We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (357)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
268
54
9
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
268
54
9
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cake club sandwich crab sandwiches panini bread life cafe cream tea weymouth beach sea view visited weymouth lovely lunch be visiting again dog slice latte dorset
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely home cooked food and good portion sizes. Waiting staff very attentive and friendly and checked to ensure we had everything we needed. A good lunch time visit and full bellies. Recommend a visit if your passing and avoid the food chains.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in today and ordered the egg and bacon burger with chips each. After a fair wait the food arrived and it looked lovely. After removing the top of the brioche we discovered that the eggs were very undercooked with transparent whites covering them. The...bacon was ok. However, the burgers were just tepid and unappealing. The manageress asked the room if everything was ok. We nodded because we were too polite to complain in front of other customers. I did mention the issues when we paid at the counter. The manageress questioned why we did not mention this earlier. She also defended her food quality saying the burger had just come off the griddle. We paid the full price as requested, then left hungry. We are now enjoying lovely food at a pub in Abbotsbury. What a pity we will not be returning to Good Life.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

Enjoyed our lunch here. The food was tasty and good value. We had a lovely view over prom and the staff were friendly. Would definitely come here again.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

Nice location overlooking seafront. Good selection of lunches and cakes. Reasonably priced. Great staff.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2023 via mobile

love this cafe always head for it when in weymouth .service exceptional food amazing . highly recommend . will definatly be back .

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023

I visited the good life last weekend for a cream tea for my sister in laws baby shower. There was a really nice selection of sandwiches which were all really nice. The cakes were absolutely stunning. Good variety of drinks on offer on top of...the complimentary tea / coffee which comes with the cream tea. I would revisit here.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

Visited for a cream tea and a milkshake. So disappointed ☹️ shop bought scones , only fruit offered, no plain scones. Horrible jam in a plastic tub and clotted cream again in a throw away plastic tub, absolutely nothing traditional about it at all. The...milkshake claimed to have ice cream in it ? Tasted nothing like banana and was as thin as normal semi skimmed milk and wasn’t even ice cold so definitely no ice cream. Sadly won’t be returning when so many other lovely cream teas on offer in WeymouthMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2023

I was a little disappointed to say the least, I appreciate it was the end of the day and they were about to close but I thought it was a little on the expensive side and while I was under the impression it was going...to be homemade sausage roll, it wasn't. I also understand that it is the end of the season but it was just disappointingMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Lovell, Owner at good life, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Hello. I think you have reviewed us in error We do not sell sausage rolls. Also you mention end of season but we are open all year round

Reviewed 12 October 2023

We visited Weymouth early October so slightly out of season, but enjoyed an excellent English breakfast in this cafe which overlooks Weymouth beach and promenade. The cafe had a family atmosphere, the staff were welcoming, and the excellent breakfast was prepared quickly. I strongly recommend...this cafe. .More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Lovell, Owner at good life, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2023

Thank you for review. We are glad we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your time with us

Reviewed 3 October 2023

Great for a wide good variety from breakfast, lunch and afternoon teas. Was treated to an afternoon tea at the good life. Nothing was too much trouble, had catered for our needs, even down to my favourite cake and request for brown bread. They were...right on it from us walking through the door. Was so much, tasty and fresh even Had to take some cake home . Thank you very muchMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Lovell, Owner at good life, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2023

Hi thank you for taking time to do your review. We are happy you enjoyed your afternoon tea and it was our pleasure to serve you

Reviewed 24 September 2023

This is a family run business which provides excellent service and a wide range of excellent food. It is busy but staff are always friendly and welcoming. We went for lunch on this occasion and had liver and onions which you don't often see on...menus, it was excellent! There is a wide range of options available, from sandwiches to meals, our tea was served in a vintage teapot with vintage cups and saucers. The Café also serves breakfast and afternoon tea. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Lovell, Owner at good life, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2023

Thank you for your review. Our staff are always so polite and helpful, we take great pride in that We are glad you enjoyed our homemade liver n bacon. Hope to see you again

Reviewed 16 September 2023

Do not recommend was not given what we asked for ! Afternoon tea was poor! The bread was stale, we requested no fish, but got salmon sandwich also requested plain sandwiches but put mustard in them, then when complained was replaced with stale bread sandwiches....Reserved a table by the window to look over the sea as mums 60th birthday treat and was not given that at first but then got resolved but put in a room by ourselves upstairs. The girls were nice and apologetic, however the manager on the other hand did not care whatsoever about these problems when spoke to at the end, he was the one that we reserved with and put our requests into in the first placeMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Lovell, Owner at good life, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2023

Well this review certainly shows one side of a story. If only a business could review customers eh. It’s a good job most people will read a selection of reviews and decide for themselves. Your booking was confirmed by text to which I could copy...More

Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Been here years ago and was good then but returned for breakfast this Saturday and we were all so pleased with our breakfasts. I can honestly say it’s 10 times better. The large fry up is the best I’ve had for years and years, my...son’s eggs royals was “the best ever” and the grandkids loved the breakfast bagel. Lisa (the owner) was really nice and attentive. We returned Sunday morning for the same as it was that good.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Lovell, Owner at good life, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your food and the atmosphere of our cafe. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 9 September 2023

Had lunch here two days on trot. Crab sandwich was fantastic as was my wife’s omelette. The staff were great even though they were rushed off their feet and service was first class. Will definitely use this place again.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Lovell, Owner at good life, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Thank you appreciating the hard work our staff do. We are all short staffed and they work well We are glad you enjoyed your food and hope to see you sgain

Reviewed 9 September 2023 via mobile

Lovely family run cafe right on the sea front with fantastic views on a sunny day. Great sandwiches and cream tea. Hot food options as well

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Lovell, Owner at good life, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Thank you for your positive review it is nice to be appreciated fir our staffs hard work

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Royal Hotel, Weymouth
852 reviews
.14 miles away
Fairhaven Hotel
57 reviews
.16 miles away
Bay View Hotel
652 reviews
.17 miles away
Hotel Rex
671 reviews
.21 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Nicetta
357 reviews
.03 miles away
Cafe Blue
331 reviews
.03 miles away
Rona Bar & Grill
101 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Weymouth Beach
6,000 reviews
.14 miles away
King's Statue
104 reviews
.02 miles away
Weymoth D-Day Port Memorial
13 reviews
.05 miles away
Weymouth Esplanade
8 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
AliAlanW
19 March 2019|
Answer
Response from weekender48 | Reviewed this property |
I think only entrance is by 3 steps quiet high steps
0
Votes
PeterB7910
12 March 2018|
Answer
Response from johnwk1983 | Property representative |
around 55-65 set over two floors. we do private events as well. J
0
Votes
johnwk1983
6 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Parksfamily2014 | Reviewed this property |
It was pretty busy when we went, even when it was not such a busy time of year, so I would guess you could turn up on the offchance, but if you wanted to guarantee spaces/afternoon tea, probably a good idea to book ahead... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

GOOD LIFE, Weymouth - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about good life

Yes, good life offers takeaway services.

Yes, good life is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

good life is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4