3 meat) is very brave but the food is fab. There is a vegetarian menu but I can’t say I looked at that. There is the usual sushi, sashimi and tempura dishes plus a few other interesting options. The sharing platter was outstanding and seasonal items not on the menu. My wife had the sea bass and I had the beef mains, both excellent. Can’t fault the service, really attentive but not in your face. Worth a visit.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 September 2021

Today was our first visit to Ogino's but it definitely won't be the last. Delicious food, with vegetarian and vegan options, and really polite, friendly staff. Already looking forward to going back.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 September 2021

I had booked a table for 2 for a Saturday lunch time. This was our first time visiting Ogino and we were very impressed. We decided to order from the tapas menu - 3 tapas plates with a selected alcoholic drink for £22.95 per person....(you can choose from a Japanese beer, prosecco or one of four cocktails) For my tapas, I had the Scottish salmon teriyaki with a hint of chilli, the crunchy sake roll from the sushi bar (salmon, avocado, smoked lime aioli and tenkasu) and the 12 hour braised Yorkshire pork belly, with five spice apple and spring onion. My boyfriend also had the pork belly, the kara-age chicken and the ebi kushi-katsu (panko breaded tiger prawns and a fruity dip) We also shared a plate of the hoisin + soy duck salad. For my cocktails, I had the rose blossom for £8.50 (gin, framboise and calpis) and the Japanese bees knees (honey infused gin with Japanese Yuzu liqueur and lemon, topped with bee pollen) This cocktail is the same price. The service was attentive and the food was beautifully presented and tasty. The restaurant feels really special and I would like to visit for an evening meal next time.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 September 2021 via mobile

I have enjoyed going to this restaurant multiple times and, every time, I have been really happy. This place is nice and ideal for an occasion. The service is impeccable and attentive. Most relevantly, the food is amazing. The main dishes show a fresh effort...to conjugate the best cooked Japanese cuisine with modern trends, with the expected quality of Japanese restaurants. The fish and the meat cuts in main dishes are excellent. Also the sushi/maki are outstanding, especially those with spicy tuna. The desserts are lovely, so the black sesame ice cream. By far, the best restaurant I have been to, in Beverley! And we look forward to coming back againMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kings Head Hotel
880 reviews
.16 miles away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
510 reviews
.22 miles away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre hotel
883 reviews
.36 miles away
Tickton Grange Hotel
528 reviews
2.80 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chamas Rodizio Bar & Grill
1,432 reviews
.07 miles away
Figaro's
471 reviews
.06 miles away
White Rabbit Chocolatiers
126 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Beverley Minster
1,335 reviews
.20 miles away
East Riding Treasure House
137 reviews
.12 miles away
East Riding Theatre
107 reviews
.09 miles away
Beverley Market
162 reviews
.23 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
travelfun818
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tickton12 | Property representative |
Hi Travelfun, yes we do have wheelchair access. Please notify the restaurant when making your booking as it is assisted access when using the lift. KR Ogino team.
1
Vote
Dave C
2 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Tickton12 | Property representative |
Hi Dave, yes we do it on our website on the our food page. There is a PDF link at the bottom of the page text. KR Julian. Ps. Please call the restaurant to place your order as we rarely check TA.
0
Votes
Flowergirls12
24 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from katrinamarie | Reviewed this property |
No they’re not
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ogino Japanese Restaurant

Ogino Japanese Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5