We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Organic restaurant and farm shop, with butchers counter and deli, just off the A66 near Barnard Castle
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (538)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
304
136
44
29
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
304
136
44
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza cakes bread salad well stocked shop scotch corner outside seating stopped for lunch specials board quality food home made car park cafe lakes journey ethos dog
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

The staff were brilliant, friendly, polite, with big smiles even tho the service was a bit of a shambles, 4 starters arrived 2 at a time 10 mins apart, one beer was out of date by 6 months, main course arrived after a good while,...but all along the staff were great, it needs a bit more organisation! The food was great!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024

What's happened to Sunday lunch ? It used to be beautiful, but it has really gone down hill. Unfortunately, it was a bit of a canteen dinner. A shame.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024

Not sure what's gone wrong but it used to be really top quality (if a little pricey). Now it's still pricey but not good at all. Food poor. Products in the shop poor. Playground poor with broken swings. Some questionable labelling in the meat dept...also.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

Not sure if this place is under new management but if so hats off! The place is looking so much tidier and cared for unlike past visits. The staff are friendly and courteous and the food is delicious with a very good variety and you...won’t leave hungry!! Skimp they do not!! The shop has a great variety for all budgets, we bought some delicious gluten free sausages and a few other treats for the journey!! Very reasonable and quality all round, well done.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

Absolute disgrace, I went to buy mince, they sold it to me rancid, the colour was half bright red half brown, but when I reached home and tried to cook it the smell and taste was awful. Unfortunately I’ve bought 5 Kgs to stock and...all 5 were inedible bare in mind they charge a fortune for their meat. Never stepping a foot in this trickery of a shop. SHAME ON THEM!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cross Lanes, General Manager at Cross Lanes Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2024

Hello David, We're extremely sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience, however we believe you've got the wrong shop in mind! We sell our mince at the maximum weight of approximately 500 grams, anything more than this you would have had to order and we've...More

Reviewed 23 December 2023

Booked the Christmas lunch for an elderly relative as a birthday treat. The main courses couldn’t have been worse, and the staff were stacking chairs before we had been given our puddings. When I raised the quality of the food with them, the response was...“no one else complained”. Food here is generally good, which is why I felt sure it was a good option for this treat for a relative… a so lesson learned that won’t be repeated.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2023

Great place to stop off on our journey home near Loch Lomond from Cambridge. The food was delicious and just what we needed on such a long trip. All food is freshly prepared and nicely presented. A nice calm atmosphere prevailed too and service was...excellent. Very handy for the A66 but so much better than standard fare normally found in such establishments along a main road. Our samosas from the specials board were delicious. Nice little, but well stocked, farm shop too selling an array of organic produce.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2023

Good sandwiches good chips. excellent lunch Good to buy some local produce after lunch Have visited before . Think it’s time for renovation in some areas eg Toilets

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2023 via mobile

A great welcome and very helpful Food was excellent and they had no problem with us sharing a full English breakfast and special orders for coffee

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2023 via mobile

Lovely Cafe with excellent coffee and menu, lovely staff, good car park. Great food Lovely breakfast with coffee. Well worth the stop either going from or to Scotch corner. Lunches and Sunday roast Dog friendly Come and see for yourself

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023

Another lovely meal at Cross Lanes. The steak burger is absolutely delicious, but every element is great - the fries, salad and coleslaw. Had 2 scoops of Thunder & Lightning ice cream to finish. The service is always friendly and efficient. I thoroughly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

Travelling on road Stopped here for a break, a walk about and for a coffee. Was amazed about the buisness, the cafe was beautiful, the food was delicious and everything was 100% organic, always feel wonderfully satisfyed when food is organic. The instore market, deli...and butchers is quite loverly too, everything nicely displayed and prices are fair. And where the building is located is lovely too. Surrounded by fresh air, trees and green grass, gives a welcoming country farm feel to it. 100% impressed and satisfyed.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023

I have been here several times over the past few years but have never reviewed. I came here the last weekend of July with my husband. I had the sausage and bacon sandwich that is served until 3pm and my husband had the steak burger....The food was quick to arrive and tasted delicious. My husband enjoyed the burger which was a large portion and the bacon on my sandwich was some of the thickest I've ever had. However, be aware that the breakfast sandwiches do not come with butter. The waitress was polite and friendly (only her second day) and even though I see comments that the food can be rather expensive I do think it is worth the cost. You can definitely taste the quality. Will definitely be returning on our next trip up North.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2023

This is a very nice farmshop/cafe in a beautiful location. I have visited twice to give it a fair go. Very nice and friendly staff. Spotlessly clean and well organised. Very good food. (Apart from service time - read on...) A lovely ambience and relaxing...vibe. A breath of fresh air compared to service stations and just what you want on a long journey. But.. If only the service (timing) and quality matched up... A number of reviews have mentioned " worth the wait" and wait you will if you order food - Not so good if you are on a journey and don't have a long time to wait. I would imagine being on the A66 most customers would be on a journey, service is on the slow side from my experience and lost us time on our journey to Scotland. But the killer for me being a coffee lover was the coffee. So sorry, the worst coffee I have ever tasted. I can only describe it as rancid (on both occasions) I could not drink it and you could see other people sensing the same thing. I'm not sure why but it tastes off. This is a great business... please could you look at your service timings and the quality of the coffee you serve to customers. I will be passing by in September and look forward to reviewing a good cup of coffee.?More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023

Coffee was average, scones were nice though the experience not one I’d rush back to due to the lack of warmth/friendliness from staff who, whilst efficient, unfortunately all appeared a bit miserable and robotic.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Morritt Country House Hotel
1,135 reviews
2.16 miles away
The Rose & Crown
626 reviews
6.23 miles away
East Greystone Farm Cottages
18 reviews
7.83 miles away
Headlam Hall Country Hotel & Spa
1,111 reviews
8.66 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Babul's
781 reviews
1.64 miles away
Bengal Merchant
660 reviews
1.59 miles away
Clarendon's Cafe
360 reviews
1.66 miles away
Nobia & Sons
78 reviews
1.73 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Garage Spa
283 reviews
2.15 miles away
Teesdale Alpacas (Open by Appointment Only)
98 reviews
1.78 miles away
The Bowes Museum
1,832 reviews
1.60 miles away
Egglestone Abbey
306 reviews
1.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cross Lanes Organic Farm staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CROSS LANES ORGANIC FARM, Barnard Castle - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cross Lanes Organic Farm

Yes, Cross Lanes Organic Farm offers takeaway services.

Yes, Cross Lanes Organic Farm is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Cross Lanes Organic Farm is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4